We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent position for iguassu falls - Brazil side” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of San Martin Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
San Martin Resort & Spa
Ranked #33 of 78 Hotels in Foz do Iguacu
Sydney
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent position for iguassu falls - Brazil side”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 1 night at the beginning of our Iguassu Falls experience and found it excellent. We missed our flight out of Iguassu (no fault of ours) and decided to return to the San Martin Hotel.
We couldn't have been more impressed with the service and assistance given to us to help solve our predicament.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,365 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    327
    635
    269
    86
    48
See reviews for
431
589
66
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toledo, Spain
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

First impression good, beautiful because of the surrounding nature. After 5 minutes inside, you start to realize that this is not even a 2 stars hotel. Very Dirty (you can find your own jungle under the bed), cockroaches everywhere ( big ones) and all kind of bugs, stinky toilets, Impolite staff, two big electricity generators working 24hours per day ( impossible to sleep), neither internet connection nor tv is working. The SPA it's just a sauna ( 50€ per person amazing! and also a fraud), if it's raining outside, rains also inside. All the services they say they are offering don't exist or are in a very bad condition ( tennis court, pool, games room, etc.). In addition, when you go to de cafeteria or to the restaurant you sign in a receipt with ones prices, but when you check out the bill is like 30% more expensive cause an additional unfair tax. The pick up service, didn't pick us up on the airport, cause they said the plane wasn't on time, it was absolutely false and when we complained the lady just laughed of us saying that we were lying even though we had proves.
The only person that knew how to work, is the one that tricked the pictures with Photoshop.

My advise, DON'T GO, they ruined the last there days of our honey moon, you can find plenty of real resorts in the area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Coco2alvaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed at the San Martin the afternoon we flew in from São Paulo and the night before we left for another part of our journey. In between we spent two days at the Belmond Hotel Das Cataratas. We did this for economic reasons as the rate at San Martin is reasonable and 5 minutes by taxi to the gate of the Foz Iguacu National Park.

The hotel is fine. Not lush, not cheap, just fine. It is clean, the staff are kind, and the breakfast is pretty good. The rooms are very simple and fairly small but adequate. The place seems great for families with kids as there is a large pool, a soccer field, and a small play ground. In fact, we saw lots of families. The setting itself, in the back near the pool, is pretty with a path to the Iguacu River.

I recommend the hotel for a short stay--solely for VERY easy access to the Park. Getting into the Park is not complicated. Our hotel driver was very kind and helped us buy our tickets at the gate. Again, the staff, many who spoke English, were helpful and polite.

A good "pass through" hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the back garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catito C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

I stayed here for two nights during a recent trip to Peru and Brazil with two friends. This hotel is very convenient for access to the Brazilian side of Iguassu Falls. The room we got was very small and sparsely furnished. We also had to phone room service to get towels for the second day. Although there were three of us, they wouldn't give us more than one key. The grounds are nice, and the hotel is located adjacent to "Bird Park". A nice walking trail through subtropical forest is also available. The outdoor pool looked nice, although we didn't use it. The security guard at the main gate was a pompous and officious fellow who gave our guide/driver lots of grief when he picked us up at the hotel entrance instead of 20 m away at a designated painted rectangle in the parking lot. Gotta do something to make the job interesting, I guess. Breakfast was comprehensive and good, with lots of selection. Breakfast on the patio was available.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Don S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

The worst hotel that I have ever been there, the staff behave was very awful ( exactly desk manager) it was very strange for us, we were very disappointed, the fall was very nice but staying on that hotel make for us very bad memory of IGU ,:((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((( , breakfast was so so!!!!! , the location was great
I don't recommend this hotel at all

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shabi7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramat Gan, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

the hotel annonce that the time for check out is 11.00 .we make the check out 12.00 .it was three weeks ago.the maneger force us to pay fine as punisment 100 dollars . he said that in all hotel in brazil its the same.tats not true .we stay in hotet atlantico copakabana in rio and its 12.00 the check out and no fine. we want to understand way the punishment is not 500 dollars . that chitting and robing.way not to annonce it somwere.

Room Tip: higer floors have less a/c unit noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nissan k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The World
Level Contributor
48 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

This resort hotel is superbly located for visiting the Brazilian side of the falls - just a 5 minute walk to the entrance means you easily be there as the gates open and avoid the crowds that arrive shortly afterwards.
The hotel rooms are very comfortable and the facilities of the resort good.
Food and drink charges were high though, even by Brazilian standards and not that great.
Wifi was clumsy and erratic, but was offered free of charge.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WarwickintheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Foz do Iguacu hotels
Canzi Cataratas Hotel
#45 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Hotel Colonial Iguacu
#47 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,194 reviews
City Center
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
#17 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Del Rey Hotel
Del Rey Hotel
#2 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,430 reviews
San Juan Eco Hotel
#10 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Martin Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Martin Resort & Spa

Property: San Martin Resort & Spa
Address: Rodovia das Cataratas, Km 21 | Parque Nacional Do Iguacu, Foz do Iguacu, State of Parana 85855-750, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Parana > Foz do Iguacu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#8 Luxury Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — San Martin Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Martin Hotel and Resort is located just for 400 meters from the main entrance of the National Park, 03 kilometers from Foz do Iguaçu Airport, and 10 kilometers from the downtown. The resort has 135 rooms, divided in 3 categories. The simple one is the standard, the superior is a medium comfort, and superior class the deluxe one, and junior suites. All the rooms have TV, air con, minibar, telephone, wi-fi free of charge, trail inside of the wood for walking, and a beautiful and wonderful pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your San Martin Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Martin Hotel Foz Do Iguacu
San Martin Hotel And Resort
San Martin Resort & Spa Foz Do Iguacu, Brazil - Parana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing