We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, but falls short in treating guests.// Excelente hotel, mas peca no tratamento aos hóspedes.”
Review of Royal Golden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Golden Hotel
Ranked #6 of 118 Hotels in Belo Horizonte
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 April 2013

I really liked the hotel. Everything is very clean, the facilities are first rate, the location is great and the staff, in general, is kind.
The breakfast was very good. In particular the omelette, which was a delight. It was a positive experience.
The only thing I have to complain about it was the treatment received by the desk clerk when we arrived and when we left the hotel. The reservation was in my name plus one, who was my boyfriend. The emploee that was there when we arrived treated us normally.
However, another employee completed the check-in. He saw that everything was in my name and, in principle, talked with me. Until he sees my boyfriend's name. From this point on, he talked ONLY to my boyfriend, looking exclusively for him, while passing informations about the hotel. As if my boyfriend were the only host (or the only responsible for the hosting). Neither the fact that we divided the bill changed his attitude, and the employee continued to treat him as responsible for hosting.
I consider sexist attitudes like this unacceptable nowadays. If an employee is not comfortable seeing women in equal with their partners this should not be in contact with the public. Attitudes like this testify against the hotel and pass a very negative image.

====================
Gostei bastante do hotel. Tudo é muito limpo, as instalações são de primeira, a localização é ótima e os funcionários, em geral, gentis.
O café da manhã é muito bom. Em particular à omelete, pedida a parte, que estava uma delícia. Foi uma experiência positiva.
A única coisa que tenho para reclamar foi do tratamento recebido pelo funcionário da recepção ao chegarmos e ao sairmos do hotel. A reserva estava em meu nome mais um acompanhante, que era meu namorado. No início, o funcionário que estava lá quando chegamos nos tratou normalmente. No entanto, quem finalizou o check-in foi um outro funcionário. Este, viu que tudo estava em meu nome e, em principio, se dirigiu a mim. Até ver o nome do meu namorado. A partir daí ele se dirigiu SOMENTE ao meu namorado, inclusive, olhando somente para ele, ao passar as informações sobre o hotel, como se ele fosse o único hospede (ou o único responsável pela hospedagem). Nem o fato de dividirmos a conta o fez mudar de atitude, e o tal funcionário continuou tratando-o como responsável pela hospedagem.
Considero atitudes sexistas como esta inaceitáveis nos dias de hoje. Se um funcionário não está confortável em ver mulheres em igualdade com seus parceiros este não deveria estar em contato com o público. Atitudes como esta depõem muito contra o hotel e passam uma imagem bastante negativa.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marianarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna A, Gerente at Royal Golden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2014
Google Translation

Prezada Senhora,
Boa tarde. Agradecemos muito a sua avaliação e seus comentários.
Sua opinião é muito importante para nós.
Atenciosamente,
Joanna Andrade

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (799)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

18 - 24 of 799 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2013

Stayed a week in this Hotel which was booked for me by the company I was visiting. First and lasting impressions were excellent. Extremely helpful desk staff and other staff very friendly. Rooms large, clean and very comfortable. Excellent breakfast served in nice dining space. Didn't get a chance to use the pool but it looked excellent and I'm sure it would be lovely in the summer (gym etc a little dated!). The location is perfect for exploring the city and is in avert safe part of town. Next visit I will be booking this hotel myself!

Room Tip: I imagine he city views from the high floors would be excellent but not much to see lower down
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MartyFi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna A, Gerente at Royal Golden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2014
Google Translation

Prezado (a) MartyFi,
Boa tarde. Agradecemos muito a sua avaliação e seus comentários.
Sua opinião é muito importante para nós.
Esperamos revê-lo novamente no hotel Royal Golden.
Atenciosamente,
Joanna Andrade

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

I stayed here in Feb 2013 for a business trip. The check-in process was smooth and the staff extremely friendly and helpful. However, when I got to my room, the carpet was a disaster! It was so incredibly dirty and stained that my shoes were afraid to walk on it let alone my bare feet!! I called down and the staff immediately sent someone up with keys to three other rooms for me to look at...all had carpet that was just as bad. I was finally told that the smoking rooms (I don't smoke!) have tile floors and would be much cleaner. They put me on a wait-list for one of those to open up but within an hour, they came back up and showed me a room that opened up. I moved. It was comfortable for the most part but my sheets did have some faded stains on them, the towels were very worn and there was a collection of dead gnats on the bathroom ceiling.

All of that said, the staff was very nice and accommodating. The breakfast was great and WiFi service was decent. The neighborhood was kind of "sleepy" in that there aren't a lot of restaurants close by and I was also warned that going out at night alone could be a little risky. I actually booked this hotel by mistake as a colleague from Belo Horizonte suggested the Royal Savassi. Both of these hotels are in the Savassi district and close to each other but when I walked by the Royal Savassi, it seemed to be in a much nicer area with many shops and restaurants closer to the hotel.

Unfortunately, I don't think I would stay at Royal Golden again just because of the cleanliness factor.

Room Tip: If you do decide to stay here, ask for/reserve a smoking room with a the tile flooring. They are MU...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KurtSFO72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna A, Gerente at Royal Golden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2015

Dear Mr. Kurt,
Thank you for your evaluation. We have now changed a lot in our hotel. From bed sheets to carpets.
I hope we have the chance to have you here with us again in your next visit to Belo Horizonte.
Regards,
Joanna Andrade

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2012

Generelly an ok hotel, but a little bit oldish.

On booking, they "forgot" to tell us that there was a scheduled electricity maintenance on the second day of the stay. We did not have power in the room for several hours (for the elevators they had rented an external generator). This is not so funny for a 2-day stay, no light, no whirlpool, etc., even considering that we got a discount when we complained.

I found that somewhat wily, but, to their honor, it is possible that they really forgot. However, I would not come back.

We liked the buffet restaurant and the breakfast, very broad offering of dishes, good price, good quality.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanSampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna A, Gerente at Royal Golden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2014
Google Translation

Prezado (a) Senhor (a),
Boa tarde. Agradecemos muito a sua avaliação e seus comentários.
Sua opinião é muito importante para nós.
Atenciosamente,
Joanna Andrade

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

First time I stayed in this hotel in 2010, so when we went to Belo Horizonte this year, I asked our travel agent Patricia from local Zero 31 Viagems to book us a room on the second floor again - it has it's own courtyard and a small jacuzzi. It is not your romantic posh overpriced big chain affair - it is a business hotel. Second floor is the luxury part of the hotel. The location is unbeatable - safe, close to everything, walking distance to Sunday markets and shopping. Hotel's restaurant is pretty good as well if you cannot be bothered getting out and walking 50 to 200 meters - some of the best BH restaurants are right next door.
Rooms both times were quiet, clean with a very comfortable bed. Though there is a swimming pool in the hotel, I wouldn't use it, paving, rail and steps need fixing - it doesn't look like anybody is using it either. Staff is friendly and helpful with varying degrees of English - from perfect to passable, but if your Portuguese is like mine (close to non-existing), this is a big plus.
For 6 days we paid just over R$3000 (or in AU$ it came to $250 a night) - it seems expensive by Brazilian standards, but you should look at the pictures!

Room Tip: Second floor has luxury rooms with your own courtyard and a jacuzzi
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Calytrix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna A, Gerente at Royal Golden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2015

Sir Calytryx,
Thank you for dedicating your time to evaluate us.
We are glad that you had a good experience with us.
We hope to see you again next time you are in Brazil, so you can check all the renovation we did in our swimming pool area.
Regards,
Joanna Andrade

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

The Hotel is fantastic, there´s nothing to lose in international networks. Service team exceed my expectations. Everything was in perfect condition in my room. The cleanliness was impeccable. Good bed and television. Congratulations Hotel management.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLanari, Gerente geral at Royal Golden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2012

Dear Mr. Mark,

Thank´s for your comments regarding the Royal Golden Hotel. Your review will be relayed to our staff.
We hope to see you again soon on your next stay.
Sincerely,

Paul Lanari
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We had a lovely time at the hotel! The staff was sweet and helpful, location was great, rooms were nice and cozy, breakfast was lovely. And we got the weekend special value, so we had 50% off the regular fare!!!
It will definitely be my go to hotel whenever I go back to Belo Horizonte.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
Thank Nathali L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna A, Gerente at Royal Golden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2015

Dear Mrs. Nathiuria,
Thank you for your evaluation. It´s always good and important to hear from our Guests.
Hope you have the chance to come back and visit us, so you can check all the renovations we have done.
Regards,
Joanna Andrade

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belo Horizonte hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Belo Horizonte Savassi
0.3 mi away
Royal Savassi Boutique Hotel
Royal Savassi Boutique Hotel
#10 of 118 in Belo Horizonte
1,090 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Mercure Belo Horizonte Lourdes
Hotel Mercure Belo Horizonte Lou...
#12 of 118 in Belo Horizonte
2,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Ouro Minas Palace Hotel
Ouro Minas Palace Hotel
#3 of 118 in Belo Horizonte
3,686 reviews
1.5 mi away
eSuites Sion
eSuites Sion
#1 of 118 in Belo Horizonte
873 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Hotel Afonso Pena
Quality Hotel Afonso Pena
#9 of 118 in Belo Horizonte
1,705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Golden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Golden Hotel

Address: Rua Rio Grande do norte 1015 | Savassi, Belo Horizonte, State of Minas Gerais 30130-135, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Minas Gerais > Belo Horizonte
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Belo Horizonte
#4 Business Hotel in Belo Horizonte
Price Range: £41 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Golden Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Royal Golden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Golden Hotel Belo Horizonte, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing