We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Pousada do Arcanjo
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Ouro Preto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2013

The hotel is a bit out of the way, but there is a shuttle from 9:00 am -11:00 pm to take guests back and fourth between Praça Tiradentes and the hotel. It is also very close to the bus station. Due to the location it is quiet. The breakfast is very fresh and in addition to many types of breads, fruits, meats and cheeses, there are also fresh juices and a couple of hot dishes. They also have a complimentary tea from 5-7 pm. The room is basic but the beds are comfortable and the frigo-bar is full with drinks and snacks to purchase. The staff is friendly and helpful with luggage and contacting taxis or arranging the struggle. Lovely common spaces and it's fun to see some of the staff dressed up in the period clothing.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucero65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Hotel Pousada do Arcanjo, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2013

Quietness is really one of our features most appreaciated by our guests. We are only 400m from the bus terminal and 900m from the main town plaza and offer the exclusive cortesy shuttle. Not to mention in-room amenities well beyond the local hotel industry, including air conditioning, heating, electronic safe, iron and ironing board, access with magnetic card, etc. We honor our history, which is the reason why the front desk staff wears clothes in 18th century style, honoring the patriots who dreamed with the independence of Brazil in colonial times. We thank you for your kind comments and hope to be hosting you again with the same friendliness.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (551)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

25 - 31 of 551 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2013

Very nice pousada, friendly and helpful staff! Decent breakfast. Clean and quiet rooms. It's close to the bus station, but there is a free shuttle service available from 9am to 11pm, which takes the guests to downtown, it is really convenient. Worthy price!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Camila S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Hotel Pousada do Arcanjo, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2013

We welcome your comments on our services and on our staff. We are only 400m from the bus terminal and 900m from the main town plaza. Our cortesy shuttle service really makes things convenient for our guests. Thanks again. We look forward to be hosting you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Very nice inn. I was in a regular room – lower floor – everything functional and nice, but not newly renovated (e.g. old style TV with TV5, CNN and many channels in Portuguese). Very good breakfast buffet. Cable and wifi in the room. Good tea/coffee with cookies and cakes in the late afternoon in a pleasant sitting area with several newspapers and magazines (all in Portuguese). The inn is located about a km outside of the center of town (the route is not real pleasant to walk), about 400 meters past the bus station. But they have a free shuttle service to the center of town and back, and the quiet when you sleep is real nice. Geraldo (from mid-afternoon to 11 PM) speaks excellent English and is especially helpful with advice; another guy in the morning also spoke English and seemed also real helpful. This is a good address if you don’t mind being out of the center of things and don’t mind waiting 10-15 minutes from time to time for the shuttle bus.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tom11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Hotel Pousada do Arcanjo, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2013

Thank you for your comments on our hotel. We do our best to provide a valuable experience to our guests through our services. The cortesy shuttle is one of them as well as the afternoon tea. We also appreciate your mentioning of the quietness of our location. Being a bit away from the main central streets (only 900m) is an advantage especially during festivals that are not uncommon in town. It is a guarantee of a good night´s sleep in old colonial Vila Rica. As for TVs, our investment plan is currently in progress, renovating the sets to state-of- the-art LED TVs. Our english-speaking people also thank you for your mentioning their assistance. Thank you very much! Hope to be seeing you!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013 via mobile

Excelent hotel, service, room. Internet free in the room. Transfer free to downtown. Good breakfast. Good location. There's no swimming pool or playground for kids. Elevator is avaliable. Good price. Beautiful city.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mauricio A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Hotel Pousada do Arcanjo, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2013

Thank you for your comments on our hotel. We do our best to provide a valuable experience to our guests. And our cortesy shuttle is one of our services that make things easier for the patrons. We hope to be of value to you again in the future. Best regards!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Fantastic hotel with a great view from the room which is clean, modern and comfortable. The staff are helpful,friendly and all in all it's just a fabulous experience. The main square with really cool places to hang out or dine is nearby and there is a free shuttle service as well.

Room Tip: higher floors have breathtaking views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WeekendTraveller305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Hotel Pousada do Arcanjo, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2013

Thank you for the comments on our hotel. We do our best to provide a valuable experience to our guests.

We are only 900m from the main city plaza but our cortesy shuttle service makes things easier for the patrons.

We hope to be seeing you again in the future. Best regards!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

This pousada would be an excellent choice. I stayed in the Ouro Preto suite which was wonderful-,It is on the 4th floor but there is a modern elevatot. Very spacious with a small balcony. The daily housekeeping service was excellent.
The staff was very accomodating and the man at reception most of the time spoke very good English,
The pousada is clearly beyond walking distance from the center especially after climbing the very steep grades in town all day. But the distance is irrelelvant since they have a van to take you to town and bring you back until 11 PM Any restaurant or the tourist bureau will gladly call for you. Should you return after 11PM there are taxis lined up in the center who will bring you back for 15 Reals($7.50)

Room Tip: Ouro Preto Suite
See more room tips
Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank bbbbangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Hotel Pousada do Arcanjo, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2013

We appreciate your comments on our hotel. And our cortesy shuttle to main city plaza is really devised to make things easier for our guests.

We hope to be seeing you again in the future. Best regards!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013 via mobile

It is very far away from City Center. Average breakfast, i have seen much better. Rooms are very basic. We will give a 2 stars. Some comments sounds like it is from people with direct link to the premises. It is a very long walk from the Hotel to the center square in Ouro Preto. Merci.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexander B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Hotel Pousada do Arcanjo, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2013

The main city plaza is only 900m from the hotel on a flat route. A 20-minute walk or 5-minute drive. We also offer a free shuttle service throughout the day until 11 PM which is highly appreciated by guests who prefer not to walk. We look forward to hosting you again in the future. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ouro Preto hotels
Hotel Solar Do Rosario
#2 of 10 in Ouro Preto
750 reviews
Grande Hotel de Ouro Preto
#4 of 10 in Ouro Preto
496 reviews
Hotel Luxor Ouro Preto
#7 of 10 in Ouro Preto
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Pousada Casa Dos Contos
Pousada Casa Dos Contos
#5 of 10 in Ouro Preto
240 reviews
Pousada Do Mondego
#6 of 10 in Ouro Preto
229 reviews
City Center
Hotel do Teatro
Hotel do Teatro
#8 of 10 in Ouro Preto
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pousada do Arcanjo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pousada do Arcanjo

Address: Rua Sao Miguel Arcanjo, 270 - Entrada do Centro Historico | 900m From Main Plaza With Free Shuttle, Ouro Preto, State of Minas Gerais 35400-000, Brazil
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Minas Gerais > Ouro Preto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Ouro Preto
Price Range: £73 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pousada do Arcanjo 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Pousada do Arcanjo, a surprising destination in Ouro Preto.You are greeted by a character as in the eighteenth century.At night, the flames of a torch as in Vila Rica of colonial times.Details that make the difference between a common place and a unique experience.A building specially designed with comfort and functionality - unmatched in the hospitality industry of brazilian historic towns -, in a style compatible with the UNESCO´s world heritage town.Arched doors and windows, extensive use of materials typical of colonial constructions: stone, wood and iron crafts, unique items made by artisans from the region.Built under 4-star standards, incorporating additional refinements only found in 5-star hotels.Air conditioning, TV with international channels, restaurant, scotch-bar, room service, wi-fi, elevator, internal and external accessibility, business center, concierge service, meeting room, valet parking, downtown shuttle.Management under principles of sustainability. Compliance with the Best Practices in Sustainable Tourism.Singular style, richness of details, welcoming environments, enhanced décor and historical theme.The atmosphere of Hotel Pousada do Arcanjo captures a mix of simplicity and elegance of the old colonial world and comfort and functionality of current times.A boutique-style hotel. Welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Pousada do Arcanjo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pousada Do Arcanjo Ouro Preto, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing