We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A decent resort and hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
San Martin Resort & Spa
Ranked #28 of 79 Hotels in Foz do Iguacu
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Though I did not have much time to explore the resort as I stayed only for a night, I had a decent staying experience. It is a bit old but then it does not claim to be a swanky five star property either. The food was OK and the staff could speak in English properly. Had I expired around the resort probably I would have written a better review.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
Thank VaibhavIndore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leandro C, Sales Manager at San Martin Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2017

The San Martin Resort & Spa appreciate your comments. The same without doubts will help us improve and enhance our services and service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,600)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

212 - 218 of 1,601 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2014

We stayed for 4 nights and 3 days at this hotel. It was very good indeed despite one little problem we had. The hotel offers a free check-in transfer from the airport although the van wasn't there when we arrived but they reagended a check-out transfer for free.
Positive points: near the airport, the access to Argentina and the Iguaçu Falls park, a walking distance from the last one. The rooms where rather new and they had a very good bathroom. The avarage food price in the hotel is quite ok and the breakfast is good, but it could have a few more options. The staff where very polite.
Negative points: the wi-fi conection was a bit slow, the beds, despite confortable it could be a bit longer, my feet where outside of the bed and I am not even tall.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luca_Rodrigues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leandro C, Sales Manager at San Martin Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2017

The San Martin Resort & Spa appreciate your comments. The same without doubts will help us improve and enhance our services and service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

It is well situated but no english speeking staff, they have strange organisation for consumption - they give us one piece of paper with number / for 2 persons/, only with this paper you can order drink and food, and if we are separate we can't order! After the waiter don't give us the bill. The food in restaurant bad quality and no variaty, the breakfast also.

They have huge park but not quite place, all day we was listnening loud disco with abruptly interruptions for repair of Speakers.

To get the room we pass through a maze of corridors and no ventilation, you feel that you are lost and you can choke given that outside is over 40 degrees. Rooms are very small - like the rooms in London hotels. We have again only 1 key for the room - again we must be all the time together.
At the end when we check out they put some more drinks in the bill and when I ask for invoice they give me just piece of paper with number and price of drinks. They don't have invoice it first time they hear for thе existing of this document.

I ask for claims book but again no body knows. This hotel definitely ruin our good experiences of waterfall and all the good emotions that we had until this. We was very disappointing. This hotel in Europe can not exist, would pay so many complaints that it broke! But they don't care - they have enough tourist because of good location.

Room Tip: No good rooms! Don't choose this hotel. They have enormous natural park but they make rooms in s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank YulianaBulgaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leandro C, Sales Manager at San Martin Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2017

The San Martin Resort & Spa appreciate your comments. The same without doubts will help us improve and enhance our services and service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We simply loved it. The resort fulfilled our expectations of a few days in the middle of the rainforest to the utmost as we had all the comfort expected.
The hotel resort is about 2km away from the airport (with no plane noise ) and only 300m away from the entrance of the Iguacu National Park. Another attraction is the bird park next door which we found added to the rainforest feeling when heering the birds on the hotel premises.
If visiting the city a public bus stops across the street (you will no where to get off)
Concerning the hotel resort: It is fabulous! Large enough to get lost (kidding!) on the trail throught the forest on the premises, soccer / sportsfields, a wonderful and relaxing swimming pool area, ponds etc. The rooms are adequate, the food is great. We did not think the staff was more unpleasant than elsewhere in Brasil as mentioned in some reviews .

Room Tip: Rooms on the west (bird park side) can be a bit noisy if you don't like bird sounds... A/C only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trailbuster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leandro C, Sales Manager at San Martin Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2017

The San Martin Resort & Spa appreciate your comments. The same without doubts will help us improve and enhance our services and service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Some high and lows on this hotel. See which are more important to you to help inform your booking, or not.

PlusPoints
- walk to the entrance of the Falls (Brazil side), helicopter flight over the Falls and Bird Park (all which were brilliant by the way)
- local bus stops outside
- close to Brazil Iguazu airport
- hotel, room and grounds really spacious and clean
- didn't experience the rudeness suggested by others on here from the hotel staff. Plenty of smiles all round
- the pool was inviting after a day doing the sights.

LowPoints
- Hotel food. Breakfast choice limited. Dinner poor. Set buffet priced at 50 Reals which wasn't great but only what you get a la carte at a higher price. Bland but nothing else on offer nearby.
- bar closes at 11.30pm. Hotel in shutdown by midnight and the city is a fair drive away to party.

For the price we paid in high season through Agoda.com we couldn't fault the value compared to what else was on offer.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Jules B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leandro C, Sales Manager at San Martin Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2017

The San Martin Resort & Spa appreciate your comments. The same without doubts will help us improve and enhance our services and service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Our extended family of nine with an age span of seventy years stayed here 2 nights. The good: Hotel is very well located - close to the airport, the falls and the bird park. The grounds are exceptionally nice and well maintained. Pool is also very nice. We had "superior" class rooms, which were certainly adequate but not superior. Restaurant was maybe a little above average.
The bad: The staff must have been trained by a disciple of the Third Reich. They were, almost without exception, cold, formal and officious. We felt as though they had been warned there would be consequences if they smiled or were friendly to their guests.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Minimosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leandro C, Sales Manager at San Martin Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2017

The San Martin Resort & Spa appreciate your comments. The same without doubts will help us improve and enhance our services and service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

If you looking for a place to get frustrated by bad service (I am talking about waiting a long time for food, bad service as far as internet, travel agency inside the hotel also has communications issues), THIS IS IT!!!!!!
They managed to make my stay (from Monday to Friday) hell!
I had to work online everyday and if wasn't for my prepaid Vivo I would be in deep trouble because their internet does not work 95% of the times.
The reason why they do that is because if you use the internet in the hall they charge R$3,50 per every 15 minutes. So they disconnect the antenna for everyone.
The hotel has the location and the structure to be a great place but they need training as far as treating the clients as guests.
If you don't speak Portuguese it can get even more frustrating!
The TV in the room is 20 inches, which is a joke for a resort!
The room key they only give you so if you want to take a nap and your partner wants to go out, he will knock at the door...no napping allowed!!!
All because they want to control that if you leave you can leave the AC on.
They have only ONE outlet for 110 volts in the bathroom!! Another joke for a resort!
The store that sells the adaptor was closed when I got there and the people in the reception do not have any for sale or to lend to guests.
If you come here either rent a car or get a cab because the food can be a bit surprising at times and you will be far from any other choice of eating out.
The location is good for the Bird Park and the Brazilian side of the Iguacu falls, which you can do both in one day!
So better be in a nice area full of restaurants around than the park that you only you go there one time!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Traveller71Rio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leandro C, Sales Manager at San Martin Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2017

The San Martin Resort & Spa appreciate your comments. The same without doubts will help us improve and enhance our services and service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Foz do Iguacu hotels
City Center
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
#15 of 79 in Foz do Iguacu
1,464 reviews
Hotel Colonial Iguacu
#40 of 79 in Foz do Iguacu
1,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vivaz Cataratas Hotel Resort & A...
#36 of 79 in Foz do Iguacu
49 reviews
Wish Foz do Iguacu by GJP
#14 of 79 in Foz do Iguacu
2,537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Martin Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Martin Resort & Spa

Address: Rodovia das Cataratas, Km 21 | Parque Nacional Do Iguacu, Foz do Iguacu, State of Parana 85855-750, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Parana > Foz do Iguacu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#8 Luxury Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
Price Range: £63 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — San Martin Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Martin Hotel and Resort is located just for 400 meters from the main entrance of the National Park, 03 kilometers from Foz do Iguaçu Airport, and 10 kilometers from the downtown. The resort has 135 rooms, divided in 3 categories. The simple one is the standard, the superior is a medium comfort, and superior class the deluxe one, and junior suites. All the rooms have TV, air con, minibar, telephone, wi-fi free of charge, trail inside of the wood for walking, and a beautiful and wonderful pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your San Martin Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Martin Hotel Foz Do Iguacu
San Martin Hotel And Resort
San Martin Resort & Spa Foz Do Iguacu, Brazil - Parana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing