We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mabu Thermas Grand Resort
Ranked #20 of 78 Hotels in Foz do Iguacu
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
159 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

We had both dinner and breakfast at this hotel and the food was good. The room was large with a large bathroom and we had no problems with noise. We didn't get a chance to swim in the pool but the pool areas looked really good. We went to both sides of the falls and the bird park over a two day period so didn't spend too much time in the hotel itself.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RosieCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H0teisMabu, Gerente geral at Mabu Thermas Grand Resort, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear Mrs. Rosie,

Thank you for your review and your avaiability to rate us at Trip Advisor. In our continuous search to remain as reference in Resorts in Brazil, we look forward to critic reviews to maintain or aperfection the standards in quality and guest atendance.
It would be a pleasure to have you again at Mabu Thermas Grand Resort.

Regards,

Mario Dias
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,705 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,306
    921
    326
    107
    45
See reviews for
1,583
280
19
377
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Windsor, New Jersey
Level Contributor
87 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

The Mabu Resort was included as part of a comprehensive tour of South America so it was not chosen by my husband and I. The hotel is near the falls and is a large facility that caters to tour groups and families.
The service is very poor and detracts from the experience of staying in an attractive hotel which has lovely grounds.
We checked into our room and found that the connection to the toilet was broken and the bathroom and shower were flooded. It took an hour an a half for us to check into another room. (They first wanted us to stay at a room for the handicapped which was not equipped for non-handicapped personnel.)

The air-conditioning was controlled by one of our keys and we found, to our dismay that when we left the room twice, on two separate occasions, the key was removed by the maid -never found- and all air conditioning was off. Even though we alerted the front desk, this occurred again, even after the first compliant..

The Italian restaurant, on site, was frequented by almost all the members of our small group. It took us one hour and a half to receive only one dish - our entrees. The restaurant was empty except for our small group and even though we registered our concern, our meals did not come any quicker. We found a significant error on our bill. We were charged for an appetizer we did not eat.
The front desk personnel spoke English but they were very poor in responding to our requests.
They were very unconcerned about providing any acceptable service!

Room Tip: Speak Portuguese
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cjb43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H0teisMabu, Gerente geral at Mabu Thermas Grand Resort, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you your avaiability on avaluating us on Trip Advisor, we would like to inform you that all sectors mentioned on your review were contacted and asked for better improvements on the problems mentioned, aperfectioning our services in vision for exellence guest treatment.
It will be a pleasure to have you here at Mabu Thermas Grand Resort.

Regards,

Mario Dias
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

Let me begin by warning you: this is an all-inclusive resort. Why should I be "warning" you of that? Well, when I booked a room at this resort with hotels.com, this information was not evident. I inadvertently booked a room at a non all-inclusive rate to spend three nights in Foz do Iguaçu during Brazil's Carnival period with my wife. Common sense makes one think that the difference between an all-inclusive rate and a non all-inclusive one is that with the later you should be prepared to pay separately for products that would be otherwise included in the rate. However, at Mabu this is not exactly the case. Duly identified with their yellow wristband, guests paying non all-inclusive rates are simply excluded from some attractions and areas at the hotel. We were particularly annoyed not to be allowed at the hotel’s thematic dinners, even if, of course, we were willing to pay for any additional service not included in the rate. In other words, the hotel discriminates their customers in a way that guests paying non all-inclusive rates are considered to be second-class clients. At least that was how we felt.

Apart from that, the hotel has good premises – including comfortable and spacious rooms, beautiful pools and gardens. The resort has a very good outdoor infrastructure for numerous activities, such as fishing, soccer, tennis, etc. The food is also to be praised – much better as compared to other all-inclusive resorts we had been in other countries, especially the breakfast. The hotel is perfectly suited for families with children, who would certainly enjoy the many activities offered (including a cosy structure reproducing the “Sitio do Pica-Pau Amarelo”, a Brazilian classic and famous novel by Monteiro Lobato).

I would nevertheless strongly advice you to avoid Carnival and other holiday periods. As I should have suspected, the place was crowded, in a way that prevented us from making the best use of the hotel’s good infrastructure. Also, as I mentioned above, the hotel is designed for families with children. I would say this is not the ideal place for couples looking for peace and tranquility: in addition to the many children running and shouting around, one thing that bothered us was the loud music and the omnipresent voice that echoed in the pool area informing of the many attractions of the hotel – or just “cheering up” guests. But that, I admit, is a common trait in all-inclusive resorts, and guests willing to book a room in one of them should know what to expect. One thing that should not be in the script for any hotel, however, was the noise in the rooms. We were under the impression walls were made of paper! We could hear conversations, treads, and all sorts of noise coming from neighboring rooms.

The hotel staff was helpful and friendly, particularly the lady that assisted us at the Tastare restaurant at night. I only disliked the presence of a photographer taking random photos of guests without asking for permission nor explaining what he or the hotel would do with the pictures – something that I particularly found a little intrusive.

In sum, this hotel has a good infrastructure, helpful staff and is well located for those willing to visit the Iguaçu Park. I would say it is a resort with a potential to become a recommendable place – as long as they address the discrimination between guests and the noise in the rooms.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexandrenina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H0teisMabu, Gerente geral at Mabu Thermas Grand Resort, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Mr. Alexandre,

We would like to thank you your avaiability on avaluating us on Trip Advisor, we would like to inform you that all sectors mentioned on your review were contacted and asked for better improvements on the problems mentioned, aperfectioning our services in vision for exellence guest treatment.

It will be a pleasure to have you here at Mabu Thermas Grand Resort.

Regards,

Mario Dias
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

We recently (2/1/14) stayed overnight at this hotel. We were part of a large group staying there. It was clean, very friendly staff, but there were a few things we noticed that could use improvement: The eating area around the pool (we didn't want to eat indoors as they didn't open up for dinner until LATE) was completely understaffed and overpriced. The food was only fair, it was way overpriced, and the atmosphere was chaotic. There were no instructions on the phone in the room as to how to get a hold of the front desk, how to call room-to-room, etc. But back to the positives, it is a really nice, large hotel. The rooms were clean and large. Private bathroom with hairdryers, amenities, etc. The breakfast was ideal. Lots of tasty food, fresh fruit, etc. Good value.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OnePediRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H0teisMabu, Gerente geral at Mabu Thermas Grand Resort, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear OnePediRN,

We would like to thank you your avaiability on avaluating us on Trip Advisor, we would like to inform you that all sectors mentioned on your review were contacted and asked for better improvements on the problems mentioned, aperfectioning our services in vision for exellence guest treatment.
It will be a pleasure to have you here at Mabu Thermas Grand Resort.

Regards,

Mario Dias
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

We had a lovely two night stay at this hotel which was good value for monies. Whilst the poolside areas smacked of a cheap holiday resort, the rest of the hotel communal areas were good - our room was luxurious and spotlessly clean. The breakfast was excellent and plentiful.
On the day of our departure, we had to get a flight from Iguacu to Buenos Aires - unfortunately, we did not realise there are two airports in the area (one in Brazil and the other in Argentina) - we went to wrong one but were fortunate that the time difference between Brazil and Argentina meant that we did not miss our flight.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MAMcCabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H0teisMabu, Gerente geral at Mabu Thermas Grand Resort, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear Mr. Mamccabe,

Thank you for your review and your avaiability to rate us at Trip Advisor. In our continuous search to remain as reference in Resorts in Brazil, we look forward to critic reviews to maintain or aperfection the standards in quality and guest atendance.
It would be a pleasure to have you again at Mabu Thermas Grand Resort.

Sincerely,

Mario Dias
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viby, Denmark
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

Fair sized room -478 . Nice and clean . Nice breakfast with among other things lots of fruit and bread.
Poor wifi-connection - unable to send an email with photo even in downscaled size.
The location and concept of the hotel is primarily suitable for families with children who want ' all-inclusive ' . Less suitable for adult couples who want to explore the city.
Far from everything. Everything you need - for example bottled water for brushing teeth - must be purchased in one of the resort's 5 restaurants to restaurant-prices, as there is no opportunity to shop locally within about 5 miles.
A very poor service : My wife got ill - heatstroke - on an excursion to the waterfall, and dared only eat fruit and bread for dinner. I turned to all the restaurants in the hotel to buy fresh fruit and bread (which was plentiful at breakfast), but no one wanted to grant my prayer – everyone told me to buy a dish from the menu.
As the hotel is placed ‘in the middle of no-where ' - no ATM nearby, and we had just arrived from Argentina , carrying only Argentine peso and U.S. $ , I went to the frontdesk to ask if I on my Mastercard or my Visa card could receive some local currency , in order to take a taxi downtown to shop necessities for my wife. My prayer was flatly refused stating that the hotel (which is located on the border between Brazil / Argentina / Paraguay and allegedly primarily feed on tourists, who comes to watch the magnificant nearby waterfall) can not withdraw local currency for the visitors. Inside the resort, you can do all your purchases by showing your room card!
When I went out on the square in front of the hotel I was approached by a friendly man José Antonio Arruda (josearruda31@hotmail.com ), who asked if I was looking for something. I explained to him the situation, that I was only in possession of foreign currency , and that I needed to find a supermarket with an ATM so I could buy dinner for his wife . He stated that he was taxi-driver, that he wanted to drive me to a supermarket with ATM, and that he also accepted to be paid in foreign currency.
Upon arrival at the supermarket, he would not hear of payment for this trip, but insisted on waiting at the exit for my moneyexchange and purchasing . After my shopping , José drove me the about 5 miles back to the hotel. The price José asked for, driving me downtown , waiting for my purchase and driving me back to the hotel was rediculous 35 Rias. Five Stars Plus to José Arruda , but Two Stars Minus for the Service provided to Mabu

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank asjdk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H0teisMabu, Gerente geral at Mabu Thermas Grand Resort, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Mr. Asjdk,

We would like to thank you your avaiability on avaluating us on Trip Advisor, we would like to inform you that all sectors mentioned on your review were contacted and asked for better improvements on the problems mentioned, aperfectioning our services in vision for exellence guest treatment.

It will be a pleasure to have you here at Mabu Thermas Grand Resort.

Regards,

Mario Dias
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uppsala, Sweden
Level Contributor
68 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

We stayed at the resort for three nights while visiting the waterfalls. The rooms was absolutely great, tastefully decorated and it felt almost new. Nice beds and cleaning was good. Free wifi in the room and around the hotel, but you can only log in with one device, so choose wisely - maybe the tablet or computer is a better choice than your mobile phone.

The hotel had a system where you used your room key card to pay for drinks and food. You ordered, the staff scanned you key card and when you checked out you payed the bill everything you consumed during the stay.

The staff working in the front desk and tour desk speak good English, while other staff aren't as good. Some patience and a smile always helps.

The breakfast buffet was crowded and some thing run out quickly without being replaced, that is the only negative thing we experienced.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Falling2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Foz do Iguacu hotels
City Center
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
#18 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,274 reviews
City Center
Del Rey Hotel
Del Rey Hotel
#2 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Viale Cataratas Hotel
#32 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
Belmond Hotel das Cataratas
#1 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mabu Thermas Grand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mabu Thermas Grand Resort

Property: Mabu Thermas Grand Resort
Address: Av. das Cataratas, 3175, Foz do Iguacu, State of Parana 85853-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Parana > Foz do Iguacu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#6 Luxury Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#7 Business Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#12 Family Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#20 Romantic Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mabu Thermas Grand Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 362
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mabu Thermas Grand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mabu Thermas And Hotel Foz Do Iguacu
Mabu Thermas Hotel
Hotel Mabu Thermas
Mabu Thermas Grand Resort Foz Do Iguacu, Brazil - Parana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing