We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Solar de Maria
Ranked #10 of 89 Ouro Preto B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Anything we could write about our stay at this hotel would be little compared with what we experienced there: friendly and helpful staff, great location, near downtown Ouro Preto, carefull restaurated historical building and, last but not least, the owner, Roberto. Extremely helpful, friendly and a very nice person, he made everything - and more - to make our stay an unique experience. We'll be back ... and soon!

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms located in the back of the building and at the end of the hall - most silent and q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Marco F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (203)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 10 of 203 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2014

We liked this place, though it wasn't among the nicest that we stayed at during our trip through Minas Gerais (I have reviews on the other places we liked better!). The rooms were nice in terms of the historic features (wood ceilings, etc.), but were pretty basic in terms of furnishings. One thing that was annoying was that we had one double bed, one single bed, and then the additional single bed we needed came as a little, hard, rollaway bed that was inches off the floor (not a real bed). So that limited who could sleep on it. The restaurant wasn't very scenic (view of the parking lot), but the options for breakfast were good. The staff was nice. The location, just at the bottom of the historic area, was pretty convenient, though there was a lot of uphill hiking to get to the main square.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenrothg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We had a lovely stay. The hotel is cute, has really nice installations, books, a beautiful place with nice architecture where we had breakfast, the room was clean and had just enough what we needed. The staff was very friendly and helpful too. The location is good too, near the beautiful Igreja do Rosário. We recommend it :)

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcela O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Solar de Maria pousada that I left some days ago, is a friendly place in a quiet area of Ouro Preto. As it's the low season, there were few tourists in Ouro preto ; I was lucky ; the price I got was very reasonable ; the employees are friendly and discret enough ; the owner is very sympathic, formerly Ingeneer, having travelled a lot, speaking English ; I enjoyed talking with him during my breakfast when he was there. He takes good care of his guests.
From the pousada to plaça Tiradentes, it's a pleasant walk on a flat part of the city, except the last rise to plaça Tiradentes which is inevitable wherever you stay at. About 500m to 800 m to this square Tiradentes which takes 10 mn. I prefered this part of the city than the one on the opposite side of plaça Tiradentes ; many restaurants are half way to this square from the hotel.
The room I had was new ; no air condition ; a ventilator in the cupboard in case ; fridge ; TV. I didn't need a ventilator because it was not hot at that time of the year.
Wooden floor. No mosquitos.
The bathroom was large ; hair dryer ; shampooing ; combs.
Wifi worked well in the room. Bed very confortable and linen of good quality. Everything is very clean.
The breakfast room is pleasant ; good buffet : fresh fruit juices, eggs, ham, cakes, cereals, yoghurt etc...
No garden ; only a courtyard for guest cars and the small swimming pool lies in a corner.
Like in most hotels or pousadas in Brasil is the noise from the corridor when a guest talks at 11 PM coming back from the restaurant. There are panels asking everyone to respect the silence, but...
I think that this pousada is a good value for money. (I search for hours with the help of Booking and tripadvisor to get the best value).

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heureuxhomme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

We stayed in a 'superior room' with a modern bathroom and a large shower. The owner and staff were very helpful answering our questions and making restaurant suggestions. Best meal at Bené de Flauta. Quiet- 15 minute walk to Praca Tiredentes—the main square—and close to a great jazz bar, Barroco & Barroco. Very good value. Tastefully decorated.

Suzanne & Ted. Ottawa, Canada.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ted859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

I just saw positive points in this hotel:

- big parking lot inside the hotel (driving in the streets of Ouro Preto is very complicated)
- spacious and clean rooms / with fridge
- 5 minutes walking to the city center
- very good breakfast
- excellent staff, very nice and helpful people

Important to emphasize that the rooms do not have air conditioning because the house is a National Heritage building and this kind of equipment is not permitted to be installed. However, the night is very fresh even in the summer, so, I did not see the need of the air conditioning.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ccipola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013

This hotel is a classic in decor and attitude. It is not trendy nor hip, but more of an aged find. The rooms are comfortable, but very small if it is a standard. I upgraded to a double suite with a street view and was much happier with the room (maybe not so much with the price). The hotel is in the city, but a 10-15 minute walk to the main plaza. This was not an issue since the route there takes you through the pleasant colonial streets and activity. Service and breakfast was a plus, but the swimming pool and outdoor lounge area was a zero.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dr_PS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ouro Preto hotels
Hotel Pousada do Arcanjo
#1 of 10 in Ouro Preto
551 reviews
Grande Hotel de Ouro Preto
#4 of 10 in Ouro Preto
496 reviews
Hotel Solar Do Rosario
#3 of 10 in Ouro Preto
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Pousada Casa Dos Contos
Pousada Casa Dos Contos
#5 of 10 in Ouro Preto
240 reviews
Hotel Luxor Ouro Preto
#7 of 10 in Ouro Preto
202 reviews
City Center
Pousada Arcadia Mineira
Pousada Arcadia Mineira
#11 of 89 in Ouro Preto
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Solar de Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Solar de Maria

Address: Rua Thome Afonso 111 | Bairro Agua Limpa, Ouro Preto, State of Minas Gerais 35400-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Minas Gerais > Ouro Preto
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 89 B&Bs / Inns in Ouro Preto
Price Range: £45 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Solar de Maria 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Solar de Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Solar De Maria Ouro Preto, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing