We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good option for family with kids” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mabu Thermas Grand Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mabu Thermas Grand Resort
Ranked #19 of 78 Hotels in Foz do Iguacu
Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very good option for family with kids”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

We have stayed at Mabu for a 4 days trip to Iguaçu falls.
The hotel is located in a large property full of beautiful gardens and conveniently located for all of the main attractions of the region (Argentina, Paraguay and of course the falls). Staff was always friendly and our room was very well decorated and clean. Breaksfast was served in a buffet as the majority of the hotels in Brazil with a good variety of fruits, brads, cakes, cold cuts and juices. They have 3 different restaurants in the hotel: As Quatro Estações - Self-service buffet plus Tastare and Dummond as upper scale options. Here was their downfall, as my wife, niece and I were trying something special for a dinner and decided to try Tastare. It was a complete deception! There was just one waitress attending at Tastare and at the same time also attending the crowded As Quatro Estações. Service was terrible as we were left unnanted for some 15 minutes until the busy waitress come to our table. They had a fixed menu giving the option to choose 1 among 3 alternatives as entry dish, main course and dessert. All of us decided to go for a green salad, Saltimboca a la Romana (beef with parma ham in a sauce sided by a risotto) and Tiramissu. After a long wait without being served beverages our dishes finally arrived. The salad was nothing but average and again after a long wait we received our main course completely cold. We could not eat all of our main course and just decided to give a last shot trying the Tiramissu which was nothing but average. In my opinion they are not prepared to have 3 different restaurants working at the same time. Consider eating out!
One final tip, always consider taking taxis for your trips to the falls, downtown Foz do Iguaçu, Argentina and Paraguay. Call one of the reliable companies available so they can pick you up at the hotel and serve you for a whole day to all attractions (we were very well served & would recommend Mr. Laercio - tel 4 5 9 1 1 2 3 4 9 0).
DAY 1
We arrived at the airport in the afternoon and had a driver we hired from Chamon Tour at R$ 60.00 to take us four to the hotel (learnt later that taxi would charge R$ 35.00). Took the rest of the day to get to know the hotel facilities (swimming pools, gardens, game rooms, bars, fishing pond, bicycles, etc...). We went out for dinner at Chef Lopes which is a valid and affordable restaurant specialized in beef. They are located in downtown Foz do Iguacu and have a shuttle service to and from the main hotels of the town.
DAY 2
We hired a Chamon Tour driver for the whole day to take us to the falls and Parque das Aves at R$ 336.00 just for the transportation not including tickets to the attractions (learnt later that a regular taxi would charge us less than R$ 200.00 for the same service). Iguaçu falls are majestic and are really worth seeing but it is a heavy walking for younger kids or seniors. Be prepared for stairs and lots of down/up hills. My 3 years old kid got tired in the middle of the way down to the falls plus got scared with the many Quatis (raccoons) that get really close to people sniffing for food, so my wife and him returned to the food court close by where they had to wait for my niece and me while we were on our way to the falls. We then headed to Parque das Aves (Birds Park) where we could see many native birds including some from other parts of the planet. Worth for all ages but be prepared to pay entrance tickets in cash as they do not take credit/debit cards. Save some 2-3 hours for the falls plus some 2 hours for Parque das Aves.
DAY 3
For our 3rd day we decided to hire a regular taxi driver to pick us up at the hotel and take us for visits at Itaipu power plant and the Budist Temple at R$ 160.00-. They have several types of trips in Itaipu and we decided to take the Itaipu Panoramic Tour. The trip was good and well organized (on a double-decker bus). Very good for kids and seniors. We were lucky to see the "show" of the water discharging from the reservoir (this happens just in 10% of the year). Remember and valid to pre-schedule your trips at Itaupu to avoid long lines and better organize your tours according to your convenience. If you have spare time you should consider combining a visit to the Budist Temple in the same day you go to Itaipu. The temple is located in a large rural property and is quite a peaceful and resting spot.
DAY 4
We could go shopping at either Paraguay or in the Argetinean Duty free shop but decided to spend the morning in the hotel fishing pond with our niece and kid. We left Foz do Iguacu just after lunch.

Room Tip: Choose rooms in the new area of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ricardo1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,625 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,284
    898
    307
    99
    37
See reviews for
1,533
275
19
365
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
184 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

We stayed at this hotel as part of our Trafalgar Tour.
I was a bit concerned after reading previous feedback, but, it turned out to be a great place. No issues with the safe box, bill or others. They offered free WI-Fi at great speed. It was fast and easy to access.
The location is beautiful, conveniently near the Iguasu Falls.
Breakfast was great, a little bit of eveything, plenty of fresh fruit, which I love, just the juice was a bit watery.
We had a massage at the SPA, it was just what we needed after the walk to the Falls, and the price was not too bad. Sign language was a big help to the languaege barriere. The pools were open 24 hours, nice & warm. The hotel provides guests with a robe to wear to the pool.
Check out was smooth, no surprises & we could pay in any currency.
Great place for honeymooners, or just to get away.
A place I would recommend to friends & family.
I loved the shower, the best we had on this trip.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nonnita02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

Loved our stay here. Great location close to town and a short drive to the falls. The hotel staff was great. The rooms could use and update but they were clean and sufficient. Free wi-fi throughout the hotel.

The restaurant had an amazing dinner buffet full of meats, veggies, cheeses, breads and desserts. You will over eat here.

The coolest part of the hotel is the pool. It's water comes directly from a hot spring beneath the hotel. It is piped into the jacuzzi and cascades down through three more pools, each one cooler in temperature as you descend. The water is clean, chemical free and completely recycled out of the pool every four hours.

Room Tip: Get a room above the main floor for safety at the windows and for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BMTrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darien, Illinois
Level Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2013

Spent a night at the hotel in order to visit the falls and Bird Park. The buffet was atrocious in that they served hot dogs in a tomato sauce at both buffets the dinner and breakfast buffets. Unfortunately, the night of our stay was the time of a bank conference making the lobby deafening the whole time of our visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cypress, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of Brendan vacations escorted tour, while visiting Iguassu falls. Very nice rooms - clean, comfortable, modern. Beautiful grounds and wonderful pools. Excellent food. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lmarcketta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
268 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

For the well heeled traveller looking for a one stop resort to relax in or a higher end spot to call home while exploring the south end of Brasil, this is likely one of the best places to start at. I had a spotless, reasonably well appointed room in the new building that was comfortable, if a little sterile. All the normal amenities except, surprisingly, kleenex! No big deal, but surprised. Property has on ground thermal pool at 36C, 4 restaurants and more than one place to quench your thirst. Staff are knowledgeable though English is only certain with the front desk staff - the rest have limited to none and often have to rely on gestures, patience and smiles to get your message across. Food was good - buffet was always well stocked. Resort is some 5 kms out of town so transportation should be kept in mind. Several tourist attractions close by.

Room Tip: Ask for the new building - though in fairness, I did not inspect the older section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Late-Day-Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

We spent 2 nights at this hotel and found everything really good. Nice reception area with plenty of seats and friendly, helpful staff at reception. Our room was really bright,large and clean,with
a really large shower and toilet separated from the wash hand basins by a door which gave
privacy. The room was a bit away from reception,out through glass doors along an open walk-way on stilts with a raffia roof which reminded me of our holiday in Fiji. Wow! the heat just hit you
as you left the aircon till you arrived at the annexe. Breakfasts were great,we were with a group,
and our designated seating area was near all the buffets. Good choice,plenty of it,and attractively
set out. Dinner was the same,again great choice,only observation was the food choice seemed to
be the same both nights. Could be monotonous if there for longer maybe. It was good to have a
rest after seeing the Falls so we used the pool and had a light lunch at the pool bar. Girls so
friendly and helpful there, toastie could have been shared as it was so big. Nice shop on site too
with a lovely selection of Brasilian t-shirts and swimwear. Tropical storms both nights late,double
glazing kept the noise of the thunder to a minimum. Very busy hotel,conference members everywhere but didn't hamper the service or the enjoyment.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Foz do Iguacu hotels
City Center
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
#17 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,246 reviews
City Center
Del Rey Hotel
Del Rey Hotel
#2 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Wyndham Golden Foz Suites
Wyndham Golden Foz Suites
#26 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
Viale Cataratas Hotel
#32 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mabu Thermas Grand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mabu Thermas Grand Resort

Property: Mabu Thermas Grand Resort
Address: Av. das Cataratas, 3175, Foz do Iguacu, State of Parana 85853-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Parana > Foz do Iguacu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#6 Luxury Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#7 Business Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#12 Family Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#20 Romantic Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mabu Thermas Grand Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 362
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Prestigia, Hotelopia and Booking.com so you can book your Mabu Thermas Grand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mabu Thermas And Hotel Foz Do Iguacu
Mabu Thermas Hotel
Hotel Mabu Thermas
Mabu Thermas Grand Resort Foz Do Iguacu, Brazil - Parana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing