We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“disappointed” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quality Inn Ashland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Quality Inn Ashland
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Ashland
Janesville
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

We had a two night stay and feel cheated. We love the Ashland area and were there for business and a family wedding. It was so hot but really looked forward to coming to hotel after a long day to relax in hot tub which was broken... no action as to getting it fixed. the indoor pool was very cold also so did use that after about 10 min of being in the pool. When I asked the manager about the issues he made lot of excuses about it was a holiday weekend/ no one could come to fix it, they just spent 900.00 to replace the pools heater and it is kept at 86 degrees. Are you kidding me? !! No apology, offer to upgrade..nothing. Lousy customer service! Our room smelled musty and refrig was barely cool. Very disappointed and will not stay there again..mostly because of the management.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deanna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    44
    32
    31
    12
See reviews for
46
64
4
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oak Creek, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

I am a travel agent who purposely booked a room overlooking lake Superior with a balcony on the 4th of July for a nice vacation. What I received was anything but....

The room we received, opened up to the pool and broken hot tub, where on the other side of the pool area, through the floor to ceiling windows, you could see glimpses of the lake.

When I went back down to inquire about the wrong room, I was told someone else had an issue with their room, so they gave them my room instead. To rectify the situation, the front desk clerk said she would give me the "corporate rate" (which I had already booked and paid for using the business credit card), changing my room rate from $119.99/night to $69.99/night.... the same $69.99 rate that I originally BOOKED and had on my itinerary. I showed that to the front desk clerk, and was told there was nothing more they could do for me.

The evening desk clerk even mentioned how the hot tub has been broken for more than a week, and no one bothers to fix it, but the next morning, the morning desk clerk tried to say that it just happened the day before we arrived, and they hadn't had a chance to fix it yet. Hmmmmm.... may want to get your stories straight for your guests.

While standing at the front desk that night and the next morning, I spoke with three separate guests who said they booked their reservations on "www.hotels.com", and had the same problem with their room rates and needed to have the front desk adjust their rates as well. I told them to book with a travel agent the next time they need a hotel room.

I wrote to the GM about my issues, but as of yet, have not heard back from him, even though I know he has been in the office since then.

The rooms were old, run down, outdated furniture and tv, and damp. The room smelled like must and could tell it was in need of an upgrade.

The only bright spot to the entire stay, was the restaurant across the parking lot. The food was good, and the service was EXCELLENT! If only the Ashland Lake Superior Lodge took notice of how to treat guests.

Room Tip: If you request a "lake view" room, be prepared for overgrown weeds and trees to block your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mike E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reedsburg, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

We stayed at the lodge to relax and sight see around Bayfield, etc. We loved the balcony and lake view, the café was very nice and the restaurant right next door was very good. The facility could use an update but overall, we felt it was a great value and would definitely stay there again

Room Tip: request a lake view room for nice view and balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gramding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freeport, IL
Level Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

When returning on the ferry from Madeline Island, my husband and I both received voice messages from a number we did not know. It turned out to be from the hotel we were staying at. So when I talked to the lady who had called, I was totally shocked to find out that they had our belongings at the front desk. When we had checked in the night before, a lady was kind enough to change our 2nd night of stay to the same hotel room we were staying in the first night, but that ended up evidently not getting documented right or miscommunication one. Anyway, by the time I was able to call her back, since I did not have phone reception on the island, the situation had been solved, and our belongings had been placed back into the room we were staying in.

So all in all, it is a very nice hotel. We had a balcony with lake view, but were not in the room long enough to really enjoy it as we were out sightseeing.

The hotel is a little ways from the town of Ashland on the lake and if I were to stay in Ashland again, I would stay in one of the hotels right on the lake where the main part of town is.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VondaV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

We loved location but thought the rooms would be more updated. The shower was broken. The tv was an old as well as the decor. It was overpriced. There r other hotels in the area for much less per night and updated accomodations.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luckypamela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fulton, MI, USA
Level Contributor
74 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

Started with the price and kept going downhill. Looked at their site on line and price was $114.99. Got to the hotel and it was $129.99, their answer, "Manager must not have updated web site". Looked at a room seemed OK so booked as it is next to our favorite restaurant in Ashland. Reading the reviews it sounds like some rooms have been upgraded, not ours, TV was old and picture fuzzy, stains on rug, and obvious they were trying to mask some odor, dehumidifier running in room. Internet really needs upgrading, only have wireless in the lobby and ethernet cord available for the room, which does not work with tablets. And there are not enough outlets in the room to charge stuff. Bedding was clean, mattress mushy. We were poolside on second floor and room was too warm even with small window open & fan going. Staff cordial but hard to find sometimes, like when I went to check out. And no complimentary breakfast really takes it off our list when comparing to others in the area. Looks nice from the outside and has a lot of potential but unless they do something major will not stay again and we are through here twice a year.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Helen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eagle River
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

It is hard to do a bad review because my favorite place is Ashland Wi but this place was so bad I just have to. The room was extremely grungy,The grounds was really a mess Dandelions and needed mowing. We had no view of the lake. Only way to see it was to stand and lean way out the window or face the bugs in the yard. When I told them I was upset by the smell and condition of the room the girl said oh so sorry. We planned to stay 4 nights but only could stand the mildew smell for 2. Obviously we will not be back to this hotel ever.

Room Tip: there isn't one
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LiaTerrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashland
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Hotel Chequamegon
4.7 mi away
AmericInn Ashland
AmericInn Ashland
#3 of 9 in Ashland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
1.7 mi away
Super 8 Ashland
Super 8 Ashland
#4 of 9 in Ashland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
The Inn at Washburn
The Inn at Washburn
#2 of 2 in Washburn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
16.5 mi away
Old Rittenhouse Inn
Old Rittenhouse Inn
#1 of 15 in Bayfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
16.3 mi away
Lucy's Place Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Ashland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Ashland

Property: Quality Inn Ashland
Address: 30600 US Highway 2, Box 24, Ashland, WI 54806 (Formerly Ashland Lake Superior Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Ashland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Inn Ashland 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ashland Lake Superior Lodge is nestled in the beautiful northwoods of Wisconsin where you will find one of the most scenic, relaxing, year round vacation pleasures in Apostle Island Country. The lodge was completely rebuilt and newly refurnished in 2006. Experience our distinctive accommodations, new facilities, and excellent food. This is snow country in the winter for skiers, snowmobilers and other winter sport enthusiasts. In the summer enjoy boating, fishing, the Apostle Islands, golfing, tennis and other summer activities. The Ashland Lake Superior Lodge is located on US Highway 2, one mile west of Ashland, Wisconsin, The Lake Superior shoreline is only 100 feet from many of our guest rooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels and Hotels.com so you can book your Quality Inn Ashland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Superior Hotel Ashland
Best Western Ashland
Ashland Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing