We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lawrence Cooper”
Review of Luz Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Luz Hotel
Ranked #27 of 78 Hotels in Foz do Iguacu
Certificate of Excellence
Broadstone, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lawrence Cooper”
Reviewed 9 April 2013

This hotel is right by the bus station so is convenient if you are going anywhere by bus but is nowhere near any other facility. The rooms facing the bus station were noisy in the early morning. It was a very ordinary hotel but the staff were quite helpful. One of the two lifts always seemed to be out of action.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lawrence C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    294
    126
    15
    8
See reviews for
267
96
23
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

The staff at the information counter and tour booking at the front are helpful and booked us the room when we booked a flight. The price for the area is average not a 'great deal'. The hotel is very plain and tired. The pool is an obstacle course to find. The restaurant is not great nor cheap. The area is poor considering it is beside the bus station and nothing else.

We were only staying one night to fly out the next day. We stayed out of convenience nothing else. If we were going to be staying for pleasure or as a jumping point to visit the falls I would not stay again.

Another picky point - wifi is charged. It is not expensive at 7 Brazilian real per day but still for the price you pay for the hotel it should be included as it was in all the other properties we have stayed at in S.America.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2WorldExplorers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wimborne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
517 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 402 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2012

The Luz Hotel at Foz do Iguacu was the second of our nine hotels in South America, having flown down from Rio de Janeiro that morning. We didn’t head straight to the hotel from the airport as we first went to the Brazilian side of Iguacu Falls and therefore didn’t arrive until 6:30pm.

I had read as much about The Luz as was available (not a great deal) prior to our trip so was aware that there wasn’t a great deal on offer in the surrounding area.

The Luz wasn’t particularly attractive from the outside and the lobby looked a little bare. Our room was quite large but extremely plain with a view over the bus station across the road and then over the countryside. We didn’t explore too far outside the hotel, but it did feel quite safe.

The Falls were approx one hour away by coach.

The weather was glorious and a welcome change from the rain in Rio so we spent a relaxing hour before dinner sitting at the outdoor tables with a beer at the front of the hotel. The bar attracted a good mix of locals and hotel guests and was quite busy.

On our first night we had dinner in a fish restaurant overlooking the river opposite Paraguay, but on the second night we did eat in the hotel. The meal was cheap and not particularly memorable but we were so tired we weren’t really looking for quality. Bottled water was available to purchase from the fridge in the reception area.

Breakfast was served in a separate area and was really quite good with plenty of choice.
There was apparently a swimming pool but we couldn’t find it!

A cheap, budget choice for anyone visiting Iguacu Falls. Have definitely stayed in a lot worse.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2011

I booked this hotel as I managed to secure a really good rate of 99 Reals per night which based on my stay represented very good value for money. However, for my stay to visit the Iguasu falls it was a bit out of the way. I have thetefore divided my review into 2 parts, one on the hotel and the other around accessibility.
1. The hotel offers many good things including English speaking staff (not all though), a nice quiet pool, wifi (3 days access for 12 reals although I could not get a signal in the room, but excellent in the lobby), a decent breakfast included in the price with a good selection, a good restaurant downstairs, a couple of pool tables in the games room. The room was basic with standard cable (Brasilian / Portuguese channels) strong ac, and a mini fridge. The decor was a bit old but for the price you can't beat it. A couple of downsides were there was a bit of noise from the road and nearby bus terminal and the fact the hotel is not in downtown Foz.
2. As per above the hotel is opposite the international bus terminal (Rodavaria), and not the central bus terminal in downtown Foz where the buses leave to go to the falls - both Brasil and Argentinuan sides. You can catch a bus to downtown from the international bus terminal by jumping on a bus marked Centro / TTU. However these buses ran infrequently (on average hourly). Alternatively it was a taxi for 15 Reals. At the international bus terminal there are a couple of small shops and a cafe (but certainly not a "shopping centre" as described by a previous reviewer). However, there is a shopping mall if you turn right out of the hotel entrance and walk down the hill 100 M you then turn right as you hit the main road and then its about 2km /15 min walk. The mall has numerous shops including a supermarket and on the top floor numerous eateries mainly of the fast food variety and a couple of buffet style restaurants.
So in summary the hotel offered good value for money but not ideal for visiting the falls but if you factor in the cost of a cab it probably still works out cheaper than some of the other options in downtown, although I will add there really isn't much going on in downtown either!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnP72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
563 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2010

At first sight, the tower block appearance can be a little worrying....but then you see the inside and then you meet the staff!
Then you see the light or luz!
Get it?
Reception was extremely helpful and there was free local tea and coffee. Breakfast was good, the rooms clean and right opposite is a decent shopping centre and bus station.
Don't let the bus station put you off. There is no noise and the ATMs and shops in the bus station are useful. The silly girl I was travelling with, even managed to find an eye liner pencil in the Pharmacy!
Thehotel runs their own tour service and even across the borders between Brazil, Argentina and Paraguay....

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gyanfernando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Foz do Iguacu hotels
Hotel Villa Canoas
#12 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
503 reviews
City Center
Pietro Angelo Hotel
Pietro Angelo Hotel
#7 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
1,686 reviews
City Center
Del Rey Hotel
Del Rey Hotel
#2 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
2,566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Aguas do Iguacu Hotel Centro
Aguas do Iguacu Hotel Centro
#8 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
2,303 reviews
San Juan Tour
#19 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
432 reviews
Vivaldi Cataratas
#53 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luz Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luz Hotel

Property: Luz Hotel
Address: Avenida Gustavo Dobrandino da Silva 145, Foz do Iguacu, State of Parana, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Parana > Foz do Iguacu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Luz Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Agoda, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Luz Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luz Hotel Foz Do Iguacu, Brazil - Parana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing