We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent resort but bad experience at checkout!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Recanto Cataratas Thermas Resort & Convention
Ranked #6 of 78 Hotels in Foz do Iguacu
Certificate of Excellence
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
281 reviews
169 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“Excellent resort but bad experience at checkout!”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

The rooms are ok, but the hotel grounds are EXCELLENT. It is more RESORT than just a hotel. Great gym, nice pool, entire underground level with an indoor pool, bowling, billiard room etc. Breakfast was superb! Internet worked so-so and had an extra charge. Hotel is at the suburbs of Foz, in order to go anywhere you need a cab. Iguazu Brazil is about 30 minutes drive, but beware that going to the Argentinian side, especially in the morning, you could spend almost 2 hours (due to traffic at the border and Argentinian emigration)!

At the hotel, they do not exchange money, but you can pay either in reales, Argentinian pesos or in USD. Cards are also accepted.

We had few drinks at the bar and then dinner, funny thing no one ever asked us any signature, just a room number (but they didn´t speak English at the bar!). I expected trouble. And trouble came … at the checkout, our bills were one big mess and full of stuff we didn´t consume. They sort it out and did charge us only what we consumed but it took a long time and a lot of arguing! I was traveling in a big group (8 rooms) and half of us had this trouble.

Room Tip: Some rooms don´t have a view, check beforehead. Also some have balconies, other´s don´t.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iliveinmexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,048 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,827
    958
    195
    40
    28
See reviews for
1,586
692
38
285
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ramt Hasharon
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights,we got a nice suite,while visiting the Iguazu falls and the Itaypu bnacional project. The breakfast was good and the suite clean. Here is the place to mention that no hotel charges for using the INTERNET but they are doing it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ehudro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katlin_Fernandes, Public Relations Manager at Recanto Cataratas Thermas Resort & Convention, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Google Translation
Estimado hóspede,
Agradecemos por seus comentários e avaliação!
Esperamos revê-los em breve!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wasquehal, France
Level Contributor
183 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We spend 3 night with friends and family at Recanto!
It was a very nice surprise. Rooms were very confortable!
The kids love the huge pool - lake size! They spend the evenings playing bowling and having fun with the recreational team!
The breakfast and dinner were delicious - buffet all you can eat very tasty and wide variety of fish, meat, pasta, fruits.
DEfinitely reccomended!!!
Perfect choice for families!!!

Room Tip: We stayed on the ground floor and the rooms were very spacious...seems to be a new area....
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ana paula E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katlin_Fernandes, Public Relations Manager at Recanto Cataratas Thermas Resort & Convention, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Google Translation
Olá Sra. Ana Paula,
Gostaria de agradecer por nos deixar seus comentários, com riqueza de detalhes! Com certeza irá auxiliar na escolha de outros viajantes também! Para nós é uma honra ter este retorno positivo de nossos hóspedes!
Agradecemos por escolher nosso hotel e esperamos atende-los novamente em breve!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

The room was spacious and nice. Hotel's surrounding was great, the swimming pool is a must if you are planning to spend time at the hotel. Breakfast offers you a variety of food. The dinner buffet was what i enjoyed the most, the food was very tasty and a wide variety was once again on offer, there were also some live music when we dined there during dinner. Certainly worth a visit.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank souppyfanatix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chalfont St. Giles, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We enjoyed our stay in this resort. Most guests were Brazilian families. The resort is very clean and the staff is friendly. It has large swimming pools so that you do not feel crowded in. Although it is located far from the town centre it offers a good and reasonably priced buffet evening meal.
Breakfast was very good. They charge for Wi-Fi but we found it rather unreliable. In the end they waved our fees due to the frequent signal failure.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

The first impression is the large size of the building. However our room was ok and quiet ... even if it was also a bit tired and not especially clean. The main restaurant is huge and the breakfast was good.

One issue is the location of the hotel. There are many hotels on the falls side of town, but from this one you have to cross town. It's not a big issue but it takes 30 mins to get to the entance to the falls park entrance.

IMPORTANT: do not miss the Argentinian side of the falls!! It's the best one... Amazing views And many trials!!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GD2612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katlin_Fernandes, Public Relations Manager at Recanto Cataratas Thermas Resort & Convention, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear "GD2612" Thank you for evaluating our hotel and services!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
221 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Close to two of the seven wonders of the world, the Iguacu Waterfalls and the Itapa Dam, this large resort hotel is a disappointment. The institutional buffet dinner was overpriced and the breakfast uninspiring. You have to wait to check out while the hotel staff search your room to check what you may have stolen!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Recanto_Park_Team, Public Relations Manager at Recanto Cataratas Thermas Resort & Convention, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear "Jeremy S"
We would like to thank you for your comments!
We are disappointed to hear that your experience at our hotel was not to your complete satisfaction.
We would like to clarify about the conference proceedings of the apartment. So we can verify the consumption of items in your fridge and check for possible objects forgotten in the apartment, it is necessary the belboy to check it out while you close your account at reception.
We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Foz do Iguacu hotels
City Center
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
#17 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
1,320 reviews
City Center
Del Rey Hotel
Del Rey Hotel
#2 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
2,527 reviews
City Center
Taroba Hotel
Taroba Hotel
#14 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
5,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Viale Tower Hotel
#11 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
929 reviews
Mabu Thermas Grand Resort
#20 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
2,873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Recanto Cataratas Thermas Resort & Convention? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Recanto Cataratas Thermas Resort & Convention

Property: Recanto Cataratas Thermas Resort & Convention
Address: Av. Costa E Silva 3500, Foz do Iguacu, State of Parana 85852-282, Brazil
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Parana > Foz do Iguacu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#3 Luxury Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#4 Family Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#9 Romantic Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Recanto Cataratas Thermas Resort & Convention 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recanto Cataratas Thermas Resort & Convention is located in an urban area, surrounded by a green area of native forest. Distant three miles from the city center and with easy access to all attractions. It offers a leisure complex, swimming pools for adults and children with thermal water, indoor pool, with monitors recreation for all ages, games, playground, fitness center, bowling, spa, sauna, bars and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Odigeo, TravelUp, ACCOR, Priceline, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Recanto Cataratas Thermas Resort & Convention reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Recanto Park
Recanto Cataratas Thermas Resort & Convention Foz Do Iguacu, Brazil - Parana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing