We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic and charming, with friendly and helpfull staff speaking English and French”
Review of Pouso do Chico Rei

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pouso do Chico Rei
Ranked #27 of 87 Ouro Preto B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Authentic and charming, with friendly and helpfull staff speaking English and French”
Reviewed 18 November 2012 via mobile

Very authentic and charming historic town house with nice view in a superb downtown location, friendly and helpful staff speaking English and French, a nice cosy living room and an excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martinkohler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    63
    13
    7
    5
See reviews for
49
70
19
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012

We stayed four nights in room 5 of this historic building. Our en-suite room had an extra single bed which we were glad of since the double bed was very small. Both beds made up with crisp white linnens were very comfortable. The shower was adequate.

The WiFi worked well and the breakfasts delicious.

One thing to bare in mind when considering whether to stay here is that it's an old building. Our room had an interconnecting door to another room so with regard to noise, we may as well have been in the same room. For us this wasn't a problem as we had very good ear-plugs.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Johnny_and_Marcus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2012

Our stay at Pouso do Chico Rei lived definitely up to our expectations. Our room was nice and quiet with a stylish bathroom and leading to an outdoors patio, with a picturesque view of Ouro Preto right under our eyes! Breakfast is very good. The owners are welcoming and offer good advice (they speak very good English and French). Plus, the location is perfect, right in the center of all the sights to see!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveloliv D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012 via mobile

A truly great experience at the inn and in the town. Be prepared for a lot of steep climbs on cobblestone streets. We are age 70ish and had a wonderful time. Thankfully, we have no mobility issues. The B&B is comfortable, clean, and oh so picturesque. If only the museums and churches would allow no-flash photography! There is so much history and richness in the town that it is hard to describe without pictures. This inn deserves its #1 rating. Very good breakfast among other assets.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belo Horizonte, MG
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Everything is perfect in this place. Location, ambience, infrastructure, service and the delicious breakfast with traditional food from Minas. The colonial style building is very ancient but well conserved and very comfortable. It is located half a block from the main square, in front of a historical church and just a few steps from the main tourist sites and restaurants. The service is really good! Staff is very friendly, attentive and helpful. Our room (Jorge Amado) was very spacious and bright. There is free WiFi and 110v and 220v outlets in the room. Be sure to save enough time for breakfast. There are many options of traditional breads, cakes, jellies, cheeses and dulce de leche. Make sure you'll try them all!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ParadiseDiscoverer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

We spent 5 nights at the pousada (two different rooms). As others have mentioned, great views, art, nice older building, and centrally located. The breakfast is DIVINE (home made coalhada/yogurt and jams, etc.). Table cloths and such are hand made in the northeast of Brazil. The staff is very professional and attentive. The place could use a fresh coat of paint in some areas, and guests who stay in rooms without a private bathroom (#1, 2 & 4 upstairs), have to share one small bathroom. The owners are very gracious and Maria Elena is on the ball. By the way, if you need transportation to Tiradentes (also worth a visit) or any of the other small towns in the area, ask the folks in the pousada to get you in touch with Renilton. He is a great driver, and has new (safe) cars. We travel the world; this place is a find :) There is more than meets the eye in Ouro Preto; 2 days is definitely NOT enough. Cheers!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cre8Pinot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

My husband and I stayed at Pouso do Chico Rey for our two-day trip to Ouro Preto from Rio. We absolutely loved this quaint little inn! The building itself is so charming and historic, and our room (Burle Marx, I think #3) was very comfortable. The views from the little writing area were unbelievable. One of my favourite memories of our time in Brazil is waking up to see the churches and colonial houses out those windows. The location of the inn is unbeatable, just steps off the Placa Tiradentes and one block over from a major shopping and dining street. We explored the entire city of Ouro Preto on foot from there. The breakfast was extensive and the staff was very friendly, although we don't speak any Portuguese and they spoke only a little English -- but that was all part of the experience. :)

My one caution is that the inn was difficult for us to find when we first arrived in Ouro Preto by car. That was probably mostly because our GPS had trouble with all the one-way streets and winding alleys that make up the central part of Ouro Preto, but still, it was a bit frustrating. Fortunately everyone we met was extremely friendly and helpful, and one gentlemen even lead us to the inn on foot, with us following behind in our car, even though it was almost two blocks away, and he didn't expect anything in return!

I highly recommend staying here if you are headed to Ouro Preto, and I highly recommend spending two or three days (or longer) in Ouro Preto if you are heading to Brazil. Feel free to e-mail me if you'd like more information about driving to Ouro Preto or our stay there. :)

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cmbrood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ouro Preto hotels
Pousada Do Mondego
#6 of 10 in Ouro Preto
207 reviews
Pousada Classica
#3 of 10 in Ouro Preto
470 reviews
Pousada Mezanino
#29 of 87 in Ouro Preto
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Pousada Solar da Opera
Pousada Solar da Opera
#4 of 87 in Ouro Preto
193 reviews
Pousada dos Meninos
#1 of 87 in Ouro Preto
350 reviews
City Center
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#18 of 87 in Ouro Preto
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pouso do Chico Rei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pouso do Chico Rei

Property: Pouso do Chico Rei
Address: Rua Brigadeiro Musqueira 90, Ouro Preto, State of Minas Gerais 35400-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Minas Gerais > Ouro Preto > City Center
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 87 B&Bs / Inns in Ouro Preto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Pouso do Chico Rei 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Historic Inn located within the most architecturally significant baroque city in the world, identified as a World Heritage Site, designated by UNESCO. THE CHICO REY INN offers 6 APARTMENTS with PRIVATE BATHROOMS (with electric shower), WI-FI (in rooms # 2, 3, 6, 7 and # 8), CABLE TV (in # 8 and # 9), MINI BAR, SAFE and another 3 ROOMS with a SHARED BATHROOM, located next to each other. For our guests’ convenience, we provide bathrobes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pouso do Chico Rei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pouso Do Chico Rei Ouro Preto, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing