We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“CL”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grande Hotel de Ouro Preto
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Ouro Preto
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“CL”
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

This hotel is well positioned but it is in serious need of an upgrade. As a building it is fantastic (classically Niemeyer) but seriously let down by its poor maintenance despite its friendly staff. We walked out after a day.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Cèsar L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    220
    95
    18
    9
See reviews for
139
149
27
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lenoir, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at this hotel with a small group of students from the US. One of the favorite stops of the trip was our visit to Ouro Preto. This hotel added to the experience because of it's charm and character. The architecture is very unique and takes full advantage of its location with views of the city and even a pool. The modern design does not reflect the old world feel of a town that was founded in the 17th century but we all had a pleasant and enjoyable stay.

Our group stayed in rooms that had two single beds which were very basic. Each room has 2 stories with the bed and bathrooms being in the upper portion of the unit that is accessed by a thin narrow staircase. Each unit also had a reasonable size deck with amazing views of the city. Rooms were clean and hotel staff was friendly and professional. They also have wifi included with your room costs. All of the main spots in town are within a short walking distance since the hotel is located just off the main square in the middle of town.

Tips and Suggestions:

1. Ouro Preto is very hilly and this hotel is about half way down one the main soapstone covered streets so it is very steep. It is like this everywhere however so be prepared for some hills.

2. Be careful if it rains. The soapstone street are very slick when it rains. Almost as if someone put soap on them or something.

3. Visit the soapstone market just off the main square near the historic church. Great gifts for everyone back home no matter where you are from. Be sure to haggle.

4. Ouro Preto is a great place to find precious stones and gems. There are tons of shops where you can buy stones of all shapes and sizes. We found the best deals at the soapstone market.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BenWNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ouro Preto, MG
1 review
Reviewed 22 August 2013

I am currently staying here, on business, and I am so excited to check out in the morning. I cannot and will not fall asleep because I am afraid what may come crawling out. I am not sure where people are getting these photos from, but they DO NOT reflect this hotel. I noticed the site, or some users, highlight the suite with the stair case. I am not certain where the pics came from. However, the room I am sitting in s old, unkept, and rusty. I am so disappointed. Any Americans considering this hotel, DON'T. You will regret it!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelgirl903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

This is a beautiful hotel and the suites with the wooden spiral staircase are an absolute delight. I don't understand why it is described as an eyesore - it's so well designed that you can barely see it from the town (not so wonderful when you are trying to find it!!) and inside its clean bright lines are a lovely contrast with the classical/baroque architecture of the rest of the town. Breakfast is fine...we didn't try the restaurant as there were so many other places to try.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ajl99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Warszawa, Poland
Level Contributor
155 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

It's clean and quite modern for local standards. Mini bar is cheap and breakfast was OK. Swimming pool is small but clean. No design at all, no spirit in such a place. Very small, uncomfortable beds. Location is good - close to main tourists attractions and bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gringo30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
307 reviews
232 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

This hotel is a classic, elegant architecture, actually the first of Niemeyer's creations to be built. Other people have spoken about the quirky rooms (the suites) with the spiral staircase. Ours was in very good condition - but can't speak for them all. Beautiful wooden floors. Huge airy reception and lounge area, dining on the veranda with stunning views over Ouro Preto. Food not brilliant, but not disastrous either. Breakfast the standard fare.
Nice little swimming pool, free parking, not many English speakers.
Ouro Preto itself is stunning, and why would you stay anywhere else when you can be in a hotel that is listed in books on classic architecture I just wouldn't understand.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RedHeadPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013

Once you stop looking at the beautiful architecture and furniture design, open up the huge balcony windows and take some time to look at the view. You can see the whole of Ouro Preto and it's stunning.

Yes, this hotel is old, yes it's tired but that is it's charm.
we stopped in one of the suites and I couldn't stop admiring the building, the room, the floor, the furniture etc etc.

We only ate breakfast at the hotel. the same brazilian breakfast you see at all hotels in this area. perfectly fine.

Lots of lovely places to eat around including a great steak restaurant near the market. We were there on sunday and monday and we have to warn you - there is NOTHING open except a few restaurants (thankfully they are the very good ones).

we relaxed by the pool one afternoon. staff were lovely and sorted out a couple of trips for us.

We got the bus back to Belo Horizonte which was a simple and pleasant way to travel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank arch_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ouro Preto hotels
Hotel Pousada do Arcanjo
#1 of 10 in Ouro Preto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Hotel Solar Do Rosario
#2 of 10 in Ouro Preto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Pousada Classica
#3 of 10 in Ouro Preto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Luxor Ouro Preto
#7 of 10 in Ouro Preto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
City Center
Pousada Casa Dos Contos
Pousada Casa Dos Contos
#5 of 10 in Ouro Preto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
City Center
Hotel do Teatro
Hotel do Teatro
#8 of 10 in Ouro Preto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Hotel de Ouro Preto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Hotel de Ouro Preto

Property: Grande Hotel de Ouro Preto
Address: Rua Senador Rocha Lagoa 164, Ouro Preto, State of Minas Gerais 35400-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Minas Gerais > Ouro Preto
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Ouro Preto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grande Hotel de Ouro Preto 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grande Hotel de Ouro Preto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grande Hotel De Ouro Preto Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing