We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good option for events and leisure”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mabu Thermas Grand Resort
Ranked #22 of 78 Hotels in Foz do Iguacu
São Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good option for events and leisure”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I satyed 2 days in aug/14 for a company seminar. The infrastructure for events is huge, there are gigantic rooms, some need a change in the carpet, but they are OK and full of space.
The rooms at the new building are great, nothing to complain. Some people got older rooms, some facing the pool, much more noisy.
The hotel stays at a beutiful green area, very close to dowtown - 15 R$ a cab.
There are nice heated pools and things to entartein kids, and we can see a big construction in the property that seems to be a new complex of pools, that should be ready by 2015, I guess. That prospect is great for bringing kids to Mabu after these new pools.
The food is OK, nothing special, but the service is very good.
One negative factor is that they charge ridiculous prices for a beer, for instance. That bothers me in huge expensive hotels, charging for a beer more than you would pay in a very nice bar. It is unnecessary, almost 10 R$ a beer? Guests would consume more if you charge more appropriatelly these extras, in my opinion.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new building, that are better and quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcos040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H0teisMabu, Gerente geral at Mabu Thermas Grand Resort, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear Mr. Marcos,

Thank you for your review and your avaiability to rate us at Trip Advisor. In our continuous search to remain as reference in Resorts in Brazil, we look forward to critic reviews to maintain or aperfection the standards in quality and guest atendance.

It would be a pleasure to have you again at Mabu Thermas Grand Resort.

Regards,

Mario Dias
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,761 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,329
    940
    336
    109
    47
See reviews for
1,625
286
20
380
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Stayed here for a few nights, nicely groomed property. Try to avoid a getting a room that faces the pool as they are very loud. The gym facility is quite dated, but the food in the restaurant was ok. Beds are as hard as rocks.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jessicav85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H0teisMabu, Gerente geral at Mabu Thermas Grand Resort, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Mrs. Jessica,

We would like to thank you your avaiability on avaluating us on Trip Advisor, we would like to inform you that all sectors mentioned on your review were contacted and asked for better improvements on the problems mentioned, aperfectioning our services in vision for exellence guest treatment.

It will be a pleasure to have you here at Mabu Thermas Grand Resort.

Regards,

Mario Dias
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The hotel is large, so it would have been helpful to have had a map supplied on check in saying where everything is. They are doing some major extensions to the pools in the grounds so maybe that was the reason. We weren't troubled by noise though. We stayed in room 452, couldn't get the air con to heat as it was quite cold at night but room otherwise good but bathroom a bit worn out but great to have a proper bath! As is their quiet season our experience might have been different at peak. Beds comfortable. Did have English speakers on reception at all times. Door a bit thin and at times were troubled by kids shouting in the corridor.

Food - couldn't get any information as to what room service was - would have been nice to have had a menu in the room, even on asking at reception they couldn't get me one - said it was the information in the room - wasn't. As was travelling with 10 yr old daughter on way back to UK, wanted to eat earlier than 8pm, only one café, next to pool, with limited menu could do this. No ice cream here! We were on BB basis only, which was handy otherwise we would have been tied in to late dinners or overpaid.

Pool: lovely - nice and warm, daughter was able to spend all day in it, gather even the Hotel Cataratas is unheated. Plenty of space - in fact we were often the only ones there - quiet season I guess.

Spa/massage/beauty: supposed to be available but again no information in room and could find no mention of it anywhere else, although reception did give me an extension to call.

There was loads of activities for kids: kids clubs. zipwire and some scary (Brazilian I'm guessing) people dressed up as TV cartoon characters.

Good free wifi - worked well in room.

Great for access to Iguassu falls and town, about 15 mins cab ride to both Cabs cost about 40 Rs to Brazilian side of Falls and about 20RS to town. (3 and a bit Rs to £ at moment). Cab driver to Falls did try and overcharge us by asking us Rs 120 for round trip - er no thanks.

Overall would recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pviz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H0teisMabu, Gerente geral at Mabu Thermas Grand Resort, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Mr. Pviz,

We would like to thank you your avaiability on avaluating us on Trip Advisor, we would like to inform you that all sectors mentioned on your review were contacted and asked for better improvements on the problems mentioned, aperfectioning our services in vision for exellence guest treatment.

It will be a pleasure to have you here at Mabu Thermas Grand Resort.

Regards,

Mario Dias
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 July 2014

i loved staying with luana, gisele, laion,chrystian,alexandre the recreation is really good, funny etc. The hotel in general is really good if i could chose a hotel in foz do iguaçu i'll choose this hote

Room Tip: rooms in the south area are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gabi s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H0teisMabu, Gerente geral at Mabu Thermas Grand Resort, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Mrs. Gabi,

Thank you for your review and your avaiability to rate us at Trip Advisor. In our continuous search to remain as reference in Resorts in Brazil, we look forward to critic reviews to maintain or aperfection the standards in quality and guest atendance.

It would be a pleasure to have you again at Mabu Thermas Grand Resort.

Regards,

Mario Dias
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
332 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

As we walked into the foyer of this hotel we noticed the ***** on a plaque beside the door......but when we got to our room we were very disappointed ...it was ** .....the accommodation in the old part of the hotel is old and very rundown. The refrigerator switched on and off all night and woke me up each time. It appears that only some of the staff speak English....or perhaps it was my Australian accent that they couldn't understand. We had difficulty ordering food for our room and when we went to reception the next day to check what we had been charged for it (just be aware that your room key acts as the tab for your stay except you don't get to sign for the expenses....we could have been charged anything) the staff member who was dealing with us excused himself mid-conversation and said it was the end of his shift you will have to deal with someone else. So then we had to start back at the beginning of our enquiry etc.....we have never experienced service as poor as this anywhere! We would definitely not stay here again and would not recommend it to anyone unless you get to stay in the new part of the hotel....the reviews of it sound completely different.

Room Tip: Only stay here on the condition that you are booked into the new section of the hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helenjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H0teisMabu, Gerente geral at Mabu Thermas Grand Resort, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Mrs. Helenjen,

We would like to thank you your avaiability on avaluating us on Trip Advisor, we would like to inform you that all sectors mentioned on your review were contacted and asked for better improvements on the problems mentioned, aperfectioning our services in vision for exellence guest treatment.

It will be a pleasure to have you here at Mabu Thermas Grand Resort.

Regards,

Mario Dias
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zinkwazi Beach, South Africa
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

As part of a Trafalgar tour my wife and I stayed two nights at this beautiful resort while seeing the falls. The rooms are part of a bungalow unit, some up and some down. They are spacious and well appointed. There is a first class gym on site as well as a lovely outdoor pool. Breakfast was well served buffet style with good omelets and plenty of fruit. I would gladly stay there again and possibly enjoy the golf course that is being completed.

Room Tip: Take an upstairs room to allow you to sleep with the window open and the air con off
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H0teisMabu, Gerente geral at Mabu Thermas Grand Resort, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Mr. Larry,

Thank you for your review and your avaiability to rate us at Trip Advisor. In our continuous search to remain as reference in Resorts in Brazil, we look forward to critic reviews to maintain or aperfection the standards in quality and guest atendance.

It would be a pleasure to have you again at Mabu Thermas Grand Resort.

Regards,

Mario Dias
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The hotel is located on the major 4 lane highway between the airport and the Brazilian border town of Foz do Iguacu. The big attraction in the area for international tourists is the spectacular Iguacu Falls. A lot of Brazilians come to see the falls but also come to the area for the duty-free shopping on the border intersecting Paraguay, Argentina and Brazil.

The hotel has a older section at the front connected to a building behind by a pretty wooden walkway. There is also a beautiful pool area. For a 5 star hotel the rooms are very utilitarian and even from the rooms in the back (newer) building you can hear the highway noise if you keep your window open. I was on the fifth floor - the top floor- in the new part and you could hear a lot dogs barking at night because there is small flavella type village just beside the hotel.

The food is excellent, especially the breakfast, with a wide choice of options fresh and cooked and places to eat inside and outside the building overlooking the pool area. I was there for a conference and it was fine for that purpose - lots of good meeting rooms and casual places to sit and meet throughout the hotel. Also, everything was very clean. However, I would never choose the hotel for a relaxing holiday. It's lacking charm and good service. If you want to relax and splurge the Hotel des Cararatas inside the Iguacu Falls park is outstanding.

One of the challenges at the Mabu is that hardly anyone on the front desk speaks any English at all. They are all very nice and want to help but it wasn't even possible to speak Spanish and be understood, which was surprising given how close they are the Argentina. Overall, the hotel was fine for a conference but I wouldn't choose it for a holiday.

One tip to keep in mind: This hotel and others along the highway offer "tours" to the falls but they all can only drop you at the park entrance. The park experience is exceptionally well-managed by the government. The tour prices we were quoted were upwards of $90US but the local bus that passes the hotel only charges $1 (2.5 reals) each way and lets you off and picks you up at the park gates and at the bus stop just outside the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tartecerise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H0teisMabu, Gerente geral at Mabu Thermas Grand Resort, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Tartecerise,

We would like to thank you your avaiability on avaluating us on Trip Advisor, we would like to inform you that all sectors mentioned on your review were contacted and asked for better improvements on the problems mentioned, aperfectioning our services in vision for exellence guest treatment.
It will be a pleasure to have you here at Mabu Thermas Grand Resort.

Regards,

Mario Dias
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Foz do Iguacu hotels
City Center
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
#18 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,303 reviews
City Center
Del Rey Hotel
Del Rey Hotel
#2 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Viale Cataratas Hotel
#31 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 918 reviews
Belmond Hotel das Cataratas
#1 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mabu Thermas Grand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mabu Thermas Grand Resort

Property: Mabu Thermas Grand Resort
Address: Av. das Cataratas, 3175, Foz do Iguacu, State of Parana 85853-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Parana > Foz do Iguacu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#6 Luxury Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#7 Business Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#12 Family Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#20 Romantic Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mabu Thermas Grand Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 362
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mabu Thermas Grand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mabu Thermas And Hotel Foz Do Iguacu
Mabu Thermas Hotel
Hotel Mabu Thermas
Mabu Thermas Grand Resort Foz Do Iguacu, Brazil - Parana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing