We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, ok location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Continental Inn Hotel
Ranked #16 of 78 Hotels in Foz do Iguacu
Certificate of Excellence
London, England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, ok location”
Reviewed 27 January 2012

We just stayed in continental inn, and here is a quick breakdown.

Nice large double room, with a jaccuzi and shower, our room was on second floor facing the street behind the elevator. We did not hear any noise from the elevator, but you could great noise from the street below, it didn't bother us, but may bother light sleepers.

The room was nice, large, and clean, and the jacuzzi was a nice addition. The hotel also has a sauna and scrolling swimming pool.
Break down of transport costs

R45 traxi from airport to hotel
R40 traxi to national park
R90 taxi to argentinia national park
On the last day we haggled with the taxi drivers and they charged us 105 to the park and back to the hotel then the airport.
We got a bits back from argentina. A9 for the buys to the argentina bus terminal, A6 from argentina to brazil side bus terminal then a 20 minute walk uphill to the hotel.

There aren't many places to eat near the hotel unless you are willing to walk 10 - 15 min, we walked write a bit and found it safe.

I would stay there again if I had pre stranded tours, saving you travel costs.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dej23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Continental I, Guest Relations Manager at Continental Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
Dear guest, we are happy you enjoyed the hotel. Thank you for your comments! Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    404
    533
    135
    28
    17
See reviews for
444
322
38
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bransgore, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
274 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

The hotel is easy to find when driving from the airport but it's location on a main road in a slightly scruffy area on the edge of town means there is some traffic noise at night. The hotel offers an efficient valet parking service which meant arriving by car was very convenient.

Our room was a good size and was clean and comfortable. The hotel charges extra for use of a safe deposit box and for WiFi access. The WiFi was quite expensive and the connection was slow and not completely reliable, considering everywhere else we stayed in Brazil has free WiFi which gave a better service this seemed rather a cheek.

The breakfast buffet was good with an extensive range of hot and cold items and the usual good quality fruit and fresh juices, which we enjoyed everywhere in Brazil. We were not so impressed with the evening meal in the a la carte restaurant and chose to eat out after the first evening.

A bonus of this hotel is the very pleasant pool area with a good size circular pool, spacious terrace and bar service. This was very welcome after a days walking around the Falls.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the pool as this might reduce the road noise experienced on the other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnnyAsbestos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Continental I, Guest Relations Manager at Continental Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
Hi Johnny, thank you for reviewing our hotel! Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tostedt, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

Rooms and the whole hotel have not been renovated for years. Bathroom was extremly dirty and even when we showed the maid the problems (and left a tip) she did not clean it properly.

We stayed 3 days and during the whole period water came down from the cealing in the main entrance hall (it did not rain those days).

Breakfast was OK and pool is situated in a nice corner.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karl-Friedrich H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
161 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2011

Things do not get off to good start when after paying in ful,l in advance, on checking in you are greeted with their is an extra tax to pay! It was not very much but immediately spoilt the tone as I was under the impression "everything" was included. I later discover I need to pay extra for the room safe! Then the internet was a bit pricy! .... Food, drink, water etc available in the room fridge were astronomically expensive compared to purchasing in nearbye shop!
First nights sleep was disturbed by loud music which we thought was coming from a nearby garage. When retiring the second night we agaain heard this loud music. I went down to the ground floor to see if I could locate the source. After some investigation I discovered that it was coming from loud speakers by the pool. No one was ner the pool and no one was listening to the loud music! After reporting the row to reception they turned they eventully turned the music off!
Hotel was used as a base for exploring the falls and it was quite handy for that, although to explore the Argentinian side one needs to go through immigration which can be a lengthy and difficult time consuming process taking up to an hour each way!
Time in Argentina is an hour behind brazil and can cause confusion as my guide turned up an hour later than the allotted time!
I found the hotel staff in this hotel the most unfriendliest and unhelpful that I have ever come across. e.g. question to staff "Is it OK to drink the hotel water?" , answer "You can get water in the room mini bar". Money money money!

Room Tip: If you want to see the Argentinian side of the falls stay in a hotel on the Argentinian side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank i_tasker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

the hotel is ok .. they charge you for internet and room safe which is suprising , as it is a basic requirement to have a safe in the room . The hotel is a superior three star . walking distance from a mall which was good . the room was big and spacious and also had a jacuzzi in the bathroom . as i was veg , there was not much choice for vegeterians

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank medsBom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

A/C in our room did not work properly. Hotel did move us to another room. Finding an English speaking front desk employee not the easiest. The pool was nice, internet service slow. Large mall located within 3-4 blocks of hotel. There is a money exchange located at the mall and a large food court.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SML53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

During my stay in Brazil, I will be staying in 4 different hotels (3) booked by a tour company, and (1) for a wedding. So far I stayed in a hotel in Rio, Foz do Iguacu and Salvador.
It's a shame because the best one that I stayed in was this hotel in Foz do Iguacu and I was here overnight only.

I noticed that all the hotels that I stayed in so far are just that... so-so, nothing impressive.

INTERNET: Plain and simple - too expensive for sucky download speed. For example, I watch a lot of shows on the internet. It took 6 hours to watch a 1 hour episode. I used speedtest.net to check out their download/upload speed, and in Brazil, because no matter where I went the upload speed was 0.57 or less for mb/s the global average is 8.69 mb/s and at home I get in excess of 25.0 mb/s. The internet SHOULD BE FREE!! because is far below the global average.

OUTSIDE/NEIGHBORHOOD/SURROUNDINGS: Kind of run down kind of look. The hotel looks out of place and my window looked directly into a homeowners driveway and house.

INSIDE: By far, this hotel has the best appearance. The employees were all very nice and helpful. My room had wood floors. The lights worked from the telephone, which was nice. The items in the snack bar was the cheapest. Water 3,30 versus 4,00. The bathroom was nice, the toilet seat was not plastic. The walls were thin.... or maybe I had a very loud talking neighbor.

BREAKFAST: By far, this hotel had the best breakfast layout and a wider variety. I ate around 6:30 in the AM, it opens at 6 - 10, I can't say about the service later in the morning.

Overall, I was happy with my room.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2007sweet16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Foz do Iguacu hotels
City Center
Del Rey Hotel
Del Rey Hotel
#2 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
2,528 reviews
City Center
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
#18 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
1,320 reviews
City Center
Taroba Hotel
Taroba Hotel
#14 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
5,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Viale Tower Hotel
#11 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
928 reviews
Hotel Bella Italia
#9 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
2,529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Continental Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Continental Inn Hotel

Property: Continental Inn Hotel
Address: Avenida Parana 1089 | Centro, Foz do Iguacu, State of Parana 85852-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Parana > Foz do Iguacu > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#13 Business Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#15 Family Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Continental Inn Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Prestigia, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Continental Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Hotel Foz Do Iguacu
Continental Hotel Foz De Iguassu
Continental Inn Hotel Foz Do Iguacu, Brazil - Parana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing