We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location not so great service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mabu Thermas Grand Resort
Ranked #21 of 79 Hotels in Foz do Iguacu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 August 2014

I visited Iguassu Falls in Brazil August 2014 as part of tour of Brazil and Argentina. It used to be a golf course. The location is great. The hotel complex consists of two story bungalows scattered over the golf course. They gave me a room on the ground floor. I requested them to give me the room on upper floor since I had no roommate - no dice. I could hear scuffling sounds from outside during the night. Even though I checked and re-checked the lock on my door but could not sleep well. There was no provision for early morning coffee/tea in the room. A hot water kettle and teabags/coffee grounds and sugar/creamer does not cost much. But the last straw on the camel's back was - my husband tried calling me couple of times but was not patched in to my room ever. A hotel with 4+ stars should have telephone operators who understand English and should be able to connect international calls. I was quite disappointed with the hotel.

Room Tip: I would avoid rooms on the ground floor. One can hear people moving upstairs.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Usha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H0teisMabu, Gerente geral at Mabu Thermas Grand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear Usha,

The description given in your comment about our hotel does not match our characteristics. We believe you might have mistaken yourself when choosing the hotel you wanted to comment on, as per say we couldn't find you on our guest list.
Could we count on your comprehension so that you could remove your evaluation and comment so not to have any future problems?

We thank you for the comprehension and do hope to see you at our resort someday!


Best regards,

Mario Dias
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,038)
There are newer reviews for Mabu Thermas Grand Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

57 - 63 of 3,038 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2014

We stayed here for two nights as part of a tour of Brazil. The hotel is lovely with many facilities but the renovations to the pool area were a little intrusive. Also the restaurants were not all open so the "choice" was one or none! Admittedly it was not the high season for Brazil, but if the hotel,is staying open we would have liked the choice of where to eat. Breakfast was great though! Room was clean, furniture was dated but had a charm of its own. Great base for exploring both the Brazilian and Argentinian side of the Falls. We did order an early breakfast for our last morning, which be ever arrived. However, overall an enjoyable stay.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank angela c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H0teisMabu, Gerente geral at Mabu Thermas Grand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Mrs. Angela,

We would like to thank you your avaiability on avaluating us on Trip Advisor, we would like to inform you that all sectors mentioned on your review were contacted and asked for better improvements on the problems mentioned, aperfectioning our services in vision for exellence guest treatment.

It will be a pleasure to have you here at Mabu Thermas Grand Resort.

Regards,

Mario Dias
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I satyed 2 days in aug/14 for a company seminar. The infrastructure for events is huge, there are gigantic rooms, some need a change in the carpet, but they are OK and full of space.
The rooms at the new building are great, nothing to complain. Some people got older rooms, some facing the pool, much more noisy.
The hotel stays at a beutiful green area, very close to dowtown - 15 R$ a cab.
There are nice heated pools and things to entartein kids, and we can see a big construction in the property that seems to be a new complex of pools, that should be ready by 2015, I guess. That prospect is great for bringing kids to Mabu after these new pools.
The food is OK, nothing special, but the service is very good.
One negative factor is that they charge ridiculous prices for a beer, for instance. That bothers me in huge expensive hotels, charging for a beer more than you would pay in a very nice bar. It is unnecessary, almost 10 R$ a beer? Guests would consume more if you charge more appropriatelly these extras, in my opinion.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new building, that are better and quieter
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcos040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H0teisMabu, Gerente geral at Mabu Thermas Grand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Dear Mr. Marcos,

Thank you for your review and your avaiability to rate us at Trip Advisor. In our continuous search to remain as reference in Resorts in Brazil, we look forward to critic reviews to maintain or aperfection the standards in quality and guest atendance.

It would be a pleasure to have you again at Mabu Thermas Grand Resort.

Regards,

Mario Dias
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Stayed here for a few nights, nicely groomed property. Try to avoid a getting a room that faces the pool as they are very loud. The gym facility is quite dated, but the food in the restaurant was ok. Beds are as hard as rocks.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jessicav85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H0teisMabu, Gerente geral at Mabu Thermas Grand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Mrs. Jessica,

We would like to thank you your avaiability on avaluating us on Trip Advisor, we would like to inform you that all sectors mentioned on your review were contacted and asked for better improvements on the problems mentioned, aperfectioning our services in vision for exellence guest treatment.

It will be a pleasure to have you here at Mabu Thermas Grand Resort.

Regards,

Mario Dias
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The hotel is large, so it would have been helpful to have had a map supplied on check in saying where everything is. They are doing some major extensions to the pools in the grounds so maybe that was the reason. We weren't troubled by noise though. We stayed in room 452, couldn't get the air con to heat as it was quite cold at night but room otherwise good but bathroom a bit worn out but great to have a proper bath! As is their quiet season our experience might have been different at peak. Beds comfortable. Did have English speakers on reception at all times. Door a bit thin and at times were troubled by kids shouting in the corridor.

Food - couldn't get any information as to what room service was - would have been nice to have had a menu in the room, even on asking at reception they couldn't get me one - said it was the information in the room - wasn't. As was travelling with 10 yr old daughter on way back to UK, wanted to eat earlier than 8pm, only one café, next to pool, with limited menu could do this. No ice cream here! We were on BB basis only, which was handy otherwise we would have been tied in to late dinners or overpaid.

Pool: lovely - nice and warm, daughter was able to spend all day in it, gather even the Hotel Cataratas is unheated. Plenty of space - in fact we were often the only ones there - quiet season I guess.

Spa/massage/beauty: supposed to be available but again no information in room and could find no mention of it anywhere else, although reception did give me an extension to call.

There was loads of activities for kids: kids clubs. zipwire and some scary (Brazilian I'm guessing) people dressed up as TV cartoon characters.

Good free wifi - worked well in room.

Great for access to Iguassu falls and town, about 15 mins cab ride to both Cabs cost about 40 Rs to Brazilian side of Falls and about 20RS to town. (3 and a bit Rs to £ at moment). Cab driver to Falls did try and overcharge us by asking us Rs 120 for round trip - er no thanks.

Overall would recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Pviz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H0teisMabu, Gerente geral at Mabu Thermas Grand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Mr. Pviz,

We would like to thank you your avaiability on avaluating us on Trip Advisor, we would like to inform you that all sectors mentioned on your review were contacted and asked for better improvements on the problems mentioned, aperfectioning our services in vision for exellence guest treatment.

It will be a pleasure to have you here at Mabu Thermas Grand Resort.

Regards,

Mario Dias
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

i loved staying with luana, gisele, laion,chrystian,alexandre the recreation is really good, funny etc. The hotel in general is really good if i could chose a hotel in foz do iguaçu i'll choose this hote

Room Tip: rooms in the south area are quieter
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gabi s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H0teisMabu, Gerente geral at Mabu Thermas Grand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Mrs. Gabi,

Thank you for your review and your avaiability to rate us at Trip Advisor. In our continuous search to remain as reference in Resorts in Brazil, we look forward to critic reviews to maintain or aperfection the standards in quality and guest atendance.

It would be a pleasure to have you again at Mabu Thermas Grand Resort.

Regards,

Mario Dias
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

As we walked into the foyer of this hotel we noticed the ***** on a plaque beside the door......but when we got to our room we were very disappointed ...it was ** .....the accommodation in the old part of the hotel is old and very rundown. The refrigerator switched on and off all night and woke me up each time. It appears that only some of the staff speak English....or perhaps it was my Australian accent that they couldn't understand. We had difficulty ordering food for our room and when we went to reception the next day to check what we had been charged for it (just be aware that your room key acts as the tab for your stay except you don't get to sign for the expenses....we could have been charged anything) the staff member who was dealing with us excused himself mid-conversation and said it was the end of his shift you will have to deal with someone else. So then we had to start back at the beginning of our enquiry etc.....we have never experienced service as poor as this anywhere! We would definitely not stay here again and would not recommend it to anyone unless you get to stay in the new part of the hotel....the reviews of it sound completely different.

Room Tip: Only stay here on the condition that you are booked into the new section of the hotel!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helenjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H0teisMabu, Gerente geral at Mabu Thermas Grand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Mrs. Helenjen,

We would like to thank you your avaiability on avaluating us on Trip Advisor, we would like to inform you that all sectors mentioned on your review were contacted and asked for better improvements on the problems mentioned, aperfectioning our services in vision for exellence guest treatment.

It will be a pleasure to have you here at Mabu Thermas Grand Resort.

Regards,

Mario Dias
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Foz do Iguacu hotels
City Center
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
#17 of 79 in Foz do Iguacu
1,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Del Rey Hotel
Del Rey Hotel
#2 of 79 in Foz do Iguacu
2,635 reviews
Viale Cataratas Hotel
#32 of 79 in Foz do Iguacu
978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mabu Thermas Grand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mabu Thermas Grand Resort

Address: Av. das Cataratas, 3175, Foz do Iguacu, State of Parana 85853-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Parana > Foz do Iguacu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#6 Luxury Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#7 Business Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#12 Family Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#20 Romantic Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
Price Range: £117 - £390 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mabu Thermas Grand Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 362
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Prestigia, Expedia and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mabu Thermas Grand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mabu Thermas And Hotel Foz Do Iguacu
Mabu Thermas Hotel
Hotel Mabu Thermas
Mabu Thermas Grand Resort Foz Do Iguacu, Brazil - Parana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing