We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“take swimwear”
Review of Minas de Chico Rei

Minas de Chico Rei
Book In Advance
More Info
US$55.99*
and up
Waterfall Jungle Jeep Adventure and Cachaca Tour from Paraty
Ranked #20 of 126 things to do in Ouro Preto
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“take swimwear”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Really enjoyed my trip to the mine. When you get there you can look at some old machinery which was used many years ago, and for me it was even more exciting as some of them were made in manchester uk, where I am from.

Going down the mine in the old rickety cart was fun and gave you a real experience of what it was like for the miners going down there.
Unfortunately for me I dont speak spanish or portugese and the tour only spoke this, but none the less just the experience of being in the mine and the visual side of it was worth it.

After walking around the mine you then get the oppertunity to swim in the underwater pool which is definitely worth doing and adds to the experience.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank gethyn84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    301
    214
    76
    23
    13
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Not too exciting....”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Definately the highlight is going down into the mine in the car pulled by the old engine. (Remember to put the safety rail down - we didn't realise this existed which made the ride even more 'thrilling'). Once down though, there is not too much to see. And the museum is very small, although has some interesting old photos.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TNV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mogi das Cruzes, SP
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
170 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Two thirds of the mine are underwater”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

I had a great time exploring this mine specially because I am a cave diver. More than 2/3 of the mine are underwater reaching more than 200 m depth ( usually we go up to 20 m )and underwater tunnels and passages are just like above water even more restricts. I could see old boots, trams, rails and bridges down there, it´s amazing. If you are a certified cave or a introductory cave diver will enjoy much more this trip, but it´s nedded to book divings in advance ( check www.divegold.com.br ). for non certified cave divers ( but certified openwater divers ) there´s a program called Discovery Cavern which will take the diver till the entrance of the cavern area safely. Apart the diving there´s much to see in the mine and outside the mine like the museum and restaurant.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Ricardo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Taking a Walk in The Gold Mine”
Reviewed 1 June 2013

This was interesting. My friend and I walked in the mine with a guide. He gave us an overview of the life of the miners. Afterwards, we had lunch at the mine in the basement of a house. Found out later that an 90 year old lady owned the house and was upstairs. The food was good and served family style. We were in someone's home. Interesting!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Warszawa, Poland
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Go there!”
Reviewed 22 May 2013

That was my first time in a gold mine and I loved it! This experience is so different than usual - museums and galleries. It's also a good lesson of history of this amazing place.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank gringo30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Minas de Chico Rei also viewed

 

Been to Minas de Chico Rei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing