We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely Delicious and Surprisingly affordable. ”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Chef Lopes

Chef Lopes
Ranked #40 of 1,059 Restaurants in Foz do Iguacu
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Brazilian, South American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: City Center
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Absolutely Delicious and Surprisingly affordable. ”
Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

Best place to eat in Foz. 8 of us went there tonight and it was perfect, most of us ordered steaks and they cooked them perfectly and they were huge. We drank loads and even got a free desert from the chef.
The waiter spoke good English and was very helpful and really friendly which is always good.
As it's a more upmarket restaurant we were all expecting the bill to be high but it wasn't, it worked out at €16 per person and we all walked away stuffed.
To top it all off they offer a free pick up service to and from all hotels.
Highly recommend this place

Helpful?
1 Thank Angie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    313
    310
    89
    34
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northfield, Vermont
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Dinner at the Hotel Bella italia”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Not what I requested or expectd. Dry and overdone probably frozen filet mignon of which I ate half,sauted.notreally...potatoes and the vegtables cooked in butter did not appear. Instead there was one of those fluted. Cukes, peeled in a spiral, inedible.

Good? The by the kilo antipasti assortment! BRAVI!
No cooking required.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DrJoani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Curitiba, PR
Level Contributor
114 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Out of place in Foz”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

It is very sophisticated which makes it stand out like a sore thumb in Foz (one of the world's worst tourist destinations). Great selection of dishes. The lunchtime buffet is also very good.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jose Alvaro d d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing beef with very helpful service”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

I chose the restaurant for dinner. I asked the waiter for a suggestion and they told me to try their beef (bife).

I took the "Bife de Chorizo grelhado ao Chimichurri". The beef was absolutely gorgeous.

The restaurant is not cheap, especially compared to the average cost of a restaurant in Brazil. However the dinner was great.

Unfortunately, the majority of the staff don't speak English. However, they were able to assign me a waiter with reasonable English skills.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Simone C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Friendly”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

The food here was very good. The menu was extensive but they were happy to cook us something simpler (to their dismay I just wanted chicken, beans & rice!)
The staff, especially Walter, were very friendly and were happy to tell us about the area. Not all of them spoke English but there was an English menu.
The restaurant itself was massive and with only us and one other party eating there it did feel a bit empty and lacked atmosphere.
Its not the easiest place to find as its on the first floor above street level.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pandyand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chef Lopes also viewed

 

Been to Chef Lopes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing