We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good quality, far off central city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Quality Hotel Afonso Pena
Ranked #9 of 118 Hotels in Belo Horizonte
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Good hotel - very clean and modern - bit far away from the main central area of Belo Horizonte but still has a taxi outside most of the time. Stayed here during the World Cup and there were a lot of FIFA staff here, staff seemed friendly even though they were busy. Recommended for biz and leisure.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank majicka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ggeralqap, Gerente at Quality Hotel Afonso Pena, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014
Google Translation

Prezado hóspede, agradecemos seus comentários e elogios ao Quality Hotel Afonso Pena!! Estamos localizados na principal avenida da cidade, próximos a várias opções de lazer e restaurantes, e a apenas 4 km do centro! Aguardamos seu retorno!
Luciana Muradas
Gerente de Serviços

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,705)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

22 - 28 of 1,705 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2014

Well located in Belo Horizonte but would say that this hotel is only average at best.

The room was ok and the bed very comfortable but had a musty smell throughout my stay.

Wifi and internet connection was a bit in and out.

Compared to other breakfasts I have had in Brazil it was limited.

The gym was well equipped but not everything worked.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ggeralqap, Gerente at Quality Hotel Afonso Pena, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014
Google Translation

Sr Ben, estamos em uma ótima localização em Belo Horizonte, na região nobre da principal avenida da cidade! Verificaremos todos os itens citados e tomaremos as devidas providências para que não se repitam! Todas as nossas diárias oferecem como cortesia o café da manhã e conexão a internet! Permanecemos a disposição!
Luciana Muradas
Gerente de Serviços

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

This is NOT a 4-star hotel people. Just look at some of the photos I uploaded.

The facilities are 3-star and the service is ok but nothing near 4-stars.

The shocking thing is that the rooms are outdated and looks very unfinished.

But then again... Brazilian hotels are never good, so unfortunately this is what you get here.

This hotel SHOULD REDUCE THEIR FARES. It's ridiculous the amount of money we pay (regardless of WorldCup).

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank Civil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ggeralqap, Gerente at Quality Hotel Afonso Pena, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014
Google Translation

Prezado hóspede, agradecemos a avaliação de sua estada conosco. Asseguro que estamos em constante processo de modernização, e a maior parte de nossas habitações já se encontram totalmente remodeladas e com decoração atualizada. Temos uma equipe treinada e apta para oferecer um serviço de qualidade para nossos hóspedes. Esperamos poder recebe-lo novamente no Quality Afonso Pena.
Luciana Muradas
Gerente de Serviços

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Granted we were in Belo Horizonte for the world cup when hotel rates are sky high. However for the outrageous rate we paid per night wed expected 5 start treatment and received 3 star. Hotel is well located in a centric nice part of town. Rooms are ok, specially if only to sleep. They had a strange smell so we kept windows open at all times. Bathroom was small but clean, with just the basics (no moisturizing cream for example). Breakfast was very nice, and restaurant staff particulatly friendly. Food was very good. They have available parking for an extra rate per day.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank Cami2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ggeralqap, Gerente at Quality Hotel Afonso Pena, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014
Google Translation

Prezado hospede, obrigada pela avaliação de sua estada no Quality Hotel Afonso Pena! Analisaremos seus comentários e tomaremos as devidas providências para que não ocorram novamente. Estamos em uma ótima localização e oferecemos o serviço de manobristas 24 horas. O restaurante “O Sarracino” está localizado no lobby do hotel e disponibiliza um delicioso cardápio! Permanecemos a disposição!
Luciana Muradas
Gerente de Serviços

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

...except the fruit salad for breakfast, which is world-class! The hotel was much better in the past and gives a good reason to question, how Brazil with cope with increased influx of visitors during next years world cup. The reception tends to be crowded and most of the staff is overwhelmed with the paperwork, delaying the procedures unnecessarily. Fitness equipment is partially worn out and broken, but nobody cares. But the hotel is clean, rooms are okay and no-one needs to visit the hotel restaurant, which has the charm of a waiting hall: there are better options nearby.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floors or backside rooms, since Afonso Pena street can be very noisy even late at nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guilherme T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Good service from front desk - Helen was very helpful.
Good buffet breakfast.
Great location for my work - had a nice walk to the Sunday markets - be prepared for the hills - but a great walk and great markets.
Had to turn the fridge off before bed - when it kicked it in it was rather loud.
Never had to pay for ice before AUD$6.00!!
I was travelling light so relied on hotel supplied shampoo and conditioner - but didn't get replaced.
Was for work purposes so ok. Wouldn't be a choice if I was on holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cpmt1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Had been here on business and very disappointed from the minute I left the elevator, starting with big stains and spots on carpet, once I get the room.. surprise! very small, nothing alike from the images I had from the website I booked the room, and VERY expensive to what they deliver. So, if you have to stay here just book a regular room and pay the less the better. Mattress is really old and looks a roller coaster with all the bumps on it, very dirty floor and so limited space.
Amenities on Premium Rooms are good and shower is great, the building from outside looks nice but really needs more care and sophistication on the finishes and interior design decor, or please low your prices, and downsize you start rates, not truly what you states and offer, really shame for your business and brand. I expected much, much, much more!

Room Tip: at least ask for high floor rooms cause the view is really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lubonini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belo Horizonte hotels
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Belo Horizonte Savassi
1.7 mi away
Belo Horizonte Othon Palace Hotel
Belo Horizonte Othon Palace Hote...
#18 of 118 in Belo Horizonte
1,727 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Mercure Belo Horizonte Lourdes
Hotel Mercure Belo Horizonte Lou...
#12 of 118 in Belo Horizonte
2,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Ouro Minas Palace Hotel
Ouro Minas Palace Hotel
#3 of 118 in Belo Horizonte
3,698 reviews
1 mi away
eSuites Sion
eSuites Sion
#2 of 118 in Belo Horizonte
881 reviews
0.8 mi away
Royal Golden Hotel
Royal Golden Hotel
#7 of 118 in Belo Horizonte
803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Afonso Pena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Afonso Pena

Address: Avenida Afonso Pena 3761, Belo Horizonte, State of Minas Gerais 30130-008, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Minas Gerais > Belo Horizonte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Belo Horizonte
#2 Family Hotel in Belo Horizonte
#7 Romantic Hotel in Belo Horizonte
Price Range: £36 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quality Hotel Afonso Pena 3.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Stayforlong S.L., Hotels.com, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Quality Hotel Afonso Pena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Afonso Pena Belo Horizonte, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing