We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed bugs :(”
Review of Klein Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Klein Hostel
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This is a really nice hostel. Unfortunately the dorm right next to the reception has bed bugs. When i told a member of staff they asked me to change beds but they were also in that bed and there was quite a few of them. I spent the night on the sofa in reception and no compensation or apology was offered the following morning. Disappointing as the hostel was very nice and some of the staff were really helpful (they even made us popcorn for the football). But when it came to this matter they weren't helpful at all. They didn't go and check or strip the beds until my partner made a point of telling them in front of other guests. I hope they deal with this matter properly and quickly as it ruined what could have been a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MissR1ce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
There are newer reviews for Klein Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

29 - 35 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Situated a bit out of the main centre (not a bad thing), Klein hostel makes up for it with their helpful staff, large common areas (inside and outside), friendly/chatty vibe, free airport/bus pickups and drop offs (!) and very delicious breakfasts. It's two easy buses from Klein to get to Iguassu Falls. Clean rooms, comfortable beds, great wifi in common areas, champion staff. :) Great retreat from the dirty/ugly centre of town!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coffee_chica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

As said in the title, couldn't expect more from a hostel!

For the price we paid for one night (+/- 30R$ = 10 €) we were received like kings! The fact that we stayed there during a period where there was not many turists might have helped but still the quality of the hostel was outstanding.
First, the hostel proposes a free airport/bus station transport which wery useful because of the prices of the cabs in the city.
Second, the showers and other common spaces are not only very clean but they are perfectly functional (the showers are amazing!!!).
The beds are very comfy and there is a massive pool to relax.
Finally the staff is incredibly helpful and kind: they helped us prepare our travel to Rio, recommended hostels and we even smoked chicha just before the departure with one of the members. Also the drinks at the bar within the hostel are very affordable!

Very good memory!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tadeusz T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

I was very satisfied with my stay at this hostel. As they promised they gave me free pick up from the airport as the hostel is a bit out of the center (which can be reach within 20 minutes by bus, bust stop 7 minutes from hostel) but close to the bus station – 15 min walk.

The staff friendly, helpful The rooms and bathrooms clean. The AC system at rooms but not at the common room. The wifi worked without any problems. The breakfast was perfect, various choice including plenty of fresh fruit. They do not offer dinner any more but there is a kitchen and some small shops around to buy the grocery.

To get to the Brazilian side of the waterfalls it takes about 1 hour (you must change the bus at the terminal 3 Rs). To get to the Argentinean side is more complicated by public bus as you have to change the bus 3 times and it takes ages, so I recommend to you to take their organize tour for about 130 Rs (but is not run every day if there are not enough people) or to take more expensive choice, taxi (about 200 Rs).

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank duhoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Stayed for 2 nights in the hostel. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Internet worked well and the common area and pool were also very decent. Could do with a few fans in the common area as it's stinking hot there. The rooms are decent and the beds are comfortable. A/C worked ok.

The hostel is convenient if you're arriving at the main bus station early morning or late at night as it's just an 800m walk. Location is however a fair way from the centre and the falls.

Room Tip: Avoid the room directly next to the check in desk as you'll cop a bit of noise from the buzzer l...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

This hostel is a little out the city center, but that's really no issue... as you go to Iguazu to visit the national parcs and not the city. There is a busstop close to the hostel, so the Brazilian falls are only 3Rls away ;-).
The hostel also organises visits to the Argentinian side: transport, entrance, border control... everything is taken care of for you. Which makes it very easy.
Klein Hostel also offers a dinner for only 13Rls, which is very cheap and the food is very good. Breakfast is included in your stay.

Just one extra tip for the falls: If you're about to visit only 1 side (Brazilian or Argentina) go to Argentina... if you plan on visiting both: go first to Brazil (up to 3h max) and than Argentina (whole day, 6h).

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ellen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We stayed 5 nights in this hostel and if we had the time we would have stayed the week. It is one of the nicest hostel we've stayed in 7 months travelling South America. The reason is apart from the hostel being spotless which is important we felt very relaxed here. The staff including the owners were very hospitable. I wish more hostels were like this. Anything we asked was not a problem.

The hostel has a great breakfast. It's a proper breakfast with fruit not just bread and jam that other hostels call 'breakfast'.
The hostel has a lovely swimming pool and a pool table. Rodney the night attendant and bar man is very friendly. He will do you up a caipirinha. It's not a party hostel but if you will get into a small group and have a laugh which is sometimes even better. Definitely stay here!!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnperkins_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Foz do Iguacu hotels
City Center
Del Rey Hotel
Del Rey Hotel
#2 of 79 in Foz do Iguacu
2,635 reviews
City Center
Bogari Hotel
Bogari Hotel
#3 of 79 in Foz do Iguacu
1,606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hostel Poesia
#11 of 107 in Foz do Iguacu
111 reviews
Hostel Lisboa
#19 of 107 in Foz do Iguacu
11 reviews
Tetris Container Hostel
#2 of 107 in Foz do Iguacu
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Klein Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Klein Hostel

Address: Rua Paris 230 | Jardim Alice, Foz do Iguacu, State of Parana, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Parana > Foz do Iguacu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 107 Speciality Lodging in Foz do Iguacu
Hotel Class:2 star — Klein Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Klein Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Klein Hostel Foz Do Iguacu, Brazil - Parana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing