We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but that's it”
Review of Hotel Lancaster

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Lancaster
Ranked #13 of 104 Hotels in Curitiba
Certificate of Excellence
Khabarovsk
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good, but that's it”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

The title of this hotel has nothing in common with the hotel itself:) not 4 star for sure! in fact small inn somewhere in Curitiba - the stuff doesn't speak Eng enough to be understood, the rooms were clean, but really tiny! and the window view - oh my - don't touch the curtains at all:)
the air con was too noisy - so we just didn't use it!
but what we liked was the breakfast, despite the fact we didn't drink champagne :()

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    308
    76
    15
    11
See reviews for
220
168
29
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
belem 1028
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

I ended up staying only one nigh, instead of the planned three, due to disappointment with the property. Disappointment mainly due to felling that the hotel does not deliver on what they charge.
The hotel is located in the heart of downtown and during the day has a lot movement but at night is more abandoned and seedier. It has no parking space and there is hefty surcharge for parking at offsite location.
The lobby is very nicely outfitted in classical wooded style and pleasant. There is also a dinning room where breakfast served. Breakfast buffet was average in quality and quantity of available choices. Did not get a chance to try the restaurant, did notice that restaurant's 'daily' specials posted in the elevator remained the same over the days.
It is a pitty that the rooms aren't up to par with the rest of the lobby. While nice sized and comfortable bed, rooms come with mildewy carpets, so-so AC and poor sound proofing. Bathroom had a tub, but very difficult to adjust water temperature (possibly fluctuating pressure in the hot water). Stayed at a room at one end of the building and wifi reception was average to poor, with signal frequently dropping. Front desk said there was nothing they could do on the issue since internet service was supplied through third parties.
Made reservation for a pricier 'premium' room only to find out at check in that a 'premium room' is just a normal room with two double beds, no other differences. Also, when I inquired if it was normal hotel policy to pre-charge for the full stay, instead of blocking the amount on a credit card or charging at check-out, the reply was "that it was a common practice in Europe and USA" (maybe the hotel should relocate to Europe). The issue was more galling for my reservation had been made via booking.com and my credit card info already been used to secure the reservation.
One final issue, for the more safety conscious: this is an older property and apparently never retrofitted; the stairwell is of an older, open design, with no separation from the floor hallways. Definitely a safety risk in the event of a fire.
I would not recommend this hotel to my friends.

Room Tip: At the rate charged, there are probably better options in the city. Stay away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wpgesser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coulsdon UK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

I really wanted to rate this 5 stars, on the face of it the room was spotless and comfortable, with a great breakfast in a similarly clean, pleasant dining room. The staff were pleasant too, according to my wife who is Brazilian.

On the second day of a 5 day stay we were the only people having breakfast quite late, when a rat ran into the dining room via the swing door to the kitchen. It was chased back into the kitchen by the staff and I was advised the problem was resolved. Apparently every week the council clear the drains near the kitchen and a pipe cover was left off, with the rat entering via the back door when nobody was looking.

On day 4 of our 5 day stay we found broken glass between the two beds which fortunately we didn't tread on. These were large pieces not shards and it was clearly careless for the room maid to overlook this.

As we were travelling with my elderly mother-in-law it was impractical to move hotels. So, we have a situation with 2 potential one-off incidents but serious enough for me to unfortunately grade this hotel as poor. I say it is a shame as everything else was great and consistent with other positive reviews.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
10 Thank GaryCoulsdonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

This was a nice surprise from all the big chain hotels I usually stay in.

We arrived early and they had a room available, even though it was way before check-in time.
The room was a bit noisy during work hours, but I suspect it was because of its very central location and open stores outside.

It was the friendliest staff I found in Brazil so far. Breakfast was good. Lobby bar and food was good. Cleaning was great.

Room Tip: Ask for a room far from the main street for less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daniegge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013

Along with the Hosteria in Colon and the Corrientes Plaza, the Lancaster was up there as a trip favourite.
Excellent climate, especially coming from the heat and humidity of Foz and just right for acclimatising us for a return to chilly UK.
Excellent value for money; great location (just a block from the peatonal); a smallish but adequate room; really cool bathroom; tremendous breakfast (also with that funny milk!!); and, once again, staff who couldn't do enough for you.
For morning coffee, amble up to the peatonal to a small resto/bar on the right. You might get lucky and get drawn into the conversations/arguments with the guys around you.
For afternoon 'tea' try the Lancasters pastelleria - they will direct you and you will get a guest discount.
For an evening beer, try either the Lebanese place or Bar Stuart up on Praca Osorio.
To get a really good feel for the city, do get the Tourist Bus up on Tiradentes. It's pricey - but worth it.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bluebottle47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2012

When you first see this hotel from the outside you'll think "what have I got myself into?".
When you get inside it's a different story. The service is fantastic and the front desk staff speak English and are very helpful. The decor and bathrooms have been recently updated and everything worked as it should.

The location is a very central but still a few blocks away from the really nice area around the shopping center. There's an area to park your car for a brief moment and hotel staff will park your car for you. No frills hotel that I wouldn't hesitate to book a room in the future. You can't beat the price.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shinrai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

I have stayed at the Lancaster in Rio several times. Although it's a little rough around the edges, I've tolerated it because it's not too expensive and the balcony looks over Copocabana Beach.

I was very pleasantly surprised by the Curitiba Lancaster. It literally glows (it's bright and attractive at night) good management. In almost any hotel, I seem to have some sort of unfortunate incident. Perhaps the showers sprays me in the face when I turn it on, the air conditioning might be ineffective, or I may get one of those annoying down quilt things on my bed that seems to heat up to about the temperature it takes to cook a small turkey at 4:00 am.

The Lancaster in Curitiba, however, was faultless. Every single thing was great. I shouldn't end without mentioning the staff. Virtually everyone I encountered was friendly and helpful and some seemed over-qualified. They must pay their staff well and treat them right.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KenGardner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Curitiba hotels
Hotel Nikko
#18 of 104 in Curitiba
668 reviews
Ibis Curitiba Shopping
#17 of 104 in Curitiba
2,515 reviews
Novo Vernon Hotel
#68 of 104 in Curitiba
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Slaviero Conceptual Palace Hotel Curitiba
Batel
Go Inn Curitiba
Go Inn Curitiba
#11 of 104 in Curitiba
1,100 reviews
City Center
Bourbon Curitiba Convention Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lancaster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lancaster

Property: Hotel Lancaster
Address: Rua Voluntarios da Patria 91, Curitiba, State of Parana 80020-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Parana > Curitiba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Curitiba
#14 Romantic Hotel in Curitiba
#27 Business Hotel in Curitiba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Lancaster 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Lancaster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Lancaster Curitiba, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing