We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well Equipped, Modern, Somewhat Isolated and Grandiose Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Recanto Cataratas Thermas Resort & Convention

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Recanto Cataratas Thermas Resort & Convention
Ranked #6 of 78 Hotels in Foz do Iguacu
Certificate of Excellence
Evergreen, Colorado
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Well Equipped, Modern, Somewhat Isolated and Grandiose Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

This might rate five stars were it not for a couple of things. It's location is not really close to the Falls,or even the National Park entrance, and there is NOTHING around within walking distance by way of restaurants, banks, stores, or services. The front desk staff was very businesslike, if not particularly friendly in comparison to other places I've stayed in Brazil. Everything about the exterior of this place shouts "look at ME", and the stilted, formal musical serenade at dinnertime made me wish for a Bill Murray appearance. The pool area is huge and very nice; the gym is one of the best equipped I've seen in Brazil. The buffets at both breakfast and dinner were the BEST I experienced in Brazil. Our bedroom was good sized, modern, and very functional with excellent beds. There are supposedly better hotels in Foz than the Recanto Park, but if you have transportation to the Falls, this is an excellent choice.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RodK47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Recanto_Park_Team, Public Relations Manager at Recanto Cataratas Thermas Resort & Convention, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Hello "RodK47"! Firstly we would like to thank you for evaluating our hotel! For us it is very gratifying to have this positive feedback from our guests! We would like to clarify that the Hotel is a Thermal Resort one, it has pools supplied with thermal water, and is located located in an area that allows us to offer the variety of entertainment that we have, fully integrated into a green area of environmental preservation. Besides all leisure services and food, which complete the stay. What would be impossible to provide if we were located in the city center. Really sorry you have not enjoyed the live music during dinner, is a presentation of the regional culture. Once again thank you for your comments! Greetings!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,948 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,764
    927
    189
    40
    28
See reviews for
1,525
673
36
276
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
413 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

My husband and I stayed in this resort for 4 nights to celebrate our 8 years together and still we did not tget to enjoy all of its amenities. I heard it is the mkst ecological hotel in Foz, due to its bamboo architecture and green actions. It is a very family hotel and you could actually see parents and their little babies and kids playing at the pool. There is also a recreational team to entertain the little guests- a time out for the parents! The swimming pool is actually a complex system of water bodies at all depths. You can have drinks at the pool's bar and drink it while refreshing in the water. Their food is also exquisite, we had yummy sandwiches and a delicious fried calamari portion. Still talking about food, breakfast has all sorts of foods, a variety that was practically impossible to try it all. Rooms were very clean and comfy. We had this balcony with a view to the pool (most rooms have that!)- beautiful! The price was comparable to most well-known hotels in the city center, but with much more to offer. Well worth it! Its location is half way from the Cataratas and Paraguay, and 10 min from the city centre, where there is not much to do I´m afraid... The main disadvantage: you have to pay for the wi-fi. The staff were very friendly too. All in all, we will definitely stay there again next time we visit Foz. Having this structure is fundamental for a little break between the hectic programme of visits and touristic sights.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carla_Thiago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katlin F, Public Relations Manager at Recanto Cataratas Thermas Resort & Convention, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear "Carla_Thiago" we thank you immensely for your feedback! For us it is a pleasure to know you enjoyed our structure and services. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
e sussex
Level Contributor
77 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed here as part of a group tour of South America. We had two nights and the general consensus from the group was that we all wanted to see the back of the place. Firstly the reception didn't exchange money of any kind. Probably the first in the world! Secondly the wifi wasn't free. Admittedly it was on £1.50 for 2 hours but it was slow. If I pay I expect it to be quicker. There was no free water in room, most of the hotels on our trip gave a small bottle each person. As there was no nearby shop we had to buy mini bar water to brush our teeth.
The was no sink plug in bathroom, so I used toilet paper as a plug so I could shave. The safe wasn't free and cost approx £1 per night, it's not the money it's the principal, again all the other hotels safes were free of charge. The rooms were wooden floored and therefore could be noisy depending who was above you. You also heard your neighbours showers runnng, toilets flushing etc.
The worst part was the staff. Only a few could speak any English and most were disinterested. I know we were in a foreign land but it was a tourist hotel in a tourist destination. At one point whilst trying to order room service, the reception suggested I come down to reception to order my meal. Completely negates the point of room service!
The positives were nice walk in shower, rooms were well furnished, there was a/c in the rooms, the breakfast was good with lots of choice. Pool was nice.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank slappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katlin F, Public Relations Manager at Recanto Cataratas Thermas Resort & Convention, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear "slappy" First we would like to thank you for evaluating our hotel. We would like to clarify the fact that we make no exchange at the hotel are due to legal issues, the Brazilian law as well as issues related to personal safety of our guests and employees. We apologize for the inconvenience reported during your stay with us and look forward to the opportunity to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

Very new hotel with nice rooms, specially if you stay in the rooms that are located on the left side of the reception. The pool area is nice with several seating areas and even a pool bar. The buffet dinner was not the greatest but OK. Breakfast was good. Staff was friendly and helpful but I am amazed that they still feel they need to send staff to check the minibar before you can check out instead of just asking you if you consumed anything.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annikika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katlin F, Public Relations Manager at Recanto Cataratas Thermas Resort & Convention, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear "Annikika", thank you for your feedback! We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2013

Used this as our base for exploring Iguacu Falls. It was perfect. Location is good for visiting both Argentina and Brazil and the hotel itself has plenty to keep the kids entertained should weather or fatigue result in a day at the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RPCahalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katlin F, Public Relations Manager at Recanto Cataratas Thermas Resort & Convention, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Hi "RPCahalan" thank for evaluating our hotel! Best wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

This was a very luxurious hotel,lovely big bedrooms with all facilities,outside area very swish,we had meal at pool bar exallent ,although would not say the same for the evening meal,very disappointed .

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lancashirenadine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Recanto_Park_Team, Public Relations Manager at Recanto Cataratas Thermas Resort & Convention, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Dear "Lancashirenadine" Thank you for your comments! We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bathurst, Australia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2013

We stayed here for one night on our way to Rio. The hotel had everything you could possibly want, beautiful swimming pool, good restaurant, friendly and efficient staff. Our room had 2 king size beds, spa bath and a balcony overlooking the pool After a long day of walking it was absolute bliss to have such fine accommodation. The breakfast was plentiful and a very good selection. We wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline2795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katlin F, Public Relations Manager at Recanto Cataratas Thermas Resort & Convention, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear "Pauline2795" We greatly appreciate for the review! We are glad to know that you were satisfied with the hotel! We hope to see you at the next opportunity, then with more time to enjoy the hotel and our city!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Foz do Iguacu hotels
City Center
Del Rey Hotel
Del Rey Hotel
#2 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,425 reviews
City Center
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
#17 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Wyndham Golden Foz Suites
Wyndham Golden Foz Suites
#26 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
Viale Cataratas Hotel
#32 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
Mabu Thermas Grand Resort
#19 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Recanto Cataratas Thermas Resort & Convention? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Recanto Cataratas Thermas Resort & Convention

Property: Recanto Cataratas Thermas Resort & Convention
Address: Av. Costa & Silva, 3500, Foz do Iguacu, State of Parana 85863-762, Brazil
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Parana > Foz do Iguacu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#3 Luxury Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#4 Family Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#9 Romantic Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Recanto Cataratas Thermas Resort & Convention 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recanto Cataratas Thermas Resort & Convention is located in an urban area, surrounded by a green area of native forest. Distant three miles from the city center and with easy access to all attractions. It offers a leisure complex, swimming pools for adults and children with thermal water, indoor pool, with monitors recreation for all ages, games, playground, fitness center, bowling, spa, sauna, bars and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Prestigia and Odigeo so you can book your Recanto Cataratas Thermas Resort & Convention reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Recanto Park
Recanto Cataratas Thermas Resort & Convention Foz Do Iguacu, Brazil - Parana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing