We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible service, ok facilities and good location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
San Martin Hotel & Resort
Ranked #32 of 79 Hotels in Foz do Iguacu
The Hague
Level Contributor
52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Terrible service, ok facilities and good location.”
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Many rooms refurbished with comfortable beds and good bathrooms (but not all bathrooms redone). The free breakfast was ok but limited selection for such a big hotel (we had a bigger choice at a very basic Amazon lodge in the middle of no where with 20 guests). We tried the dinner buffet (mistake) the food was ok but no variety and poor service, and the waiter when I signed even had the cheek to tell me that tips had to be in cash - there has to be some service before that becomes relevant. We were staying with Brazilian friends at the hotel who were embarrased about how bad the buffet and service was.
Location was good for the Brazilian park (very short walk, no tour needed), and very close to the airport. Bus stop opposite was ok for getting to centre but no guidance from hotel on this, they just said taxi 50real. The bar food was ok and fair price.

But service was truly poor given the arrogance, could not provide change (ok so no I couldn't do tips), guided walk through the grounds was arranged but never showed up, etc etc.

Overall if going again I think I'd stay in the centre of Foz where there are lots of nice restaurants, and just take tour to the park (which is fairly cheap) or bus (which is very cheap).

I would never recommend this place unless very cheap deal, and prepared to use bus to get around.

Also be careful of the restaurants the staff recommend that do free pick ups (expensive and mixed reviews).

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Hague-expat124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leandro C, Sales Manager at San Martin Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
The San Martin Resort & Spa appreciate your comments. The same without doubts will help us improve and enhance our services and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,429 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    355
    661
    272
    91
    50
See reviews for
455
618
69
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
218 reviews
177 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We had this hotel booked by our travel agency. Good first impression,
with a travel time from the airport of just 5 minutes.
The hotel set up and facilities are great. The rooms are newly refurbished,
clean and looking good but kind of small (2 large suitcase will not fit open except on the bed).
There is a nice pool and kids playground. Caipirinha will cost you 12 reals..
There is nothing around the hotel except the Birds park. If you want to go downtown (12 km)
you can take a taxi (about 50 reals) or a bus (2.5 reals).
The negative points of this hotel are the absolute non friendless of the staff, the poor meals
although prices are high (60 reals for a poor buffet) and the very poor wifi network in the room
although internet was free of charge. There is no power socket close to the beds which is a pity.
I did not sleep well because of a smoke detector flashing light on top of the bed which flashed
all night long.
I did not like neither the breakfast where you have to do everything including setting up your
own table.
The bar is not really comfortable except the sofa in the lobby and the bar tender won the
worse staff competition. We all really felt the place is run by a cost savings first oriented management.
Customers have to be the first priority of this hotel otherwise negative reviews will keep adding on.
The location and set up would deserve 4 stars for the price but I can only put 2 since service and
friendly behavior of the staff were just not there. Too bad.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurent P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leandro C, Sales Manager at San Martin Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
The San Martin Resort & Spa appreciate your comments. The same without doubts will help us improve and enhance our services and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2014

My review reflects what I read before I got there. Great location - and the bast of those on offer if you want to be able to walk to the Brazilian Park entrance, which I found very handy.
I didn't go to the restaurant after reading the reviews, but instead went to the huge supermarket in Foz just next to the bus station where they did cold and hot takeaway food.
The receptionist when I got there was OK, but didn't speak English, so I was unable to obtain any good information about first and last bus times for the Argentinian side.
I had booked a junior suite with a jungle view, but my room was smaller than most doubles facing a tree and walls on the inside of the hotel. As it was late I stayed there that night, and had to have a real fight to get the jungle facing room that I had paid for. In the end they upgraded me to a 'superior' double - under very bad grace, and the bell boy didn't even help me to move my things after he had opened the door to my old room.
Wifi was pretty non existent despite them saying it was free, there was really little/no reception. I tried in my room and the breakfast room.
Overall, to summarize, great location, not the greatest hotel/service, but the best (and most expensive) in that vicinity, and certainly clean and decent beds/fridge/aircon/shower.
If I had to do it all again, I would have picked a better hotel on the main Foz to waterfall road as there are loads of buses that run frequently and late on this route. Very cheap ( a couple or R$s) and helpful bus drivers.

Room Tip: When booking get one with a jungle view, totally worth it to wake up to 'jungle' noises and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 40_helen_40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leandro C, Sales Manager at San Martin Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
The San Martin Resort & Spa appreciate your comments. The same without doubts will help us improve and enhance our services and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

This place was absolutely perfect. In fact it was better than we expected. What a nice hotel,its like a really big country cottage. Slate floors, lots of wood and out in the middle of nature. The bird park and the falls are definately an easy walk. I was doubting this before I left and I can now tell you that it is an EASY walk. Take CASH for bird park entry. Once you get to the entrance of the Iguazu park, you get straight on a free bus, so there is no further walking after the entrance. Once you get off the bus, you then walk through the falls area which is beautiful. We never got to see much of the outside of this hotel as we did not stay long enough, so cannot comment on outdoor facilities. Taxis are not an issue to catch at short notice.$R20 to airport. R$120 to take from San Martin over border to Sheraton on Argentina side. We had dinner at buffet, snack and cocktail from bar, and buffet breakfast. The food was not great. The cocktail was the best part. Our room was lovely, nice bathroom. This hotel has lots of big open spaces which is really inviting, you get a really nice feeling as soon as you enter the hotel and as you walk through. Just missed an appointment slot at the salon, but it looked nice and clean and the staff came across as very professional. San Martin have a tour desk to assist with any outings. If you look carefully you will find an activity room, with pool table, tv. Great hangout area for younger travellers. This is a great chill out hotel, but don't mistake it as a hostel style place, its not; its very nice. Great value, you could easily stay here a few nights and have a great time.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ozeire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leandro C, Sales Manager at San Martin Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
The San Martin Resort & Spa appreciate your comments. The same without doubts will help us improve and enhance our services and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

This hotel is good for visiting the falls because it is close to the airport AND its close to the Brazilian side of the falls (like you can walk there). That's it! I stayed in a room for 3 and I felt that it was overrated, as it was simply a room, 3 twin beds, and a small bathroom. There was not a lot of space at all. We did enjoy the free breakfast every morning- but the breakfast was the SAME everyday. Dinner was average and a little pricey. We did appreciate the 2 computers that you are able to use with unlimited internet near the lobby. Overall....it was just okay....

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abayomi J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leandro C, Sales Manager at San Martin Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
The San Martin Resort & Spa appreciate your comments. The same without doubts will help us improve and enhance our services and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen Region, Denmark
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Hotel is as good as we pay for. I like this place in that there're huge space for trees and garden. I didn't feel like I stayed in Concrete hotel. Food at the hotel was ok and affordable price. I falled in love with this hotel - would recommend.

Room Tip: Tell reception that you want room with good garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Otan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leandro C, Sales Manager at San Martin Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
The San Martin Resort & Spa appreciate your comments. The same without doubts will help us improve and enhance our services and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
57 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

If you're in Foz just see the national park and the falls, that's the place. It's within walking distance of the national park entrance, right next to the bird park. I basically didn't need to leave the area during my whole stay. It's a great alternative to the luxury hotel within the park in terms of offering value for money.

The grounds are huge, great for a morning walk. There's an outdoor pool and an adequate small gym. Great Brazilian buffet breakfast, too. Overall it has a nice tropical feel.

The rooms are slightly dated, but perfectly adequate and kind of what you'd expect from a similar standard hotel in South America. Wifi is provided, as well as tons of international TV channels.

Loved every minute of my stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Estonian_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leandro C, Sales Manager at San Martin Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
The San Martin Resort & Spa appreciate your comments. The same without doubts will help us improve and enhance our services and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Foz do Iguacu hotels
Canzi Cataratas Hotel
#47 of 79 in Foz do Iguacu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Hotel Colonial Iguacu
#44 of 79 in Foz do Iguacu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,206 reviews
City Center
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
#19 of 79 in Foz do Iguacu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Del Rey Hotel
Del Rey Hotel
#2 of 79 in Foz do Iguacu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,498 reviews
San Juan Eco Hotel
#10 of 79 in Foz do Iguacu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Martin Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Martin Hotel & Resort

Property: San Martin Hotel & Resort
Address: Rodovia das Cataratas, Km 21 | Parque Nacional Do Iguacu, Foz do Iguacu, State of Parana 85855-750, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Parana > Foz do Iguacu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#8 Luxury Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — San Martin Hotel & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Martin Hotel and Resort is located just for 400 meters from the main entrance of the National Park, 03 kilometers from Foz do Iguaçu Airport, and 10 kilometers from the downtown. The resort has 135 rooms, divided in 3 categories. The simple one is the standard, the superior is a medium comfort, and superior class the deluxe one, and junior suites. All the rooms have TV, air con, minibar, telephone, wi-fi free of charge, trail inside of the wood for walking, and a beautiful and wonderful pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Ebookers, Booking.com, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your San Martin Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Martin Hotel Foz Do Iguacu
San Martin Hotel And Resort
San Martin Resort
San Martin Hotel & Resort Foz Do Iguacu, Brazil - Parana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing