We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wish Foz do Iguacu by GJP
Ranked #14 of 79 Hotels in Foz do Iguacu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 November 2011

We spent three nights at the Iguassu Resort and it exceeded my expectations. Everything was bright and clean and the grounds are impressive. You are essentially staying on a golf course. We were in the second cabana behind the main pool. Each cabana has two floors with 4 rooms on each floor - with an adjacent small pool and jacuzzi for each cabana. Our room was in the back and faced the jungle. It was very quiet.

The staff did their best to help us, although few of them speak any English. That can be a challenge at times, but you have to remember that you are in a non-English speaking country so bring a Portuguese-English dictionary.

We were impressed with the security at this property. It is a gated property and the guards at the main gate near the road have night-sticks and wear pistols. After you go through the gate it is still about a half-mile to the hotel buildings and the golf course.

There is a taxi stand right outside the main gate, so getting a taxi is no problem. The main desk will call and they will be there in 5 minutes. We took taxis everywhere. Some sample fares: 30 Reais each way to airport; 30 Reais each way to Brazilian park entrance; 10 Reais each way to nearby souveneir store; 70 Reais to Argentinian park entrance (and 80 Reais to get back because we couldn't find a Brazilian cab and took an Argentinian cab). By the way, the cab drivers took care of all the border crossing paperwork on both the Brazil and Argentine side and we didn't have to get out of the cab (on the Brazil side they had to go into a building to get passports stamped).

There are three restaurants in the main building and they all seemed a little over-priced to me. But on the other hand, most tourist restaurants in Brazil seemed over-priced so this was no different. The buffet breakfast included with the room was excellent.

So if you are looking for a clean, comfortable, safe, affordable place to stay while you check out the falls, then Iguassu Resort will fit the bill.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank armass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,534)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

297 - 303 of 2,534 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2011

Upon first walking into this place, it looks amazing. A lot of money has clearly been thrown at the reception building, which has marble floors, large comfy sofas, vases filled with huge apples for guests to help themselves to, a nice bar area, computers with free internet access, an outside veranda with huge sofas to sit on, and an outdoor pool. Unfortunately, all was not as perfect as it seemed.

Firstly, few of the staff here speak any English at all. Secondly, as it’s a resort, the rooms are housed in villas separate to the reception so you may have to walk 10 minutes to get to your room (as we did). When you first arrive, this isn’t a problem as the bell-boy takes you and your cases in a minivan. Thereafter, every time you need to go to reception for the computers or breakfast etc, you have that walk. Of course, you can ring and ask for the bell boy to collect you, but firstly, if you’re speaking in English, you’ll be lucky if you’re understood, secondly, if you are understood, you may have to wait the 10 minutes it would have taken you to walk for the bell boy to arrive. It’s the same to get out of the resort – the exit is 20 minutes’ walk, so when we wanted to get the bus into the ‘city’ to explore, it was a pain (and also not worth it as the city is one of the most depressing places I’ve seen. One street going up and down a hill, full of run-down shoe and clothes shops). Our room wasn’t bad though – spacious and clean with a fridge, cable TV and nice chocolates left for us every afternoon.

We probably found the staff’s lack of English the biggest problem in this place. Our saving grace was one lovely gentleman, who appeared to be the catering manager, who spoke great English and went out of his way to help us, asking us if we were okay and if we needed anything every time we saw him. The rest of the staff though struggled and the hotel’s tour agency were a little dishonest promising us an English-speaking tour guide when we booked a trip to the Falls. It transpired our guide spoke no more than five words of English at best.

As it’s in a resort with limited means of getting out without transport, unless you are visiting the Falls for the day, staying on the resort can be restricting. There’s not all that much to do, the city isn’t great and it’s not easy to get out and about. The hotel’s buffet restaurant was overpriced and under quality (though breakfast wasn’t bad) and the upstairs area it is located in feels like a cheap canteen in the evenings. If you’re going to stay here, my advice would be, don’t spend more than a couple of days (to see both sides of the Falls) and if you’re going to be there longer, take a swimming costume and books to occupy yourself.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cakeexpectations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

For those who plan to visit mainly the waterfalls and parquet das aves it is a good option. As any of the hotels at the cataratas avenue, it is kind of expensive to go to downtown to have a dinner or to go to itaipu or Paraguay. Our room had pretty good space and was located by the lake. Perhaps it will be necessary some repairs in order to keep the new standards.
We did not rent a car, so we used taxis all the time. Follow below some trip values for reference:
Airport-hotel 30 reais
hotel-cataratas 25 reais
hotel-downtown 30 reais

Due to the distance from downtown we ate at the hotel restaurants almost whole week. Average 40 reais per person.
There is a self service restaurant 39,90 reais, a Japanese and a Italian a la carte.
In general the hotel has a beautiful area, new reception, golf field. Some stuff, may be to the low season time, were closed to repairs. I really think that they could had warned us about that.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andre_Kimura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

I was there with my husband for three nights in August. The weather was cold but sunny and we really enjoyed our stay here.The nature is beautiful far away from the bussy road. We had room 511 in the new building house near the central pool. we The room was very clean and brend new with a nice look to the pool and relax zone. The staff in the resort was very polite and they tried to do everything to satisfied us. In the resort lobby there is a CVC travel front office so we booked the tour to Itaipu dam and to Iguacu Falls with a fabolous bird park on the return. Breakfast and dinner at the resort restaurant was good, taste and really enough. Better that one overpriced Churrascaria in the town of Foz where we was on the first evening.
Only bad thing was no heating in the lobby and restaurant when it was cold.

Room Tip: Rooms in the houses near central building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank zelka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

For a three-star hotel, it's excellent. Nice room, really kind, attentive staff. Delicious breakfast. Chocolates on the beds every night. The grounds are quite lovely and there's lots of things for kids to do--mini-golf, infant pools, geese to look at.

For a hotel aspiring to four stars...it still needs some work. The place is located close to the airport and the Falls, but far from everything else, and they take advantage of their isolation by charging up the butt for food and water. The dinner buffet was 40R and didn't look very appetizing. They provided butter knives to cut their steaks. The dinner menu is limited and expensive.

I caved in and took one of the overpriced bottles of water from the frigobar one night, and I discovered how another guest dealt with the expense--the bottle had already been opened and drunk, then refilled with tap water and tightly closed. I found one more bottle like that and decided to go thirsty that night.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colleen780032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

The Iguazu Falls are superb beyond description, but the town, at least on the Brazilian side, is a dump. Among the limited choices of hotels and, even more so, restaurants, Iguassu Resort in Foz Do Iguacu is probably the best choice. We had no intention to throw money by staying at Das Cataratas and locals told us that the luxury hotel is no longer what it used to be. We cannot confirm, having no interest whatsoever in that place,

The reception area is depressing and receptionists, like most other Brazilians, do not speak a word of English - or other international language. They are also not very happy to work in a remote place like that & they'll let you know.

It's critical to ask for the remodeled rooms, which are quite nice. The other ones are simply unacceptable. Of course, nothing is done well from the beginning to end here, so you'll hear every single detail of all of the activities happening in the adjacent bathroom! In addition, the bathroom door knobs kept on falling!

There is no proper restaurant in this hotel. In lieu, there is a huge building that looks better suited for housing boats. Breakfasts are fine, but dinners are a major challenge. In all honesty, I'd be hard pressed to remember having a worse dinner ever in a more depressing environment. The first night we had that interesting experience. We were to trying to understand what got lost in translating "grilled filet mignon"; The thin slice of meat with a finger of fat that was probably cooked in a not so good oven or stove top was surely not what they advertised. The icing on the cake was the temperature in the so-called restaurant; it was so cold at night, that the few cornered tourists were trembling in the thickest clothes they had. Since we failed to find any decent restaurant outside the hotel that actually cooks food rather than offering sketchy buffets (we were not picky, we'd have probably even accepted McDonald's at that point) we ordered in-room dinner at the hotel. Low-level hamburgers on a nice table outdoors surely beat the Iguassu version of grilled filet mignon.

On the plus side, we were fortunate to find the tour operator still open (purely by accident, as the man was delayed by a personal phone call). This way, we were able to secure a taxi trip to the Argentinian side of the Falls, which is much better than the Brazilian side,

To conclude, one only comes here for a full day, which is amply sufficient to experience the magnificence of the falls. So, if one comes mentally prepared, then the experience will be good. Enjoy

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tastefirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

We stayed at this resort for 2 nights, while in Foz. The grounds of the resort were beautiful, and would be great in the summer I'm sure, but it ends there. The rooms, although recently renovated, are so poorly maintained and already look like they are aging. The cleaning service is terrible, and there are tons of bugs. The breakfast, and food at the restaurant in general, is just terrible. We had to get out of there, and wanted to go to Bufla Branca for dinner one night, however since this place is so out of the way, the restaurant would not pick up at this hotel. The front desk sent us to a different Brazilian steakhouse instead (la Cabana), and it was some of the worst and most expensive food I've had. This hotel is fine if you are staying for just one night, don't stay longer.

Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank Luv2Travel120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Foz do Iguacu hotels
City Center
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
#15 of 79 in Foz do Iguacu
1,461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Del Rey Hotel
Del Rey Hotel
#2 of 79 in Foz do Iguacu
2,748 reviews
City Center
Taroba Hotel
Taroba Hotel
#12 of 79 in Foz do Iguacu
6,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wish Foz do Iguacu by GJP? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wish Foz do Iguacu by GJP

Address: Avenida das Cataratas 6845 | Tamanduá, Foz do Iguacu, State of Parana 85853-000, Brazil (Formerly Wish Resort Golf Convention Foz do Iguaçu)
Region: Brazil > State of Parana > Foz do Iguacu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#5 Family Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#6 Business Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
Price Range: £109 - £276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Wish Foz do Iguacu by GJP 4.5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wish Golf Resort is located at Foz do Iguacu, which is at the western region of Parana State, 15 minutes from the international airport and 20 minutes from the Iguassu Falls, laid between the borders of Brazil, Paraguay and Argentina. Accomodation in 215 new apartments, all very cozy and spacious. You can enjoy maximum comfort, surrounded by 555 acres of green area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Wish Foz do Iguacu by GJP reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iguassu Hotel Foz Do Iguacu
Bourbon Iguassu Hotel
Wish Foz Do Iguacu By GJP Brazil - Parana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing