We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Standard but good !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hostel Roma Curitiba
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
63 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Standard but good !”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

The hostel is quite well located (near from a big mall and 10min by walk to the terminal bus station) and has all accommodations that an hostel can offer. Double rooms are really value for money : nice, clean, large and comfortable. Staff member are nice and the breakfast is good. When we did the check-in, they had a little problem with the electricity but it was fixed very quickly. Don't except something very fancy or charming but it's a nice place for a few nights.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThomasFNLO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hostel R, Gerente de relações com clientes at Hostel Roma Curitiba, responded to this review, 24 September 2014
Google Translation
Prezado Thomas,

Agradecemos por sua gentileza em compartilhar conosco sua experiência a respeito da recente estada em nosso Hostel.
Ficamos a sua disposição para uma próxima visita.
Att,
Equipe Hostel Roma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    172
    78
    13
    5
See reviews for
33
39
134
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

The rooms were fine and clean, especially the bathroom, but the service wasn't great, no information and not very friendly, and there were no social spaces really, it was a bit of a strange hostel compared to others we have stayed in. Very good location although there is not that much to do in Curitiba.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Very organised. Very very clean. Big, so lots of sleeping option, private to dorm. Across the road is. Big mall, dozens of eateries, cinema. Bus station 5 minutes walk. Great location. I would give five stars, but the woman on the front desk wasn't very friendly - when I asked her for th wifi password she looked tame with fatigue - maybe just a bad day. Good breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidzD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belo Horizonte, MG
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2013

I stayed there for two nights and it was okay. I mean, nothing really bad happened. The 6-person dorms were not too good, but not too bad either. At least, they were clean and organized. Lockers were big and so was the restroom. I did like the location which in the begining I thought it was quite dangerous. But then I realized it depends on where you come from. It is very close to the bus terminal, to a hop-on-hop-off bus stop, to a good mall and very close to downtown.
My biggest complain though was the fact that they wouldn't accept credit and/or debit card. That was shame if you consider that many backpackers don't usually carry lots of money on their wallets or are willing to look for an ATM when they get sometimes late and tired to the hostel.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jhonnysimoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2012

Location is good. Rooms are old but fairly clean. Interior old and broken. Service is bad. No information, no smile. Not even a hello or goodbye. Not to far from the main bus station. Expensive for what you get. Not recommended at all.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Teun L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
77 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 307 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

You take the airport bus to the very last stop (the mall with the big sign that says Shopping Estacao), walk into that mall entrance, take a right to exit toward the train exhibit/museum, you see the street with black tubes where people wait for the bus, cross the street toward the park, and the hostel is right there on the corner of the park closest to where you got off the airport bus.
Before arriving, I read reviews here about unfriendly staff members. The six different front desk employees I met were quite kind & helpful. Even the cleaning staff and the woman in charge of breakfast seem to be happy, friendly people who greet you rather positively.
The room was made up each of the 3 days I stayed there. Sheets & blankets were folded, bathroom was tidied up, etc.
My single room had a twin bed next to the wall and also a set of twin bunk beds. There wasn’t a towel in the room--although as it states behind the front desk, you can pay 4 reais to borrow one.
I’m not freaking out about two mosquito bites I got while there even though it was in the cold, rainy season. My only complaint would be that the towel didn’t dry since the air was always moist. I probably could’ve paid again to rent a dry one if I had really wanted to.
When I return to Curitiba, I’ll look into staying here again. The location is great. The mall has plenty of good eating places (not just fast food) and you can catch/exit the sightseeing tourist bus right there in front of the train museum. They can't make it any easier!

Room Tip: If you need one, rent a towel upon check-in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank funnychap24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
103 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

Location is one of the main assets of this hostel. It is close to the bus and train terminals, shopping center, and the city center. The hostel’s entrance is facing a nice park. Everything can be reached on foot. The shopping center has a large food core.
The hostel is located in an old building. It is quite large, certainly much larger than it appears from the street. The upper floors are older but well maintained and clean. My private room was on top floor facing the park and the main street. It was quiet just like the rest of the hostel. It was quite rustic but clean. The bed was comfortable. Linen was clean and in good condition. I arrived in low season and in the winter. It was very cold and I needed two blankets to keep me warm at night. There was no heat. The room had two single beds, night stand, armoire, and small table with chair. There were two windows opening onto a city square. There was one shared shower room with WC and two sinks outside this shower room. The floor had four rooms. It was clean and it had hot water (electric water heater).
There was a large dining room where the breakfast was served. TV room lounge on the second and first floor. The kitchen I found very small for the size of the hostel. It was not well equipped either. It would be a challenge to use it in high season. There was a large courtyard with parking and more rooms or suited opening onto it.
The Wi-Fi was OK and only available in the first and second floor lounges. Breakfast was exceptionally nice with a variety of choices. It was certainly well above the average of a “hostel breakfast”. Both were included in the room rate. This hostel is more like a hotel and not very good place to meet other travelers.
I only had experience with two staff members and both were very nice hospitable and helpful. Overall this was an older and very basic hostel at very good value. I would recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank povetron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Curitiba hotels
City Center
Ibis Budget Curitiba Centro
Master Express Curitiba
#45 of 103 in Curitiba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Curitiba Hostel
#3 of 108 in Curitiba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
Curitiba Casa Hostel
#1 of 108 in Curitiba
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Roma Curitiba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Roma Curitiba

Property: Hostel Roma Curitiba
Address: Rua Barao do Rio Branco 805, Curitiba, State of Parana 80010-902, Brazil
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Parana > Curitiba
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 108 Speciality Lodging in Curitiba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Hostel Roma Curitiba 1.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first hotel in Curitiba is today the most cozy Hostel in the city. Set in an elegant, restored building of the last century. Strategically located in central Curitiba, Hostel Roma is next to "Shopping Estação" mall, near the UTFPR campus and main city attractions. There is also easily accessible transportation to go around the city and to Afonso Pena Airport in São José dos Pinhais. Hostel Roma is the only hostel accredited by the Hostelling International network for more than 12 years in Curitiba, ensuring quality to its guests. It is ideal for those seeking savings combined with comfort, tranquility and the convenience of being close to central Curitiba. Perfect for those coming to town for business or pleasure. Hostel Roma offers its guests a delicious breakfast included in the rate, private parking, free Wi-Fi, 24-hour reception desk, tourist information and assistance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Hostel Roma Curitiba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Roma Curitiba Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing