We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pousada Classica

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pousada Classica
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Ouro Preto
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
216 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Good location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

The high point about the Classica Pousada is the location, just in front of the main street of Ouro Preto. By night it was not noisy.
The breakfast was an average and staff was not so friendly at all.
Price was a little bit high for what it delivers.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sergio P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    197
    62
    15
    9
See reviews for
125
173
13
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Niherne, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

Good pousada and very good location ; they managed to put us in contact with Paulo MENDES a french guide from the tourist office and we had a private visit - all in French - with this very nice guy.
If you visit Ouro Preto and it's worthwile we recommend PAULO MENDES.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Viviane582014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
206 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

This would be an average hotel except for it's great location in the centre of town and walking distance to everything.
Rooms are comfortable but basic. We were in the rear but I can imagine the front to be very noisy in this lively town.
Afternoon tea is a nice touch and appreciated.
Staff were friendly and helpful

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
160 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2011

In the world of pousada´s this is an average place in a very noisy street. The location is indeed worth considering because walking around in Ouro Preto can be a challenge because of the steep streets. Classica is near the main square Tiradentes. The rooms are clean, you can open a window and there is a hotel-parking at the backside of the hotel. Not all staff speaks English, most are helpful, some not. Breakfast was poor for Brazilian standards, coffeemachine needs cleaning, no fresh orange juice. Wifi is free.

Room Tip: Avoid frontrooms if you need some sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pluskat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronneby, Sweden
Level Contributor
709 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 356 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2011

This hotel lies in the middle of the old town, right next to the main square. An excellent place to start walks around the town from. The hotel rooms are very nice and the old feeling are always present without anything not working due to being old. The only thing (charming more than troublesome) is that the room windows actually have no glass - only wooden shutters. They serve free coffee and tea with cakes in the afternoon, and the breakfast is adequate, but a little on the cheap side of good.
Elevator present and working

Room Tip: You get better views of the town the higher up you get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dgjohansson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

The Classica is an average pousada on the main street in Ouro Preto. The location is great, and whilst it is noisy on the front, we were warned in advance about this. Unfortunately my earplugs weren't sufficient to block out 15 minutes of church bells at 6am on a Saturday morning, however for a heavy sleeper it should be fine.

Our room was spacious, however it should be noted that if you don't hand in your key at reception your room will not be serviced during the day. This is not pointed out to you at check in. If, in the meantime, you run out of toilet paper, check the wardrobe for a spare (not the bathroom which would be more sensible).

Staying in the winter, the room wasn't particularly warm and we had to ask for a second blanket. Unfortunately all that was available was a blanket for a single bed, despite being in a double room. It's just a standard sized double bed as well, which could be larger in such a large suite.

We asked at reception for a map of the town, however they don't provide them and sent us instead to tourist information who charged us R$5 for a basic map! We also asked reception about the train to Mariana, and they probably should have advised us that this was an attraction that required advanced booking. When we arrived at the station the train was full.

There is an internet terminal in the reception, however it didn't work when I tried to use it. No wireless is available.

Afternoon tea is a nice touch, although in reality it's just a way of recycling breakfast as it's largely the same food.

Car parking is available behind the hotel and is included in the price. I'd leave your car there rather than drive around Ouro Preto, however be warned the taxis are expensive and don't have meters (minimum fare R$10)

The staff were the least charismatic of all the hotels we stayed in on our Minas Gerais trip, although I wonder whether that is because one member of the team never appeared to be allowed any time off to sleep...

Room Tip: Rooms on the front are larger with balconies but noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank soldham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2011

The location of this pousada was perfect for us. It was 30 seconds to Tiradentes square & lots of museams, churches, restaurants and shops right on the doorstep.

The breakfast was great and the complimentary afternoon tea (tea, coffee, hot chocolate along with various breads and cakes) was a great touch from 5 to 7pm each night and perfect to relax for a few hours with friends after a hard days exploring.

The hotel was very clean but the rooms were a little basic. The first room (number 17) had a view only of a wall but when asked, they did move us to another with a view of some churches and rooftops which was really nice (either 19 or 12 are nice views).

The staff were really helpful but spoke no english so you really need to have some basic portuguese to get by. There is free parking which is great.

We went during easter weekend which is really special in Ouro Preto as they decorate the streets on the Saturday night with a carpet of sawdust pictures for a procession on easter sunday but the rates do go up at this time and the hotel is right next to the most lively bars in town so it got very crowded on the doorstep and quite noisy. Our room was towards the back of the hotel and I am a light sleeper but with earplugs I had no problem getting to sleep each night. If we had been right on the front I think it would have been very hard!!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UKwhereswally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ouro Preto hotels
Hotel Pousada do Arcanjo
#1 of 10 in Ouro Preto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Hotel Solar Do Rosario
#2 of 10 in Ouro Preto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
Grande Hotel de Ouro Preto
#4 of 10 in Ouro Preto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Pousada Casa Dos Contos
Pousada Casa Dos Contos
#5 of 10 in Ouro Preto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Hotel Luxor Ouro Preto
#6 of 10 in Ouro Preto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
City Center
Hotel do Teatro
Hotel do Teatro
#8 of 10 in Ouro Preto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Classica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Classica

Property: Pousada Classica
Address: Rua Conde de Bobadela, 96 | Centro, Ouro Preto, State of Minas Gerais 35400000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Minas Gerais > Ouro Preto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Ouro Preto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Pousada Classica 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Pousada Classica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Classica Hotel Ouro Preto
Pousada Classica Ouro Preto, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing