We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saved a family trip!”
Review of AmericInn Ashland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
AmericInn Ashland
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Ashland
Brainerd, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Saved a family trip!”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We had stayed at this hotel for one night in 2011, and wanted to come back when we had more time. Even then we all enjoyed the staff, the breakfast, and in general a resort like atmosphere. We were able to come back in July and stayed there for 3 days during which time Mom got sick, sick enough to go to urgent care! It normally would be cruel and unusual punishment to leave one parent alone in a hotel room with four children under age 8, but not here. Dad was able to entertain the kids even though it was too cool to swim outside in Lake Superior with the awesome yard games like giant Jenga, giant ladderball, croquet, bean bag toss, etc. The following day Mom was still not feeling up to tackling the activities like hiking so we enjoyed a wonderful day of relaxing around the hotel complete with waterpark time, grilling lunch on the grill provided by the hotel, and beach time. We capped the day off with s'mores after a quick supper out and made awesome family memories of time spent together. We didn't even get to use their paddleboats or fishing equipment-a good reason to have to go back again!

Room Tip: Pay more for the lakeside rooms, there is a great little patio that's great for a little sunset...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doreen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at AmericInn Ashland, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear Doreen H,

Thank you for coming back to stay with us and for taking the time to share your family's recent experience here. First of all, we are very glad that your mother is feeling better. Being able to spend "quality" family time together can be difficult under the best of circumstances,and we're glad you all were able to relax and enjoy each other and create fond memories to be cherished, while you were here. We're looking forward to welcoming you back and serving you again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    334
    139
    61
    32
    20
See reviews for
316
135
18
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
1 review
Reviewed 18 July 2014

I was only there for business and did not get to use the awesome looking SplAshland pool, but my view of hte lake was amazing and continental breakfast was tasty. I would definitely go back and recommend this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Helpful?
Thank Kari,Mrs C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at AmericInn Ashland, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear Kari, Mrs. C,

Thanks for choosing our hotel during your recent business trip to Ashland, and for posting your great comments. I'm glad you enjoyed the view and breakfast, and hope you will be able to return and have more time to relax and take in more of our area. We value your business and appreciate your recommendation. We look forward to serving you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holmen, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel and would stay again. Besides the pool area having more than the average hotel, the outdoor amenities included several lawn games, a patio, a beach area with chairs and tubes to use, a dock with fishing poles and bait to use, grills, a firepit with nightly s'mores provided, and even sunscreen and bug spray provided. Everything was neat and in good repair. It was nice to spend some time relaxing on the patio in the evening and the kids had plenty to entertain themselves with.
The breakfasts were also good and items were kept in stock. Our room was clean and everything was in working order. I would say that it could use some updating as far as the bathroom tile and grout showing wear, but it wasn't a cleanliness issue. We also were not able to keep a connection to the Wifi, we kept getting kicked off, but didn't really pursue the issue either. Overall we were really happy with our stay here and felt like it was a good value.

Room Tip: With the lovely yard out back available to everyone, you may not feel the need to pay extra for a la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JS2940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at AmericInn Ashland, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear JS2940,

Thank you for posting your nice review about your recent stay with us. I'm sorry about the internet connectivity issues you had and apologize for the frustration and inconvenience you experienced. I'll make sure our IT team looks into this and makes any necessary repairs. I'm glad you were happy with other aspects of your stay and appreciate you including those comments in your review, too. I hope you will be our guest again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We were warmly greeted upon check-in, given our wristbands for the indoor water slides and pools, and offered a complimentary beverage. I have to nit pick a bit and say the room could have been cleaner - dust on the window grills, bathroom floor could have used a little more elbow grease, peeling wallpaper above the shower surround - but the bed was very comfortable and the linens were fresh. The "backyard" was delightful - don't miss it! Beautiful view of Lake Superior, a small swimming beach, campfire, grill, nice seating, and lots of lawn games, not to mention S'mores!

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skorch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at AmericInn Ashland, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Skorch,

Thank you for staying with us and posting your detailed review. I'm sorry about the peeling paper in the bathroom, and that our housekeeping team didn't do a better job in your room and offer my apologies for any discomfort or inconvenience you experienced. If you would contact me at kenjacobs@zmchotels.com with your room number, I'll be sure to get the paper taken care of immediately. I'll use your review in discussions and training with our housekeepers to improve our operation. I'm glad you were happy with other aspects of your stay and appreciate you including those comments in your review, too. I hope we can serve you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

This hotel has so many amazing ananities. Free s'mores by a fire, tons of outdoor games, fishing poles and worms, paddle boats. The property is beautiful. Breakfast was great. We loved our room. The bathroom was adequate. The paper around the top of the shower from water was yellow and peeling up but other than that it was good. Bed was comfortable and the room was so quiet. We never heard anyone. Would come back in a second to this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Helpful?
Thank Jhall2202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at AmericInn Ashland, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Jhall2202,

Thanks for posting your great comments about our hotel. It's always nice to receive positive guest feedback and we really appreciate your kind words. I'm sorry about the paper in the shower and will address that if you will let us know which room number you were in by contacting me at kenjacobs@zmchotels.com. We use valuable and timely feedback from our guests to make improvements to our operation. I hope we can serve you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashland, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

ARRIVED WITHOUT RESERVATION OVER jULY 4TH. i am in a wheelchair and we had a puppy with us. We were given a room on the end for ease of taking puppy out. By the way, only a $25 deposit for the puppy. We will be back

Room Tip: for a few $more you can get a lakeside room and/or one with a lakeside balcony. View would be worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at AmericInn Ashland, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear John L,

Thanks for choosing our hotel and for taking the time to write and post your nice review. I'm glad we were able to accommodate you, and that you were happy with the service and accommodations we provide. We really appreciate your business and your feedback and look forward to serving you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waconia
1 review
Reviewed 14 July 2014

What a great place to bring your family in the summer. Great outdoor facilities. They put out all the makings for S'mores each evening and you make your own over the fire pit. Provide fishing poles and worms too. You can't get closer to the lake and the atmosphere is welcome and relaxing.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Helpful?
Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at AmericInn Ashland, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Jim L,

Thanks for posting your great review about your recent stay with us. I'm glad you were able to relax and enjoy yourself here and hope you will bring your family back so we can serve you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashland
2.3 mi away
Best Western The Hotel Chequamegon
4.6 mi away
Quality Inn Ashland
Quality Inn Ashland
#5 of 9 in Ashland
165 reviews
3.3 mi away
Super 8 Ashland
Super 8 Ashland
#4 of 9 in Ashland
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
The Inn at Washburn
The Inn at Washburn
#2 of 2 in Washburn
56 reviews
14.0 mi away
Old Rittenhouse Inn
Old Rittenhouse Inn
#1 of 15 in Bayfield
435 reviews
13.8 mi away
Lucy's Place Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AmericInn Ashland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Ashland

Property: AmericInn Ashland
Address: 3009 Lake Shore Dr E, Ashland, WI 54806-2520
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Ashland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — AmericInn Ashland 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AmericInn of Ashland, Wisconsin, is more than just it's great location (a spectacular setting and great views). From the moment you walk into the AmericInn's warm and homey lobby, you'll know why it's a VacationLand favorite. Everything is right for a memorable stay: surprising luxury, comfort and quality, plus a friendly, helpful staff who, like friends, look forward to welcoming you back time after time. Come enjoy a Superior vacation with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your AmericInn Ashland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americinn Ashland Hotel Ashland
Americinn Hotel Ashland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing