We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't stay here again, found Argentina more convenient”
Review of Klein Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Klein Hostel
Reviewed 6 March 2013

Stayed here for one night in February. Had planned to stay 3 nights but moved after one. It's true they pick you up and take you there from the bus station or airport on arrival and departure, but it is then so far away from the falls (with public transport it took us 1.5hrs to get home on the buses from the brazil side of the falls)! We found staying in Argentina much more convenient.

We also booked to have dinner in the hostel and were told this would be served at 7.30pm. On arrival back there at 7.25pm we were told they had served dinner at 7pm after all and that they didn't save us any. The staff were apologetic about this, but we couldn't understand why if they knew we were coming back for it they would serve it to other people (you had to reserve a meal). It meant that after a long day, we then had to venture out of the hostel again to find something to eat.

The hostel itself is ok. Stayed in the private double room with ensuite which was fine, mainly it was the location that put us off, in particular when there are a lot of accommodations nearer to the falls.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samanfaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

45 - 51 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here for one night in February 2013, in an 8-bed dorm.

Pros:
- Free pickup from bus station.
- Fast Internet connection.
- Usual hostel amenities; bar, kitchen, TV etc.
- Staff are friendly and helpful.

Cons:
- Dirty bathroom.
- Expensive for what it is.
- Hardly any of the power outlets work, so forget about charging your phone while you're here - in fact forget about using the kitchen grill too.
- Lockers are in the open air, so all your valuables get nice and damp overnight.
- The photo they use on all the publicity shots is of a lovely, spacious 10-bed dorm with no bunk beds in it. This is only one of their dorms. The others are crammed full of bunks and nowhere near as nice.
- It's not really near any other amenities.

In summary, I would try somewhere else.

Room Tip: If you must stay here, ask for the nice 10 bee dorm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CharlieInLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2013 via mobile

If I could do this trip again I would stay at Klein hostel and visit both sides of the falls from here. Very friendly staff who will do anything they can to make your stay great. Great Internet. Dinner for 10 real. Beer 2.50 real with a self service bar. Free transfers to the bus station or airport. Cleanest hostel I have been to. Large rooms. Excellent security. Good knowledge on using the local buses. Of note we were told not to bother with the brazil side of the falls but because I wasn't expecting much these turned out to be my favourite as less crowded, slightly cheaper and more shade. I think you need to do both and don't take advice from people who haven't even been to both sides.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neil l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

I camped here for a couple of days and found the location very convenient and the amenities super-good (internet, wifi, pool, showers, bar, kitchen)! Camping was only slightly cheaper than the dorm but it did include a very good breakfast. The clean cool pool was a welcome relief from the Brazilian heat and a great place to chill out after a day's excursions, which are quick and easy to get to. Staff are friendly and have lots of information, English is spoken, and the vibe is relaxed to the max. Good bar with cold beer and caipirinhas; would definitely recommend Klein Hostel.

Room Tip: I camped so don't really have info on rooms, but the camping was good with soft ground and grass...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ingrid S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

I enjoyed my time at this hostel. I was staying in the dorm and had no complaints there. They pick you up AND will take you back to the airport for free which was a nice touch. Meals in the evening were really good and excellent value, even their transfers to the falls were a decent price. I took myself to the Argentinian side and there was no hard sell for their service which made a refreshing change. The bar is also a fair price and the hostel is in a great location for a supermarket just down the road. The bus station nearest is not the one you need for buses to Argentina/Itaipu or the Brazilian falls but has very regular services to the station you do need. No complaints.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 10bobrev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2012

Jorge and Roberto were excellent hosts and advice providers. Rooms were clean, facilities dated but otherwise very acceptable. Good neighborhood, short walk to the city bus and therefore dam and falls.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
Thank dcrates1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2012

Me and my wife have been travelling around the world for 10 months so far, and this hostel is by far the best we have come across. You get free transfers to and from the hostel, great advice on the area and even places to go on the Argentinian side. The breakfast is always fresh and plentiful. It seems that its being cleaned 24/7, and the atmosphere is perfect.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Foz do Iguacu hotels
Belmond Hotel das Cataratas
#1 of 79 in Foz do Iguacu
4,019 reviews
City Center
Green House Hostel
Green House Hostel
#4 of 111 in Foz do Iguacu
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mabu Thermas Grand Resort
#25 of 79 in Foz do Iguacu
3,147 reviews
Maria Ricca Palace Hotel
#46 of 79 in Foz do Iguacu
433 reviews
Hostel Paudimar Campestre
#10 of 111 in Foz do Iguacu
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Klein Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Klein Hostel

Address: Rua Paris 230 | Jardim Alice, Foz do Iguacu, State of Parana, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Parana > Foz do Iguacu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 111 Speciality Lodging in Foz do Iguacu
Hotel Class:2 star — Klein Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Klein Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Klein Hostel Foz Do Iguacu, Brazil - Parana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing