We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A realy good hotel for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
San Martin Resort & Spa
Ranked #30 of 78 Hotels in Foz do Iguacu
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A realy good hotel for the price”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We stayed for 4 nights and 3 days at this hotel. It was very good indeed despite one little problem we had. The hotel offers a free check-in transfer from the airport although the van wasn't there when we arrived but they reagended a check-out transfer for free.
Positive points: near the airport, the access to Argentina and the Iguaçu Falls park, a walking distance from the last one. The rooms where rather new and they had a very good bathroom. The avarage food price in the hotel is quite ok and the breakfast is good, but it could have a few more options. The staff where very polite.
Negative points: the wi-fi conection was a bit slow, the beds, despite confortable it could be a bit longer, my feet where outside of the bed and I am not even tall.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luca_Rodrigues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leandro C, Sales Manager at San Martin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 12 May 2017
The San Martin Resort & Spa appreciate your comments. The same without doubts will help us improve and enhance our services and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,482 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    377
    681
    280
    93
    51
See reviews for
474
640
70
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bulgaria
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

It is well situated but no english speeking staff, they have strange organisation for consumption - they give us one piece of paper with number / for 2 persons/, only with this paper you can order drink and food, and if we are separate we can't order! After the waiter don't give us the bill. The food in restaurant bad quality and no variaty, the breakfast also.

They have huge park but not quite place, all day we was listnening loud disco with abruptly interruptions for repair of Speakers.

To get the room we pass through a maze of corridors and no ventilation, you feel that you are lost and you can choke given that outside is over 40 degrees. Rooms are very small - like the rooms in London hotels. We have again only 1 key for the room - again we must be all the time together.
At the end when we check out they put some more drinks in the bill and when I ask for invoice they give me just piece of paper with number and price of drinks. They don't have invoice it first time they hear for thе existing of this document.

I ask for claims book but again no body knows. This hotel definitely ruin our good experiences of waterfall and all the good emotions that we had until this. We was very disappointing. This hotel in Europe can not exist, would pay so many complaints that it broke! But they don't care - they have enough tourist because of good location.

Room Tip: No good rooms! Don't choose this hotel. They have enormous natural park but they make rooms in s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YulianaBulgaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leandro C, Sales Manager at San Martin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 15 May 2017
The San Martin Resort & Spa appreciate your comments. The same without doubts will help us improve and enhance our services and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We simply loved it. The resort fulfilled our expectations of a few days in the middle of the rainforest to the utmost as we had all the comfort expected.
The hotel resort is about 2km away from the airport (with no plane noise ) and only 300m away from the entrance of the Iguacu National Park. Another attraction is the bird park next door which we found added to the rainforest feeling when heering the birds on the hotel premises.
If visiting the city a public bus stops across the street (you will no where to get off)
Concerning the hotel resort: It is fabulous! Large enough to get lost (kidding!) on the trail throught the forest on the premises, soccer / sportsfields, a wonderful and relaxing swimming pool area, ponds etc. The rooms are adequate, the food is great. We did not think the staff was more unpleasant than elsewhere in Brasil as mentioned in some reviews .

Room Tip: Rooms on the west (bird park side) can be a bit noisy if you don't like bird sounds... A/C only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trailbuster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leandro C, Sales Manager at San Martin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 15 May 2017
The San Martin Resort & Spa appreciate your comments. The same without doubts will help us improve and enhance our services and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

Some high and lows on this hotel. See which are more important to you to help inform your booking, or not.

PlusPoints
- walk to the entrance of the Falls (Brazil side), helicopter flight over the Falls and Bird Park (all which were brilliant by the way)
- local bus stops outside
- close to Brazil Iguazu airport
- hotel, room and grounds really spacious and clean
- didn't experience the rudeness suggested by others on here from the hotel staff. Plenty of smiles all round
- the pool was inviting after a day doing the sights.

LowPoints
- Hotel food. Breakfast choice limited. Dinner poor. Set buffet priced at 50 Reals which wasn't great but only what you get a la carte at a higher price. Bland but nothing else on offer nearby.
- bar closes at 11.30pm. Hotel in shutdown by midnight and the city is a fair drive away to party.

For the price we paid in high season through Agoda.com we couldn't fault the value compared to what else was on offer.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jules B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leandro C, Sales Manager at San Martin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 15 May 2017
The San Martin Resort & Spa appreciate your comments. The same without doubts will help us improve and enhance our services and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pearce, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Our extended family of nine with an age span of seventy years stayed here 2 nights. The good: Hotel is very well located - close to the airport, the falls and the bird park. The grounds are exceptionally nice and well maintained. Pool is also very nice. We had "superior" class rooms, which were certainly adequate but not superior. Restaurant was maybe a little above average.
The bad: The staff must have been trained by a disciple of the Third Reich. They were, almost without exception, cold, formal and officious. We felt as though they had been warned there would be consequences if they smiled or were friendly to their guests.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Minimosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leandro C, Sales Manager at San Martin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 15 May 2017
The San Martin Resort & Spa appreciate your comments. The same without doubts will help us improve and enhance our services and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

If you looking for a place to get frustrated by bad service (I am talking about waiting a long time for food, bad service as far as internet, travel agency inside the hotel also has communications issues), THIS IS IT!!!!!!
They managed to make my stay (from Monday to Friday) hell!
I had to work online everyday and if wasn't for my prepaid Vivo I would be in deep trouble because their internet does not work 95% of the times.
The reason why they do that is because if you use the internet in the hall they charge R$3,50 per every 15 minutes. So they disconnect the antenna for everyone.
The hotel has the location and the structure to be a great place but they need training as far as treating the clients as guests.
If you don't speak Portuguese it can get even more frustrating!
The TV in the room is 20 inches, which is a joke for a resort!
The room key they only give you so if you want to take a nap and your partner wants to go out, he will knock at the door...no napping allowed!!!
All because they want to control that if you leave you can leave the AC on.
They have only ONE outlet for 110 volts in the bathroom!! Another joke for a resort!
The store that sells the adaptor was closed when I got there and the people in the reception do not have any for sale or to lend to guests.
If you come here either rent a car or get a cab because the food can be a bit surprising at times and you will be far from any other choice of eating out.
The location is good for the Bird Park and the Brazilian side of the Iguacu falls, which you can do both in one day!
So better be in a nice area full of restaurants around than the park that you only you go there one time!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Traveller71Rio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leandro C, Sales Manager at San Martin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 15 May 2017
The San Martin Resort & Spa appreciate your comments. The same without doubts will help us improve and enhance our services and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boynton Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

The place is in a good location, however the reception staff and the pool staff were terrible.
When I arrived to my room I wanted to take a shower and noticed there was pubic hairs in the bathtub, very disgusting!
The internet hardly ever worked and when I asked to use their internet they told me I could use the one in the hallway for an additional charge. What a joke!
People come here from different countries but the only language the speak is Portuguese.
I ordered my food at the pool and waited over 45 minutes and almost passed out from starvation and the heat!
They only give you one room key to use to get into your room and insert it in a holder to turn on your electric, so once you leave your room with the key all the power will be shut off so your room will be very hot when you come back and you can't charge your phone or your computer.
But I guess that doesn't matter because the internet doesn't work anyway.
I had to threaten to call the police to use their internet which turned out to be really fast but they wouldn't share it with anyone.
I came here to relax and get some rest but it was a total nightmare.
The mattress is very soft, my back was so sore every morning I had to roll myself out of bed.
I would never recommend this place even to people I don't like!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else! The staff will make you miserable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank frank t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leandro C, Sales Manager at San Martin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 15 May 2017
The San Martin Resort & Spa appreciate your comments. The same without doubts will help us improve and enhance our services and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Foz do Iguacu hotels
Hotel Colonial Iguacu
#43 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
1,233 reviews
City Center
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
#18 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
1,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wish Resort Foz do Iguacu
#13 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
2,376 reviews
San Juan Eco Hotel
#10 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Martin Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Martin Resort & Spa

Property: San Martin Resort & Spa
Address: Rodovia das Cataratas, Km 21 | Parque Nacional Do Iguacu, Foz do Iguacu, State of Parana 85855-750, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Parana > Foz do Iguacu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#6 Spa Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#8 Luxury Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — San Martin Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Martin Hotel and Resort is located just for 400 meters from the main entrance of the National Park, 03 kilometers from Foz do Iguaçu Airport, and 10 kilometers from the downtown. The resort has 135 rooms, divided in 3 categories. The simple one is the standard, the superior is a medium comfort, and superior class the deluxe one, and junior suites. All the rooms have TV, air con, minibar, telephone, wi-fi free of charge, trail inside of the wood for walking, and a beautiful and wonderful pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your San Martin Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Martin Hotel Foz Do Iguacu
San Martin Hotel And Resort
San Martin Resort & Spa Foz Do Iguacu, Brazil - Parana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing