We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleeping at the bus station would have been a better idea”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
O Sorriso do Lagarto Hostel
Reviewed 1 November 2009

If you are considering staying at this hostel, stop now. There are few things you could do, during an entire lifetime, that could prove as disgusting as booking a room in Sorriso do Lagarto. I'm not qualified to talk about the Ouro Preto facilities, but qualifying the BH ones as 'merely' awful would be terribly unfair. As the other reviewer has said, don't stay there. Again: don't stay there.
But lets try to weight the pros and cons, and do some 'justice' to the entrepeneurial couple who runs the place (even thoug they only showed up once, during our stay).

Pros:
- Location: its close to a mall (Pátio Savassi) and to part of BHs hippiest nightlife. Several bus stations nearby make moving around really easy.

Cons:
- It Smells: terribly. And believe me, its not the sort of funny smell you can ignore - everything sort of smells like rotten, old, moldy crap. You probably wouldn't notice this till the first night of sleep, but after the forth you start wondering if that stink is clinging to your clothes as well.
- Beds: I'm being nice just by calling 'beds' the Salvation Army cushions we slept on. The 'beds' reeked, made funny noises when you laid on them to get some rest and presented a perennial threat to our lives (whoever was on the lower bed was left to wonder how long it was gonna take for the whole room to fall apart).
- Breakfast: if you've heard anything about the peculiar breads and pastries baked in Minas Gerais, forget about it. Old, stale bread, sour milk, watery coffee (which looked a lot more like tea than anything vaguely resembling coffee) greeted us as a miserable reminder of the terrible nights we had in this hostel.


Overall Impressions: noisy, small, smelly, disgusting - you don't want to stay there. I'm glad I survived.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank RickTrolled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (70)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 19 December 2006

this is a hostel it is very poorly run by a husband and wife the bathroom is not cleaned their is no around the clock staff you are given a locker to keep your valueables but there is no one to monitor it someone who stayed in my dormitory or someone who works there went through my belongings stole my key to my locker went inside and took my wallet and reclosed my locker i had the police called submitted a report but nothing really was done it was stolen in the presence of owner i asked if he would remain up front he said yes and this happened my vacation was ruined i booked hostel through student flights.com you can also book throughboots n all.com but my advise is not to stay there they accused me of falsafying everything and were more concerned of their own reputation

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank poposuda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: se estiver sozinho escolha o quarto comunitário, pois é bem mais barato. em grupo alugue um quarto.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vampiramorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank Andrielly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: En la que tengas que compartir con la menor gente posible
See more room tips
Stayed: February 2016, travelled solo
Thank javier0409c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
Thank ramouraaa26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: tanto o quarto coletivo não tem muita privacidade e nem onde guardar os pertences, mas o de casal co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dan183021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belo Horizonte hotels
1.2 mi away
Ibis budget Belo Horizonte Afonso Pena
Ibis budget Belo Horizonte Afons...
#28 of 119 in Belo Horizonte
1,179 reviews
4.9 mi away
Ouro Minas Palace Hotel
Ouro Minas Palace Hotel
#3 of 119 in Belo Horizonte
3,467 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Belo Horizonte Savassi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
San Diego Mid
San Diego Mid
#36 of 119 in Belo Horizonte
149 reviews
5.0 mi away
Stop Inn Cristiano Machado
Stop Inn Cristiano Machado
#74 of 119 in Belo Horizonte
95 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Financial
Hotel Financial
#33 of 119 in Belo Horizonte
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O Sorriso do Lagarto Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O Sorriso do Lagarto Hostel

Address: Rua Cristina 791, Belo Horizonte, State of Minas Gerais 30330-130, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Minas Gerais > Belo Horizonte
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 137 Speciality Lodging in Belo Horizonte
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your O Sorriso do Lagarto Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
O Sorriso Do Lagarto Hostel Belo Horizonte, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing