We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Small but first quality museum” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oratory Museum (Museu Do Oratorio)

Oratory Museum (Museu Do Oratorio)
Ranked #10 of 123 things to do in Ouro Preto
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Salvador, BA
Level Contributor
98 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Small but first quality museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012

Excellent way of knowing about a very commom piece of furniture used by our ancestors. It gives another look of brazilian history and how people lived in the past by looking at all the 'Oratorios' there.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Carvalv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    343
    150
    44
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Recife, PE
Level Contributor
167 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Unique Museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

Established in the historic house of the St. Carmel novitiate, once a home to Aleijadinho, this museum celebrates 18th- and 19th-century sacred art. Some of the oratories, which reflect ideas of religious beauty from the period, have been displayed at the Louvre!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank RobertoAlbuquerque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing oratories”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

This museum is very well kept and has free lockers to use to keep your bags so you can really enjoy the museum . The history of each oratory is very interesting and I gained a lot of knowledge just by reading them. Very educational indeed. The oratories are very colorful and they come in different sizes. It is my first time to visit a museum just for Oratories.I really enjoyed visiting this place and I plan to visit there again. This is a museum to see if you are visiting Brazil .

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank tinamaria53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ouro Preto, MG
Level Contributor
331 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Interesting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

An oratório is not the usual thing to see and you'll get plenty of them in all possible forms.

Helpful?
Thank tiogegeca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

Very nice museum, for those who like oratories. There´s a lot of them and the museum is very clean and maintained. I liked a lot the museum store, where you can buy really different oratories (I remember one made in match boxes, and other one made in beer bottle caps). Worth a visit!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank erika_ees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Oratory Museum (Museu Do Oratorio) also viewed

 

Been to Oratory Museum (Museu Do Oratorio)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing