We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great convenient place to stay with very helpful owners.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Katharina House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Katharina House
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great convenient place to stay with very helpful owners.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

The hostel is only a 5 min walk from the local bus terminal and 2 mins from the town centre. We got a private room which was good value, clean and spacious. Luis and Maria were extremely friendly and helpful in all our many questions, suggesting good restaurants, cheaper onwards travel options and the best way to view the falls. The bar is relaxed and well priced. Overall we felt very welcome and well looked after so would recommend this anytime.

I'd also recommend taking the offered Argentinian fall excursion too, it may initially seem additional expense but the minibus provides door to door service and priority route through the border. Taking local buses would only save ~R$6 and take a lot more hassle and time.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Popey31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    66
    15
    9
    8
See reviews for
20
54
50
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Memmingen, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

Katharina House is a nice and friendly hostel, with nice rooms, clean bathrooms and nice people who do everything to make you feel like home!
I booked the hostel because it said it is close to the busterminal and it is! Its easy to get around and you always find your way back.
We arrived in Puerto Iguazu (Argentina), and a person from the hostel (or a closeby agency) picked us up from the airport! Really important is that you stop at the brasilian side to get the stamp in your passport. There are no controls on brasilian ground so better stop and make it offiicial!
At the hostel we met the owner Louis and got the keys to our hostel. If you want to go to the brasilian side of the Cataratas (Waterfalls) you can take the local bus (line 120) which will bring you exactly to the National Park (its also the last stop).
We also booked a transfer to the Argentina side, which is a little more expensive than ging with the local bus, but way more compfortable!
After a long day at the Cataratas, a nice Caipiriha in the house bar is the best way to relax.
It was a nice and easy stay in Katharinas House. And If you go say hi to Dasy (a black cutie dog! ) :)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for just one night and despite the very cheap prices we were given a lovely clean room with easy access to a shared bathroom. The hostel itself was lovely with a bar/restaurant downstairs and a relaxed vibe. What really made our stay was the level of service that we received when staying here. The man and lady working there went out of their way on various occasions to ensure we had the best stay possible. They went above and beyond and I'm sure they would do the same for anyone and I would recommend anyone staying in foz do iguacu to stay in this hostel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maz2508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

We didn't actually stay here (wish we had of mind you as the Best Western down the road is AWFUL!) but we went to the bar a few nights!

We decided to stop here for a drink after being out for dinner and got talking to the Chilean guy who I believe runs the hostel - We were really confused on how to spend 1 precious day seeing the falls and wanted to see both - He was absolutely brilliant in taking the time to explain and help us!

He arranges trips to the falls and advised us that we could see both sides of the falls in 1 day and was honest that it would not be a leisurely visit and would be quite a quick trip round but if the objective was to see both we could!

Everything was arranged for us - The mini bus to take us to both falls and back again, admission into both parks, the brilliant boat trip, the crossing over to the Argentine border and all at a very reasonable cost and not a rip off like so many hotels try to charge. We had a guy come with us to make sure we got round the parks in good time to see everything which was handy and to keep us on track. We had longer in the Argentina side as its much bigger so we only had just over an hour on the Brazil side and pretty much had to speed walk round - But we knew this would be the case so is not a critisicm at all!

So I would highly recommend to book trips with this hostel as they really listen to what you want to do and can tailor it to how you want your trip to be! I also recommend you stop by at the bar - Its not lively but just relaxing and good drinks served at very reasonable prices. I'm sure the hostel is just as good to stay at as well!

Thanks again for all your help :-)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
70 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013 via mobile

Very clean hostel, seperate Male female dorms or privates. All rooms cleaned daily. Decent breakfast (costs a bit extra) and good location for shops, restuarants and one block from major bus terminal to all attractions. Decent bar area to relax and have a beer. Not a party hostel though, very relaxed. Staff are helpfull although the information they provide is not always current or correct. Please confirm information online!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roundwrldticket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

We stayed for a couple of nights in this hostel and we loved it, good value, very quiet, confortable rooms, very clean and eventhough doesnt have a breakfast included is walking distance to very cheap restaurants. A breakfast for two 6$ and lunch or dinner for 12$ dessert included ahhh I forgot all you can eat great isnt? They planned and gave us tips for the best trips and excursion on town.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Javiviucab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

We had a great one night stay to visit the falls on the Brazilian side and catch an early flight. The staff spoke perfect English and were really helpful on buses and restaurant recommendations. There is a nice bar with outside seating which catches the last of the evening sin. The hostel dog is adorable. This is.a great no frills hostel. The rooms are basic and the bathrooms need a bit of updating but it is a good option in Foz.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Camilla P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Foz do Iguacu hotels
City Center
Del Rey Hotel
Del Rey Hotel
#2 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,425 reviews
City Center
Taroba Hotel
Taroba Hotel
#18 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Bogari Hotel
Bogari Hotel
#3 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
City Center
Aguas do Iguacu Hotel Centro
Aguas do Iguacu Hotel Centro
#8 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,161 reviews
Hotel Villa Canoas
#11 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Katharina House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Katharina House

Property: Katharina House
Address: Rua Taroba 952 Number, Foz do Iguacu, State of Parana 85851-220, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Parana > Foz do Iguacu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 108 Speciality Lodging in Foz do Iguacu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For those who are used to travel around the world, this might be one of your all-time favourite hostels. The staff makes you feel incredibly welcome and takes time to help everyone with whatever they need. After a day at the falls, we can recommend great places to eat that aren't too expensive. Katharina House offers a new take on the guesthouse experience... Under the administration of Jaha Iguassu Explorer Tourism, Katharina House is a well-established and highly popular guesthouse which was under the same management team. We offer you everything you could need and want so that you can make the most of your holidays and stay in Foz do Iguaçu: a great local & Brazil-wide information and quality entertainment all at an excellent price. We invite you to try it for yourself and feel at 'home away from home.' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Katharina House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Katharina House Foz Do Iguacu, Brazil - Parana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing