We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“it was ok for as it was included in the package”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Carima Hotel & Convention
Ranked #41 of 78 Hotels in Foz do Iguacu
Chicago
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“it was ok for as it was included in the package”
Reviewed 11 November 2011

good for a flight and hotel package
The hotel is big, maybe stylish years ago but oldish nowadays...it was fine as it was included in the package reviewing some only hotel fares I think that over a 100 bucks per night is too much for this hotel.
Breakfast was included and it was good, but to eat in the hotel restaurant is expensive. Read in some reviews that the city is far and taxis will charge about 15 dollars to get there, well there is a bus that stops just in front the hotel.
Beds where good but the place in general looks extremely old and needs some repairs.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dofv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,037 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    433
    271
    78
    55
See reviews for
436
262
41
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barnard Castle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

From the outside this looks like a stunning hotel however inside we found it to be impersonnal and almost ghostly. The corridors are so long and wide you feel like you're the only people in the hotel. The bedrooms are a good size but they are very old fashioned with poor fixtures and fittings and even the bedding was a bit threadbare. A serious upgrade is required. On the positive side we found the breakfast to be good. The external areas were extensive and well kept with a nice swimming pool but we didn't use it.

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2011

We were booked here by a tour agency called Latin Tours as part of our Iguazu experience.
This is definitely a very strange place that must be experienced to understand or better yet avoided entirely. The hotel has an attractive look from the outside, but once inside you are challenged with the dual concepts of massiveness and very bad taste. For unexplainable reasons the is an assortment of out dated movie projectors and old cars in the expansive lobby. The place felt like the hotel in a Steven King novel, huge dark wide halls seemingingly going nowhere. The art on the walls was exraordinarily bad and tasteless looking like it came from garage sale or worse. To make it even tackier the same work of a lying nude was repeated in the same hall within several yards of each other. The rooms actually were spacious but the old furnishings, cheap art, and bright over head neon lights made the stay unattractive. I must give the place some positive points on a very good buffet dinner and buffet breakfast. The was a very nice large outdoor pool, but we did not use it. Overall we had a good time marveling at the weird bad taste and other displays. It wasn't the worst place that Latin Tours booked. We would find that at Hotel Brevet in Rio.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Glad2bhome73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Foz do Iguacu hotels

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
133 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

We stayed here at the end of April 2011, 2 rooms for 2 couples. here are a few points:

1. The hotel is old, windows looked like they were falling apart and in need of repair, bathroom clean but old and in serious need of updates. You definitely should bring some flip flops to step in those showers...
2. try to avoid eating dinner/ lunch at the hotel restaurant--it was the worst experience of our entire 2 weeks trip, both service and food.
3. The town (Foz do Iguacu) next door ( cheap taxi ride away) has numerous options that hotel personnel was wonderful pointing out to us.
4. Front desk personnel was extremely friendly and helpful, pointing out things to do and restaurant suggestions, getting us a cab and just welcoming in general

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank medmom2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chile
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2010

I stayed at Carima Hotel last week, and It was not a good experience.
First, the reception people are not helpful at all. Very rarely I saw a smile on them, serious all the time.
Rooms have are airconditioned, but they are not strong enough to control the room temperature. You have to put on its maximum power to make it a place to stay.
The Shower booth doesn´t have door, but you can see there was one in the history of the hotel cause the floor has some holes where doors should have been. Naturally, you spill water in bathroom when you use the shower.
I found constantly ants on the floor, and a couple of times spider in the room. I understand we are in the middle of the nature and that´s ok.
Restaurants are ok. And the hotel has a wonderful pool and interior park.

This hotel is one of the most famous one in the area (according to my guide) but these small details make this hotel not recommendable.

We want more smile at this hotel!!!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SuperTraveller99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria British Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 November 2009

Not at all pleased with this hotel. Staff were not particularly helpful. Room air condintioning was barely functional. It was key-controlled so that it shut off when we left the room. Would return to a stifling hot room that took hours to cool off. Window led onto a flat roof that was accessible from ground level and the lock was broken. Sign in the lobby recommended against strolling on the hotel grounds because of the danger of assault and robbery. Located well away from downtown area. Bedding was minimal and well worn/ Not much to recommend about this place.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellermike51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 November 2009

Nice rooms.common areas like POOL,reception
VERY friendly and efficient RECEPTION.
NICE INTERNET FACILITIES plus WI-FI ZONES.
GOOD SHOPS as well

Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank REGGIEBRAZIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Foz do Iguacu hotels
1.3 mi away
Viale Cataratas Hotel
Viale Cataratas Hotel
#32 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
909 reviews
1.1 mi away
Dom Pedro I Palace Hotel
Dom Pedro I Palace Hotel
#36 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
437 reviews
1.2 mi away
Iguassu Express Hotel
Iguassu Express Hotel
#39 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Canzi Cataratas Hotel
Canzi Cataratas Hotel
#47 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
158 reviews
5.2 mi away
Rafain Palace Hotel & Convention
Rafain Palace Hotel & Convention
#22 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
970 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Colonial Iguacu
Hotel Colonial Iguacu
#45 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
1,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carima Hotel & Convention? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carima Hotel & Convention

Property: Carima Hotel & Convention
Address: Avenida das Cataratas Km 10 | Vila Carimã, Foz do Iguacu, State of Parana 85853-000, Brazil
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Parana > Foz do Iguacu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#23 Business Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Carima Hotel & Convention 3*
Number of rooms: 313
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carima Hotel & Convention reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carima Hotel And Resort
Carima Hotel Foz Do Iguacu
Carima Hotel Foz De Iguassu
Carima Resort Foz De Iguassu
Carima Hotel & Convention Foz Do Iguacu, Brazil - Parana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing