We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fairly upscale inn located a ways outside the center of town (with shuttle bus)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Pousada do Arcanjo
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Ouro Preto
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
92 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 303 helpful votes
“Fairly upscale inn located a ways outside the center of town (with shuttle bus)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

Very nice inn. I was in a regular room – lower floor – everything functional and nice, but not newly renovated (e.g. old style TV with TV5, CNN and many channels in Portuguese). Very good breakfast buffet. Cable and wifi in the room. Good tea/coffee with cookies and cakes in the late afternoon in a pleasant sitting area with several newspapers and magazines (all in Portuguese). The inn is located about a km outside of the center of town (the route is not real pleasant to walk), about 400 meters past the bus station. But they have a free shuttle service to the center of town and back, and the quiet when you sleep is real nice. Geraldo (from mid-afternoon to 11 PM) speaks excellent English and is especially helpful with advice; another guy in the morning also spoke English and seemed also real helpful. This is a good address if you don’t mind being out of the center of things and don’t mind waiting 10-15 minutes from time to time for the shuttle bus.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Hotel Pousada do Arcanjo, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Thank you for your comments on our hotel. We do our best to provide a valuable experience to our guests through our services. The cortesy shuttle is one of them as well as the afternoon tea. We also appreciate your mentioning of the quietness of our location. Being a bit away from the main central streets (only 900m) is an advantage especially during festivals that are not uncommon in town. It is a guarantee of a good night´s sleep in old colonial Vila Rica. As for TVs, our investment plan is currently in progress, renovating the sets to state-of- the-art LED TVs. Our english-speaking people also thank you for your mentioning their assistance. Thank you very much! Hope to be seeing you!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    317
    159
    19
    2
    4
See reviews for
182
183
11
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
60 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013 via mobile

Excelent hotel, service, room. Internet free in the room. Transfer free to downtown. Good breakfast. Good location. There's no swimming pool or playground for kids. Elevator is avaliable. Good price. Beautiful city.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mauricio A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Hotel Pousada do Arcanjo, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Thank you for your comments on our hotel. We do our best to provide a valuable experience to our guests. And our cortesy shuttle is one of our services that make things easier for the patrons. We hope to be of value to you again in the future. Best regards!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2013

Fantastic hotel with a great view from the room which is clean, modern and comfortable. The staff are helpful,friendly and all in all it's just a fabulous experience. The main square with really cool places to hang out or dine is nearby and there is a free shuttle service as well.

Room Tip: higher floors have breathtaking views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WeekendTraveller305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Hotel Pousada do Arcanjo, responded to this review, 28 April 2013
Thank you for the comments on our hotel. We do our best to provide a valuable experience to our guests.

We are only 900m from the main city plaza but our cortesy shuttle service makes things easier for the patrons.

We hope to be seeing you again in the future. Best regards!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2013

This pousada would be an excellent choice. I stayed in the Ouro Preto suite which was wonderful-,It is on the 4th floor but there is a modern elevatot. Very spacious with a small balcony. The daily housekeeping service was excellent.
The staff was very accomodating and the man at reception most of the time spoke very good English,
The pousada is clearly beyond walking distance from the center especially after climbing the very steep grades in town all day. But the distance is irrelelvant since they have a van to take you to town and bring you back until 11 PM Any restaurant or the tourist bureau will gladly call for you. Should you return after 11PM there are taxis lined up in the center who will bring you back for 15 Reals($7.50)

Room Tip: Ouro Preto Suite
See more room tips
Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank bbbbangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Hotel Pousada do Arcanjo, responded to this review, 31 January 2013
We appreciate your comments on our hotel. And our cortesy shuttle to main city plaza is really devised to make things easier for our guests.

We hope to be seeing you again in the future. Best regards!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA,Boston
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2013 via mobile

It is very far away from City Center. Average breakfast, i have seen much better. Rooms are very basic. We will give a 2 stars. Some comments sounds like it is from people with direct link to the premises. It is a very long walk from the Hotel to the center square in Ouro Preto. Merci.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexander B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Hotel Pousada do Arcanjo, responded to this review, 14 January 2013
The main city plaza is only 900m from the hotel on a flat route. A 20-minute walk or 5-minute drive. We also offer a free shuttle service throughout the day until 11 PM which is highly appreciated by guests who prefer not to walk. We look forward to hosting you again in the future. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level Contributor
100 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2013

What this hotel does on #1 at tripadvisor is a mystery to me. For a town as small as Ouro Preto, it is simply not acceptable that one cannot walk to the city centre. The location is remote in one of the outskirts of town (not necessarily lavish neighbourhood neither) and to get into the city centre, one needs to walk a long way up-down or take the complimentary shuttle service.

The hotel is furthermore quite basic. Rooms are simple (with extra charges for internet and the use of the safe in the room!), although the reception area is a bit nicer. Breakfast is again quite basic and uninspiring. The upsides of the hotel were the service and the complimentary afternoon tea.

In conclusion, Ouro Preto is a wonderful place to go, but please stay somewhere closer to the city centre.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank b12346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Hotel Pousada do Arcanjo, responded to this review, 14 January 2013
We thank you for the comments on your staying with us. And we regret that your experience with our location was not pleasant to you.

The hotel is only 900m from the main city plaza. Many feel this is a convenient location on a quiet street with local traffic only. A step out of the hustle of the main central streets which can be a bit noisy sometimes. A good night´s sleep guarantee. Using the right main route to the plaza at the entrance to town takes only a 20-minute walk or a 5-minute drive on a flat course.

The hotel neighborhood comprises small homes with local people. Which allows visitors to enhance their travel experience beyond the standard city attractions by getting a bit into the way of everyday life and environment of city residents. Many travellers value this opportunity in tourism experience nowadays. And we offer the exclusive complimentary shuttle service of Ouro Preto´s hotel industry.

Free use of in-room digital safe as well as wi-fi internet access both in room and in social areas are also hotel features. Internet usage is charged only at the business center area to discourage long-time use of hotel equipment that could impair other guests that might also need access to the web other than on their personal gadgets.

Our rooms offer amenities above average in the local industry, including access with magnetic card, automatic electric iron and ironing board, independent air conditioning and heating, international satellite TV channels, box-spring beds under international standards of comfort, variety of personal toiletries among others. The hotel also features a modern elevator allowing guests to avoid stairs which is also a rarity in the local hotel industry.

We thank you again for the comments and hope to have the opportunity of hosting you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2012

Located in a walking distance from the city center. We were welcomed by a night tea and very polite porters. The room was clean and simple in a nice way. The breakfast was OK bu a little bit below the usual Minas Gerais standard. In overall good value for the money and a place I could return to.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlfMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Hotel Pousada do Arcanjo, responded to this review, 26 December 2012
Thank you for your comments on our hotel. We hope to be hosting you again next time in Ouro Preto. Best regards!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ouro Preto hotels
Hotel Solar Do Rosario
#2 of 10 in Ouro Preto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
Grande Hotel de Ouro Preto
#4 of 10 in Ouro Preto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
Pousada Classica
#3 of 10 in Ouro Preto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Luxor Ouro Preto
#7 of 10 in Ouro Preto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
City Center
Pousada Casa Dos Contos
Pousada Casa Dos Contos
#5 of 10 in Ouro Preto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Pousada Do Mondego
#8 of 10 in Ouro Preto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pousada do Arcanjo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pousada do Arcanjo

Property: Hotel Pousada do Arcanjo
Address: Rua Sao Miguel Arcanjo, 270 - Entrada do Centro Historico | 900m From Main Plaza With Free Shuttle, Ouro Preto, State of Minas Gerais 35400-000, Brazil
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Minas Gerais > Ouro Preto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Ouro Preto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pousada do Arcanjo 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Pousada do Arcanjo, a surprising destination in Ouro Preto.You are greeted by a character as in the eighteenth century.At night, the flames of a torch as in Vila Rica of colonial times.Details that make the difference between a common place and a unique experience.A building specially designed with comfort and functionality - unmatched in the hospitality industry of brazilian historic towns -, in a style compatible with the UNESCO´s world heritage town.Arched doors and windows, extensive use of materials typical of colonial constructions: stone, wood and iron crafts, unique items made by artisans from the region.Built under 4-star standards, incorporating additional refinements only found in 5-star hotels.Air conditioning, TV with international channels, restaurant, scotch-bar, room service, wi-fi, elevator, internal and external accessibility, business center, concierge service, meeting room, valet parking, downtown shuttle.Management under principles of sustainability. Compliance with the Best Practices in Sustainable Tourism.Singular style, richness of details, welcoming environments, enhanced décor and historical theme.The atmosphere of Hotel Pousada do Arcanjo captures a mix of simplicity and elegance of the old colonial world and comfort and functionality of current times.A boutique-style hotel. Welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Pousada do Arcanjo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pousada Do Arcanjo Ouro Preto, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing