We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice biulding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Portas da Amazonia
Ranked #10 of 33 Belem B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This a place you can stay with out a problem, it is well located and you can walk to the market and the cathedral is right there, just don't try to find something to eat on monday, you won't find anything, not even in the Hotel, the room was really nice and with a lot of space, the common areas are really nice, the staff could be more welcoming. I really loved the place.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gavi_garpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (131)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Portas da Amazonia
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8 - 14 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2014

The location of this hotel is perfect for seeing the sights of Belem, it´s right in the middle of the historical part of town and located on a pretty square with a museum and cathedral.
The breakfast actually surprised with how comprehensive it was, it had everything from scrambled eggs to fruit or bread rolls with cheeses and ham.
There are only nine rooms and they all vary greatly, if you can, reserve rooms number 1 or 2. These rooms are pretty spacious and clasically decorated, the both face the square also (just be advised that the cathedral bells are pretty loud and love to ring every 15 minutes!). The bed was super comfortable, the hot shower was really nice and the mini bar was very reasonobly priced.
The only real downside to our stay was the staff - they knew absolutely nothing about the city and couldn´t advise us on anything from restaurants to things to do - we had to figure it all out ourselves (though luckily the hotel does offer pretty speedy free WiFi). The receptionist staff were also really unformal (just wore their own casual jeans and tshirts) and seemed a little too laid back for my liking.

Pros:
Great location (most places are walkable)
Rooms had such beautiful character
Breakfast definitely set you up for the day
Super price
Fast free WiFi
Onsite pizzaria
Gay Friendly!

Cons:
Staff were pleasant but should be knowledgable of Belem
TV has very few channels

Room Tip: Choose rooms 1 or 2 for the premium rooms at the front, or choose room number 9 at the back which is...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jody L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

The hotel is really well located, near many touristic spots, but this is the only good thing about the place.
We stayed 2 nights @ room #8 and it was simply horrible - the worst bed in my whole life, weak shower, very poorly decorated room (I am definitely not looking for design, but one could do better than putting a scrap of wallpaper to cover an electricity board and one could definitely renew the painting from time to time...) and completely unregulated air conditioner (it would either work at minimum temperature or not work at all).
During the second night, the air conditioner decided not to switch off (and when it did, it decided not to switch back on) - because of that, they moved us to room #2, which was more expensive (they didn't charge us more, as courtesy) and better decorated than the other, but the bed was EVEN worse!
Breakfast is merely ok and the staff didn't even offer to help us move our luggage from one bedroom to the other, even though we were moving because of a problem at the room

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fiqueda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

This very old hotel, next to the cathedral right in the centre of Belem, has a few very nice rooms. Ask for a room with a view of the square, newly designed with the shining old floor of Amazonian woods. Good beds, spacey bathroom. Yes you will hear the noise of the square in the morning, but that's not worse than the bell tower of the cathedral. Very nice and helpful staff. Good breakfast, you can tell from the tastes there is real cook behind it.
The in-house Italian restaurant was very good, a bit expensive to Brazilian standards. Very few alternatives around the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms 3 and 4 have no windows. If you can't get into no. 1 or 2, ask foor a room in the courtyar...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

This is a gem of a Pousado located in the oldest part of Belem. I stayed for three nights and woud return and stay again should I return to Belem. Alexandro, one of the owners, organized a week long journey for our group that was incredible and that we could not have accomplished without his help. I highly recommend this Pousada

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HarrisonPettit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We stayed here for 1 night and loved the renovated but classic rooms with big flatscreen televisions. The hotel is located in a beautiful colonial building near a Cathedral. You can hear the Cathedral bells quite well, so I would advise to bring some earplugs. The square in front is safe at night and there is a Italian restaurant you can eat on the square, wandering further at night was not advised. The staff is friendly but doesn't speak a word of English, Google Translate is a real help. If you only have a little time in Belem I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Willem85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 days ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Eles indicam os quartos da frente que dão vista para a catedral. MInha opinião: deixa a desejar como...
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paulo Eduardo M... D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belem hotels
3.1 mi away
Beira Rio Hotel
Beira Rio Hotel
#11 of 35 in Belem
335 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ibis Budget Belem
Ibis Budget Belem
#12 of 35 in Belem
1,065 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tulip Inn Belem Batista Campos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Atrium Quinta de Pedras
1.3 mi away
Belem Soft Hotel
Belem Soft Hotel
#9 of 35 in Belem
419 reviews
1.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel Maiorana Belem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Portas da Amazonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Portas da Amazonia

Address: Rua Doutor Malcher 15 | em frente a Catedral da Se, Belem, State of Para 66020-250, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Para > Belem
Amenities:
Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Belem
Price Range: £25 - £48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Portas da Amazonia 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Portas da Amazonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Portas Da Amazonia Belem, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing