We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“San Martin Stay - November 2013”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
San Martin Hotel & Resort
Ranked #32 of 78 Hotels in Foz do Iguacu
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“San Martin Stay - November 2013”
Reviewed 7 December 2013

I stayed here for two nights in November 2013. The hotel is within walking distance of the Brazilian side of Iguacu Falls and only about a 5 minute taxi ride from the airport. The hotel picked us up when we arrived at Foz do Iguacu which was nice, but there was no return trip included so we had to take a taxi. They charged 20 reis for this short trip which was a complete rip off. We spent about 2 hours on the Brazilian side of the falls and the next day the hotel arranged for a driver to take us over to the Argentina side, where you will spend far more time. The hotel isn't close to town so you are at their mercy when it comes to food and it was awful. The first night we paid 50 reis per person for the dinner buffet which was disgusting and the second night we ate at the a la carte bar which was equally as bad. The rooms were sparse but clean, though they didn't offer lotion or shower gel. If I were to do it again I would not stay at San Martin due to the location and the food. I'd likely choose to stay in town so you are closer to the Argentina side and have choices for food.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skemmer1724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leandro C, Sales Manager at San Martin Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
The San Martin Resort & Spa appreciate your comments. The same without doubts will help us improve and enhance our services and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,425 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    353
    659
    272
    91
    50
See reviews for
454
615
69
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee Scotland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

There is no way anyone could walk to the falls from here. The falls are nearby but transportation is required. That said, there are no hotels within walking distance. My main complaint about this hotel is the complete lack of service and the disdainful manner of the staff. I ordered a beer at the bar and twenty minutes later I was still waiting. They have a chitty system where you hand it over before you can order anything. The waiter disappeared with it and I had to ask for it back as I had to leave for a trip in ten minutes. The same happened that same evening. The rooms were ok and clean the pool was fair with awful service. The grounds around the hotel were stunning with a 1 km walk round part of the rain forest. If reasonable food and good service are important to you, stay away from this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sukiDundeeScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leandro C, Sales Manager at San Martin Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
The San Martin Resort & Spa appreciate your comments. The same without doubts will help us improve and enhance our services and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

the hotel is big enough, we had an upgrade to a really nice room. big pool, good drinks, and next to the view from the brazilian side of the cataratas.amazing stay. My family and i stayed there for new year'seve at 2010-2011 and we had an amazing time at the party the hotel organized to make the toast at 12.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FLC-Argentina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leandro C, Sales Manager at San Martin Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
The San Martin Resort & Spa appreciate your comments. The same without doubts will help us improve and enhance our services and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 November 2013

this hotel is advertised as "simple" so we were pleasantly surprised, its good value and comfortable, and 5 mins walk from the brazillian entrance to the falls.. The pool is large with many sunbeds all set in beautiful grounds. the food is good and not pricey as we were led to believe, ok its not 5* service, but it is comfortable and friendly. The rooms are quiet and spacious. The brazillian side of the falls is breathtaking!!!, the argentine side is up close and awesome, be prepared to get wet! We have been to many hotels round the world, this is good value and what an attraction on the door step!!!!!

Room Tip: allow an extra night so you can enjoy the pool and grounds
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debbiedonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leandro C, Sales Manager at San Martin Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
The San Martin Resort & Spa appreciate your comments. The same without doubts will help us improve and enhance our services and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

This hotel is 400m from one of the great sites of the world and in the national park - it is the obvious place to stay. That said, it is a reasonable family hotel who were very helpful (we had a shower problem and they immediately changed us to another room). The food was good enough and fairly priced and the grounds are lovely. We had a wonderful 24h stay there and went to the falls and the bird park (both *****). At the falls, only do the boat ride if you want wet fun and a memorable photo: you don't really get close enough to the main falls but you do get to see the Argentinian side, albeit from a distance.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBLB2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leandro C, Sales Manager at San Martin Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
The San Martin Resort & Spa appreciate your comments. The same without doubts will help us improve and enhance our services and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
78 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Stayed at the San Martin in July 2013. Excellent location for the Brazilian side of the falls, within walking distance. Very good rooms, and excellent grounds to walk around. Food was very good, excellent selection for buffer in the morning and evening. On a negative, the staff were a little reactive. Has a small childrens room with TV and pool table which needs a lock of paint.

Overall a good place to stay in Foz.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leandro C, Sales Manager at San Martin Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
The San Martin Resort & Spa appreciate your comments. The same without doubts will help us improve and enhance our services and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Nice hotel. Great setting and very convenient to Iguacu Falls. Made the mistake of eating there as arrived after 9pm in the evening. We went to the restaurant as it closed at 10.30pm. It is like a canteen with most people going for the all you can eat buffet. My girlfriend and I opted for the al a carte, ordering spaghetti carbonara and penne in a four cheese sauce. They were both awful and only managed a couple of bites. The waiter did not even ask if there was a problem clearing the table like it was completely normal. I would have no problem recommending the hotel as a place to stay, if visiting the falls. good rooms, great shower, but the food was a complete joke.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael_and_Laura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leandro C, Sales Manager at San Martin Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
The San Martin Resort & Spa appreciate your comments. The same without doubts will help us improve and enhance our services and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Foz do Iguacu hotels
Canzi Cataratas Hotel
#47 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Hotel Colonial Iguacu
#44 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
City Center
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
#18 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Del Rey Hotel
Del Rey Hotel
#2 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,492 reviews
San Juan Eco Hotel
#10 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Martin Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Martin Hotel & Resort

Property: San Martin Hotel & Resort
Address: Rodovia das Cataratas, Km 21 | Parque Nacional Do Iguacu, Foz do Iguacu, State of Parana 85855-750, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Parana > Foz do Iguacu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#8 Luxury Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — San Martin Hotel & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Martin Hotel and Resort is located just for 400 meters from the main entrance of the National Park, 03 kilometers from Foz do Iguaçu Airport, and 10 kilometers from the downtown. The resort has 135 rooms, divided in 3 categories. The simple one is the standard, the superior is a medium comfort, and superior class the deluxe one, and junior suites. All the rooms have TV, air con, minibar, telephone, wi-fi free of charge, trail inside of the wood for walking, and a beautiful and wonderful pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), ACCOR, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your San Martin Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Martin Hotel Foz Do Iguacu
San Martin Hotel And Resort
San Martin Resort
San Martin Hotel & Resort Foz Do Iguacu, Brazil - Parana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing