We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel - Good Location - Helpful Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Viale Cataratas Hotel
Ranked #31 of 78 Hotels in Foz do Iguacu
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel - Good Location - Helpful Staff”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Stayed here Aug. 18-20, 2014. Very nice hotel in a good location for accessing the Brazil side of the falls. There is a taxi stand across the street and a large tourist info center next door. The rooms are clean and comfortable and include a safe (electronic password, not a key system). The hotel pool area is great and the free breakfast offers an excellent variety of hot and cold items as well as an omelette station. Had dinner in the hotel restaurant and it was also delicious. The menu is fixed price for 3 courses. There is a tour desk in the lobby that was very helpful. Staff was also nice and booked a dinner reservation for us. One of the staff (think her name is Diana) spoke excellent English. On site gift shop offers a lot of variety. Only had 2 minor complaints; (1) our room on the lobby level only had 2 power outlets and (2) despite a sign at the front desk stating that multiple devices from the same room could be connected to the hotel wifi using one password, that was not the case. However the front desk willingly gave us a second wifi code for our room so that solved the problem.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

917 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    269
    444
    153
    36
    15
See reviews for
372
235
23
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
269 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

The lobby is beautiful and most of the people working the front desk are friendly. We did not use the pool or the gym, they are available and the pool looked lovely. Breakfasts were plentiful, and even on a strict diet, I was able to find plenty to eat. They even had yogurt without sugar, which I appreciated. The restaurant staff was wonderful. One night when I was feeling ill, they made me chicken soup.

Up in the room, 209, we had two separate beds that were the most comfortable that I have had in my travels. The highly polished wood floor was clean, bright, and so very comfortable to walk on.. The room however had practically no storage space, the bathroom had no storage space, the closet was miniscule. The safe did work. The bathroom however had tiny ants crawling up the walls, in the sink, and on the counter. And the exterior hallway had a lovely stone floor, but there was nothing to muffle the sound of people walking, talking, or children yelling in the hallway.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank eurovicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Good sized rooms, well appointed. Very pleasant to sit outside of an evening near the pool and have a drink with friends. Some confusion with our bill - receipts not processed when we came to pay our bill, then not all correct. The hotel gift shop had very reasonably priced items - T shirts, jewellery etc. Great location as a base to visit both sides of the Iguazo Falls.

Room Tip: As the hotel is set back a little from the road I think all rooms would be quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aushol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
77 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

This hotel has a lot to offer: a nice pool, good breakfast, a play room, sauna, a couple of small shops, etc. My average rating has to do with the poor service I got from the front desk (which is very unlike Brazil), even when dealing with different staff. First, I called from my room to ask for the WiFi password, which they wouldn't give me unless I came downstairs to retrieve it in person. Secondly, I asked to check out and settle my account very early in the morning, so my dad, who was leaving a little later, wouldn't have to worry about it or pay anything. They wouldn't do it, insisting the last person to leave the room had to do the transaction. I asked them to make an exception, but they would not. It was as if I was not at all welcome at their hotel, and they were doing me a favor by even listening to me. The air conditioner didn't work well either. It was turned on to the max all day and night, but it barely made a difference. There were a couple of times during the weekend when we lost power as well. The room was also very small. The pool is nice, but nobody came by to wait on us, though other guests were being served at the pool. All in all, it was a lukewarm experience. I expected much more given the price I paid and the nice pictures on the hotel website.

Room Tip: Ask for a room where the AC unit actually works!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jordanjc21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joinville, SC
Level Contributor
84 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Nice hotel. A few minutes from Argentina, where you can find good restaurants, and not so far from Paraguay, where you can buy cheap things. At the hotel you have some facilities as tours to go to Iguaçu waterfalls, with a variety of activities. The breakfast is one of the best in this city. The hall is huge but simple. The rooms are comfortable and simple too, with TV, bar, and safe. Has 2 pools, but when I was there, one of them was in repair. The staff are very kind. At the bar you have a good selection of drinks and at the restaurant, good meals. I recommend this hotel.
.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leny E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

First stop on our honeymoon - we were very impressed! Beautiful and very clean. Food and service in the restaurant at breakfast was top class as was the spread of food. We chose to eat here for supper and the quality of the food and service was excellent once again and it was reasonably priced as well. Our room faced the front but it didn't matter as we didn't spend a lot of time in it. The room was very clean, modern and comfortable. It was cleaned everyday. Staff at reception were very helpful indeed. Not all spoke English however I was able to speak pigeon Portuguese and Spanish and so between us we communicated effectively. I do not see this as a problem as I believe as travellers we should make the effort to try and speak the language of the country we are visiting. We really couldn't fault this hotel in any way. It was located very close to the falls and our 3 day tour guide (which I highly recommend) had us at the Falls in no time. We were also the only people at the pool! It was winter for the locals but for us Scots, high 20s/early 30s is our summer!
We would definitely go back and highly recommend this hotel!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FMacDonald30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel as booked by South America tours for our trip to the Iguassu Falls. Everything was good: rooms clean & spacious, breakfast selection is excellent, staff was so helpful even if English was a struggle, food in the cafe & the restaurant is delicious & affordable. Location is also good: close to the Brazilian side of the Falls, souvenir shop on site and beside it, many restaurants close by that offer cultural shows and churrascaria, also close to downtown. An added bonus is we requested for a masseuse. She came in our room and provided one of the best massage we have experienced. Will I recommend this hotel to my friends? Definitely!

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveller928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Foz do Iguacu hotels
Viale Tower Hotel
#12 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
City Center
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
#18 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,303 reviews
City Center
Wyndham Golden Foz Suites
Wyndham Golden Foz Suites
#25 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Golden Park Internacional Foz
Golden Park Internacional Foz
#29 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,077 reviews
City Center
Del Rey Hotel
Del Rey Hotel
#2 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viale Cataratas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viale Cataratas Hotel

Property: Viale Cataratas Hotel
Address: Avenida das Cataratas 2420, Foz do Iguacu, State of Parana 85853-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Parana > Foz do Iguacu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#20 Family Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#24 Romantic Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Viale Cataratas Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Viale Cataratas has a structure of rooms that makes your eyes sparkle. There are 151 luxury apartments, all equipped with TV LCD 26 inches, digital air conditioner, wireless internet, individual safe-deposit box, and a clean decor throughout the hotel. There is no doubt when it is to visit the natural paradise that is Foz do Iguacu, no doubt either about the best option to stay at the Viale Cataratas Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Viale Cataratas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viale Cataratas Hotel Foz Do Iguacu, Brazil - Parana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing