We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Belo Horizonte Othon Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Grandarrell Minas Hotel(Belo Horizonte)
View Hotel
Hotel Metropole(Belo Horizonte)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Sol Belo Horizonte(Belo Horizonte)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Normandy Hotel(Belo Horizonte)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Horsa Del Rey Hotel(Belo Horizonte)
View Hotel
  • Room Service
Brasil Palace Hotel(Belo Horizonte)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
Bristol Merit Hotel(Belo Horizonte)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Serrana Palace Hotel(Belo Horizonte)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Financial(Belo Horizonte)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,755)
Filter reviews
1,755 results
Traveller rating
628
675
308
89
55
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
628
675
308
89
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmunicipal parkthird floorgreat view of the parkbreakfast buffettop floornegative pointsrecommend this hotelcomfortable roomsexcellent locationcityminibar
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 1,755 reviews
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Positive:
Everything was excellent: even taking into account the extra charges (see negative points) the overall Price-quality relation was excellent. The position in front of the communal park is excellent: try to get a high Apartment with view on the park.

Negative:
I didn't like the fact that we had to pay 20R separately for Internet usage (although even adding up this charge the overall Price was still excellent). The Othon is also one of the very few hotels in Brazil where they still pretend to charge an extra 10% service charge on top of the advertised rate. I would recommend the management to include all charges in the advertised price.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor with a view on the park
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alessandro_Wilcke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GERENCIABHOP, General Manager at Belo Horizonte Othon Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

It is always rewarding for our team to know that we are meeting our goals in order to host our guest extremely well and provide them a great quality service.
We really expect to have you again at Belo Horizonte Othon Palace.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights on a business trip last year. Location is great and rooms feature what is probably one of the nicest views available in Belo Horizonte over the city gardens. Very close to shopping and restaurants and bars as well. Rooms, if mine was typical,are exceptionally large and almost suites, with the bed partitioned off from a sitting area. Circa 1970 this would have been very stylish and fashionable; now it is dated but comfortable nonetheless. Bed was very comfortable. Breakfast good and rooftop pool, restaurant and bar area could be fantastic with a refurb. I understand major renovations are underway - these are needed but let's hope they will preserve the good things about the hotel. Staff obliging and helpful thought there was no information about local tours and attractions and I was referred to a travel agency in a nearby mall. Actually there are tony of great and historical things to see nearby to Belo and the hotel would do well to know about these things and perhaps earn some commission on tour bookings!

Room Tip: High floors are quiet
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ashley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GERENCIABHOP, General Manager at Belo Horizonte Othon Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Thank you very much for the comment . We are satisfied to know you have appreciated our standard of care and services.
We are at your disposal and look forward to host you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Excelent location in central BH, nice view from the high room (no noise), decent breakfast, cleaning and service in general. Awesome bed and sheets, very nice rest! Unfortunately i wanted to order food and had to go down to the garage exit to grab it... But all in all, it fulfilled my purposes and i'd be pleased to return.

Room Tip: High rooms offer a great view of the town.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank igornvidal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GERENCIABHOP, General Manager at Belo Horizonte Othon Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

It is always rewarding for our team to know that we are meeting our goals in order to host our guest extremely well and provide them a great quality service.

We reassure the opportunity of having you for this short period of time and our great pleasure in hosting you as soon as possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Stayed there for 2 weeks in late June 2013 while in town for business. Sure the best days of the hotel are long gone.

My room was large and comfortable (capital factor to live there for 2 weeks!), clean and with large windows. Problem is, windows are not sound proof so it was quite hard to sleep after 5:30 a.m. when buses and trucks start driving along the main avenue. Breakfast has a good variety of fruits and bakery, coffee from dispenser machine and some other food. There is a restaurant in the 25th floor with a very nice view of the city and some decent food although a bit pricey; strange thing: you cannot find there the meals and dishes you can order to your room, so if you want a fish and shrimp soup or a burger, you have to eat it in your room.

Rooms lack an iron and iron board, so you will have to get used to walk in wrinkles .. No shoe shine clothing among the bath stuff. You also don't have a water boiler to have something as simple as a tea cup in your room. Being a 4 star hotel, one would expect at least that kind of things, isn't?

Elevators are very slow and if you stay in a middle floor (say 15 - 10) then you will have to wait, and wait, first for the elevator to get to your floor, and then pray that it is not packed!

Neighborhood is the typical city center almost everywhere, getting a bit odd and probably dangerous at night. There is a shopping mall 2 blocks away, with some shops and food court, and the central market another couple of blocks away.

Staff at reception was friendly and kind, even on the days when the hotel was really packed because of the Confederations Cup.

Room Tip: Try to get a high floor, at least you will not get packed elevators when going down!
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arturo65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GERENCIABHOP, General Manager at Belo Horizonte Othon Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

Make sure that your comments have been promptly recorded. We deeply regret the fact that we have not achieved all your expectations during your staying with us. We emphasize that we are in the process of modernizing our facilities and accommodation, having already completed several floors. We appreciate your comments because only through this way we can improve our services .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We stayed there for two nights to watch the Confederations Cup game between Japan and Mexico. The hotel is centrally located, overlooking the Central Park however, that also means a lot of traffic noise (the windows lack isolation) plus it was (too) close to the starting point for the huge street demonstrations that rocked BH, like the rest of Brazil during the Copa. Sleep quality consequently was poor.
The hotel is undergoing a complete renovation on a floor-by-floor basis, top down.
We had room 2009 which is one of those already renovated however, it is still pretty simple (primitive chairs; not so comfortable beds) for a hotel that charges more that USD 220 a night.
Breakfast buffet (self service) was average however, we found out that you can order bacon and eggs from the chief waiter (the others just clean the tables). As usual in Brazil, they had a rich collection of fresh fruits. They also offered various types of freshly made yogurts, a really nice touch.
We had dinner at the 25th floor restaurant (nice view of the city) which offered a large buffet at a reasonable price. The free welcome caipirinha was pretty strong (not the neutered version you get in New York City's Little Brazil).
When returning to the hotel Saturday night there was street fighting around the hotle and we got gassed a bit (not the hotel's fault, mind you).
The hotel still has some mile to go in order to be ready for the World Cup next year. At its current state it will certainly feel overpriced.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the higher floor as the hotel is in the process of renovating (badly needed) all the rooms and they proceed top down. All rooms overlook the Central Park (parque central).
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AhasverSaoPaulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GERENCIABHOP, General Manager at Belo Horizonte Othon Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2013

Make sure that your comments have been promptly recorded. We deeply regret the fact that we have not achieved all your expectations during your staying with us. We emphasize that we are in the process of modernizing our facilities and accommodation, having already completed several floors. We appreciate your comments because only through this way we can improve our services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews