We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average in a good location”
Review of Royal Golden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Golden Hotel
Ranked #7 of 119 Hotels in Belo Horizonte
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Average in a good location”
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

The location of the hotel is great. In a good part of Belo. A lot of restaurants and bars around.
It is a 3 star hotel at most. The rooms are small and outdated but clean and with a modern TV.
Breakfast is good.

For Brazil it is OK but do not expect too much...

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ymym65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna A, Gerente at Royal Golden Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Good Afternoon,
We thank you for the time you took to evaluate us!
Your opinion is very important for us. That is the way we can improve our service!
We hope to see you again in Belo Horizonte.
Regards,
Joanna Andrade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    314
    335
    68
    12
    2
See reviews for
128
179
40
304
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

I spend a week in the middle of December during some business trip to Belo Horizonte. Being my first trip to BH I was very satisfied to discovery that the Hotel have a very good localisation. I could spend by free time discovering the city, because is near all the major turistic attractions. It is also provided of good restaurantes near by. The coffee break is very good. Some things I didn't like was the bedroom with single bed, the hotel was pretty much empty, I'm quite sure they could find me a room with double bed. Personally I found the restaurante menu quite simple and with no much options. Otherwise, a good hotel, specially if you are in a business trip, where you don't have many requirements to relax or other amenities.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fabio G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna A, Gerente at Royal Golden Hotel, responded to this review, 30 December 2014
Google Translation
Prezado Senhor,
Boa tarde. Agradecemos muito a sua avaliação e seus comentários.
Sua opinião é muito importante para nós.
Esperamos revê-lo novamente no hotel Royal Golden.
Atenciosamente,
Joanna Andrade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Really liked the hotel. Have been here on several occassions and service is always excellent with friendly staff. Will always come back. Breakfast very good especially the omelette. Try the sugar free passion fruit juice! Swimming pool and gym under refurbishment, previously good anticipate they will be even better.

Room Tip: All rooms are similar apart from a few with jacuzzi and terraces.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MPD_Oxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLanari, General Manager at Royal Golden Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear Mr. MPD_Oxon,
Thank you for your comments regarding the Royal Golden Hotel.
Your review will be relayed to all our staff.
We hope to see you soon.
Sinceremente,
Paulo Lanari
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Decent location.
Nice name , but need to improve service to justify.
Had stayed in this hotel earlier too.
The staff is courteous and helpful.
Breakfast is good and has variety.
However still the zing I had found earlier, and so decided to stay again was missing.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SJG-Delhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLanari, General Manager at Royal Golden Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Google Translation
Prezado Sr. SJG Delhi,
Agradecemos por seus comentários.
Tenha a certeza que sua avaliação é importante para o nosso crescimento.
Iremos discutir com nossa equipe todos os fatos relatados afim de buscarmos um aprimoramento de nossa equipe.
Esperamos revê-lo em breve.
Sinceramente,
Paulo Lanari
Gerente Geral
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

I really liked the hotel. Everything is very clean, the facilities are first rate, the location is great and the staff, in general, is kind.
The breakfast was very good. In particular the omelette, which was a delight. It was a positive experience.
The only thing I have to complain about it was the treatment received by the desk clerk when we arrived and when we left the hotel. The reservation was in my name plus one, who was my boyfriend. The emploee that was there when we arrived treated us normally.
However, another employee completed the check-in. He saw that everything was in my name and, in principle, talked with me. Until he sees my boyfriend's name. From this point on, he talked ONLY to my boyfriend, looking exclusively for him, while passing informations about the hotel. As if my boyfriend were the only host (or the only responsible for the hosting). Neither the fact that we divided the bill changed his attitude, and the employee continued to treat him as responsible for hosting.
I consider sexist attitudes like this unacceptable nowadays. If an employee is not comfortable seeing women in equal with their partners this should not be in contact with the public. Attitudes like this testify against the hotel and pass a very negative image.

====================
Gostei bastante do hotel. Tudo é muito limpo, as instalações são de primeira, a localização é ótima e os funcionários, em geral, gentis.
O café da manhã é muito bom. Em particular à omelete, pedida a parte, que estava uma delícia. Foi uma experiência positiva.
A única coisa que tenho para reclamar foi do tratamento recebido pelo funcionário da recepção ao chegarmos e ao sairmos do hotel. A reserva estava em meu nome mais um acompanhante, que era meu namorado. No início, o funcionário que estava lá quando chegamos nos tratou normalmente. No entanto, quem finalizou o check-in foi um outro funcionário. Este, viu que tudo estava em meu nome e, em principio, se dirigiu a mim. Até ver o nome do meu namorado. A partir daí ele se dirigiu SOMENTE ao meu namorado, inclusive, olhando somente para ele, ao passar as informações sobre o hotel, como se ele fosse o único hospede (ou o único responsável pela hospedagem). Nem o fato de dividirmos a conta o fez mudar de atitude, e o tal funcionário continuou tratando-o como responsável pela hospedagem.
Considero atitudes sexistas como esta inaceitáveis nos dias de hoje. Se um funcionário não está confortável em ver mulheres em igualdade com seus parceiros este não deveria estar em contato com o público. Atitudes como esta depõem muito contra o hotel e passam uma imagem bastante negativa.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marianarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna A, Gerente at Royal Golden Hotel, responded to this review, 30 December 2014
Google Translation
Prezada Senhora,
Boa tarde. Agradecemos muito a sua avaliação e seus comentários.
Sua opinião é muito importante para nós.
Atenciosamente,
Joanna Andrade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Stayed a week in this Hotel which was booked for me by the company I was visiting. First and lasting impressions were excellent. Extremely helpful desk staff and other staff very friendly. Rooms large, clean and very comfortable. Excellent breakfast served in nice dining space. Didn't get a chance to use the pool but it looked excellent and I'm sure it would be lovely in the summer (gym etc a little dated!). The location is perfect for exploring the city and is in avert safe part of town. Next visit I will be booking this hotel myself!

Room Tip: I imagine he city views from the high floors would be excellent but not much to see lower down
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartyFi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna A, Gerente at Royal Golden Hotel, responded to this review, 30 December 2014
Google Translation
Prezado (a) MartyFi,
Boa tarde. Agradecemos muito a sua avaliação e seus comentários.
Sua opinião é muito importante para nós.
Esperamos revê-lo novamente no hotel Royal Golden.
Atenciosamente,
Joanna Andrade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

I stayed here in Feb 2013 for a business trip. The check-in process was smooth and the staff extremely friendly and helpful. However, when I got to my room, the carpet was a disaster! It was so incredibly dirty and stained that my shoes were afraid to walk on it let alone my bare feet!! I called down and the staff immediately sent someone up with keys to three other rooms for me to look at...all had carpet that was just as bad. I was finally told that the smoking rooms (I don't smoke!) have tile floors and would be much cleaner. They put me on a wait-list for one of those to open up but within an hour, they came back up and showed me a room that opened up. I moved. It was comfortable for the most part but my sheets did have some faded stains on them, the towels were very worn and there was a collection of dead gnats on the bathroom ceiling.

All of that said, the staff was very nice and accommodating. The breakfast was great and WiFi service was decent. The neighborhood was kind of "sleepy" in that there aren't a lot of restaurants close by and I was also warned that going out at night alone could be a little risky. I actually booked this hotel by mistake as a colleague from Belo Horizonte suggested the Royal Savassi. Both of these hotels are in the Savassi district and close to each other but when I walked by the Royal Savassi, it seemed to be in a much nicer area with many shops and restaurants closer to the hotel.

Unfortunately, I don't think I would stay at Royal Golden again just because of the cleanliness factor.

Room Tip: If you do decide to stay here, ask for/reserve a smoking room with a the tile flooring. They are MU...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KurtSFO72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna A, Gerente at Royal Golden Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2015
Dear Mr. Kurt,
Thank you for your evaluation. We have now changed a lot in our hotel. From bed sheets to carpets.
I hope we have the chance to have you here with us again in your next visit to Belo Horizonte.
Regards,
Joanna Andrade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belo Horizonte hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Belo Horizonte Savassi
4.0 mi away
Ouro Minas Palace Hotel
Ouro Minas Palace Hotel
#3 of 119 in Belo Horizonte
3,313 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Mercure Belo Horizonte Lourdes
Hotel Mercure Belo Horizonte Lou...
#14 of 119 in Belo Horizonte
1,888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Royal Savassi Boutique Hotel
Royal Savassi Boutique Hotel
#9 of 119 in Belo Horizonte
984 reviews
0.7 mi away
eSuites Savassi Toscanini
eSuites Savassi Toscanini
#13 of 119 in Belo Horizonte
384 reviews
0.9 mi away
Belo Horizonte Othon Palace Hotel
Belo Horizonte Othon Palace Hote...
#17 of 119 in Belo Horizonte
1,624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Golden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Golden Hotel

Property: Royal Golden Hotel
Address: Rua Rio Grande do norte 1015 | Savassi, Belo Horizonte, State of Minas Gerais 30130-135, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Minas Gerais > Belo Horizonte
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Belo Horizonte
#4 Business Hotel in Belo Horizonte
#8 Family Hotel in Belo Horizonte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Golden Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Golden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Golden Hotel Belo Horizonte, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing