We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old fashioned, impersonnal hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Carima Hotel & Convention
Ranked #39 of 80 Hotels in Foz do Iguacu
Reviewed 25 September 2011

From the outside this looks like a stunning hotel however inside we found it to be impersonnal and almost ghostly. The corridors are so long and wide you feel like you're the only people in the hotel. The bedrooms are a good size but they are very old fashioned with poor fixtures and fittings and even the bedding was a bit threadbare. A serious upgrade is required. On the positive side we found the breakfast to be good. The external areas were extensive and well kept with a nice swimming pool but we didn't use it.

Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,157)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

34 - 40 of 1,157 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2011

We were booked here by a tour agency called Latin Tours as part of our Iguazu experience.
This is definitely a very strange place that must be experienced to understand or better yet avoided entirely. The hotel has an attractive look from the outside, but once inside you are challenged with the dual concepts of massiveness and very bad taste. For unexplainable reasons the is an assortment of out dated movie projectors and old cars in the expansive lobby. The place felt like the hotel in a Steven King novel, huge dark wide halls seemingingly going nowhere. The art on the walls was exraordinarily bad and tasteless looking like it came from garage sale or worse. To make it even tackier the same work of a lying nude was repeated in the same hall within several yards of each other. The rooms actually were spacious but the old furnishings, cheap art, and bright over head neon lights made the stay unattractive. I must give the place some positive points on a very good buffet dinner and buffet breakfast. The was a very nice large outdoor pool, but we did not use it. Overall we had a good time marveling at the weird bad taste and other displays. It wasn't the worst place that Latin Tours booked. We would find that at Hotel Brevet in Rio.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Glad2bhome73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

We stayed here at the end of April 2011, 2 rooms for 2 couples. here are a few points:

1. The hotel is old, windows looked like they were falling apart and in need of repair, bathroom clean but old and in serious need of updates. You definitely should bring some flip flops to step in those showers...
2. try to avoid eating dinner/ lunch at the hotel restaurant--it was the worst experience of our entire 2 weeks trip, both service and food.
3. The town (Foz do Iguacu) next door ( cheap taxi ride away) has numerous options that hotel personnel was wonderful pointing out to us.
4. Front desk personnel was extremely friendly and helpful, pointing out things to do and restaurant suggestions, getting us a cab and just welcoming in general

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank medmom2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2010

I stayed at Carima Hotel last week, and It was not a good experience.
First, the reception people are not helpful at all. Very rarely I saw a smile on them, serious all the time.
Rooms have are airconditioned, but they are not strong enough to control the room temperature. You have to put on its maximum power to make it a place to stay.
The Shower booth doesn´t have door, but you can see there was one in the history of the hotel cause the floor has some holes where doors should have been. Naturally, you spill water in bathroom when you use the shower.
I found constantly ants on the floor, and a couple of times spider in the room. I understand we are in the middle of the nature and that´s ok.
Restaurants are ok. And the hotel has a wonderful pool and interior park.

This hotel is one of the most famous one in the area (according to my guide) but these small details make this hotel not recommendable.

We want more smile at this hotel!!!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SuperTraveller99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2009

Not at all pleased with this hotel. Staff were not particularly helpful. Room air condintioning was barely functional. It was key-controlled so that it shut off when we left the room. Would return to a stifling hot room that took hours to cool off. Window led onto a flat roof that was accessible from ground level and the lock was broken. Sign in the lobby recommended against strolling on the hotel grounds because of the danger of assault and robbery. Located well away from downtown area. Bedding was minimal and well worn/ Not much to recommend about this place.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellermike51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2009

Nice rooms.common areas like POOL,reception
VERY friendly and efficient RECEPTION.
NICE INTERNET FACILITIES plus WI-FI ZONES.
GOOD SHOPS as well

Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
1  Thank REGGIEBRAZIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2008

There are places in this world where the 70’s have never ended. One of these places is the Bristol Carima in Foz de Iguacu. I think the interior designer has a budget of only 5 pesos a year and is waiting desperately until the 70’s come back into fashion. In this monster of a resort we stayed in room 1900. Through wide halls with dark wooden floors we reached our room and were blinded by all the neonlight that could easily light a stadium. It was the first time during our holiday that we were tired enough to have diner in the hotel. Wrong choice. There was even more neonlight in the dining room and although the food was not very bad, I wanted to leave that room after 5 minutes.

Reception staff: Reception staff did not inform us that summertime was starting and the night would be one hour shorter, even though we had a flight the following day. Reception staff did not help me at all when I asked them to call my Brazilian speaking travel agency about the transfer to the airport. Reception staff arranged us a Brazilian non-communicative private driver, when we asked for a English-speaking talkative one. They did not even speak enough English to start a normal dialogue, reception staff was shameful, even the waiters in the restaurant had better knowledge of English.

Bristol Carima has it’s glorydays many years behind them. I would not even stay here again if they gave me a 100% discount. The staff was worthless, no internet access whatsoever, neonlight and hopeless oldfashioned furniture as far as the eye can see. This hotel is a joke, but I am not laughing!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Willem_ter_Haar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Foz do Iguacu hotels
Hotel Colonial Iguacu
#41 of 80 in Foz do Iguacu
1,287 reviews
City Center
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
#15 of 80 in Foz do Iguacu
1,468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dom Pedro I Palace Hotel
#42 of 80 in Foz do Iguacu
470 reviews
Foz Presidente Comfort
#26 of 80 in Foz do Iguacu
476 reviews
Viale Tower Hotel
#11 of 80 in Foz do Iguacu
1,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carima Hotel & Convention? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carima Hotel & Convention

Address: Avenida das Cataratas Km 10 | Vila Carimã, Foz do Iguacu, State of Parana 85853-000, Brazil
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Parana > Foz do Iguacu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#23 Business Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
Price Range: £38 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Carima Hotel & Convention 3*
Number of rooms: 313
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Carima Hotel & Convention reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carima Hotel Foz Do Iguacu
Carima Hotel And Resort
Carima Hotel Foz De Iguassu
Carima Resort Foz De Iguassu
Carima Hotel & Convention Foz Do Iguacu, Brazil - Parana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing