We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking!”
Review of Iguazu Falls

Iguazu Falls
Book In Advance
More Info
US$55.00*
and up
Guided Small-Group Tour to Argentine Side of Iguassu Falls
More Info
US$55.00*
and up
Visit To the Bird Park in Iguazu with Optional Private Tour to Iguazú...
More Info
US$140.00*
and up
Iguassu Falls Combo Tour: Off-Road Jungle Drive, Hike and Waterfall Boat Ride
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The colossal power of these thundering falls, viewable from both Argentina and Brazil, and accessible from Paraguay, is a mesmerizing sight: 275 separate falls in a U-shaped formation pound the water below in raging cascades with a deafening intensity.
Useful Information: Stairs / lift, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Lockers / storage
Annandale, NJ
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Breathtaking!”
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Beautiful! Spectacular! Definitely worth the trip. Visit to both the Brazilian side and Argentinean side is a must as well as a boat ride which takes you right up to the falls -albeit you get soaking wet, but if you go on a hot day, it will feel wonderful. The park itself is very well-maintained.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank PatriciaT917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33,519 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30,516
    2,683
    261
    40
    19
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Tips for Travellers!!”
Reviewed 8 June 2012

OK guys, Brazil side is awesome!! Here is a laundry list I learned :

[1] TAKE THE BUS!!! =)
it's WAY cheaper and VERY near from the airport. We only had a night there, so at first, we rushed for the taxi (which is like $30 USD), then came back on the bus. BUS is the way to go.
[2] definitely learn how to speak and UNDERSTAND the bus phrases in your portuguese guidebook. =) =) !!!!
[3] Surprisingly, Foz de Iguacu is a very modern city!!!!
[4] which falls is better?
depends
Brazil Side: better photo's, more structured, better vantage points
Argentina Side: more natural (less developed), can get "closer" to the falls, etc.
so if you're like my wife, who loves adventure, then Argentina side; if you're like me, who loves adventure but wants to do it in style, then Brazil side. =)
[5] safety side: very safe. we got LOST coming back (see note 2 on understanding the bus system), but it's pretty safe (although it doesn't look like it at first...best to see it on the morning)
[6] for non-brazilian/argentina citizens, the cost to enter the park is 10x higher....=(
but still good.

NOTE: when you first enter the trails leading to the waterfall, don't be fooled in stopping by the "smaller" waterfalls. KEEP WALKING...all the way to the end of the trail, where you see the REAL Falls / Devil's Throat...WOW!

NOTE 2: oh yes, there are lockers, very large lockers available for purchase (like 2 reals or something). even if the park offices have closed, you can still unlock them for your luggages. we had two hefty suitcases from travelling SouthAm, but they fit with room to spare!!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank GoldenPeanuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“One of the highlights of your life!”
Reviewed 7 June 2012

To see (and hear) 3 million gallons of water crashing through between Brazil and Argentina is an awesome spectacle. If you are in Souther Brazil this is a MUST!
The whole set-up was well organised and very slick. The day wasn't cheap but you got back so much for your money, from stepping out over the falls to the nature trails. I was lucky enough top be with a seasoned Foz Iguazu regular and she knew what my reactionwas likely to be - and she wasn't wrong. I'd go back here again, no problem at all. We even did the Macuco Safari which saw you take a "train" through the forest, followed by a walk down to the river station to get on your rib (rigid inflatable boat) with about 20 others for an unforgettable soaking. The skipper takes the boat right into the falls, more than once - exhilarating! Take a waterproof camera too.
The whole Cataratus area is very pleasent indeed and was one of the most relaxed parts of Brazil we'd visited. We even popped over into Argentina - You MUST visit the Duty Free by the bridge into Argentina - one of the best in the world - absolute mega bargains!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Swattsitallabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Not to be missed!”
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Iguacu Falls are absolutely breathtaking. Deservedly rated as one of the current seven natural wonders of the world! Do make an effort to view the falls from both the Brazilian and Argentinian sides. You need a Visa if you go into Brazil, but it's worth every penny!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank JPJE3150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hook Norton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Stunning!! Must See”
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Spectacular, visit both sides of the falls. The boat ride literally took my breath away.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Zr1Alan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Iguazu Falls also viewed

 

Been to Iguazu Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing