We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“genuine Brazilian experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Belmond Hotel das Cataratas
Ranked #1 of 79 Hotels in Foz do Iguacu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 September 2011

This is one of the best hotels I ever stayed in. Yes, it is expensive, but it provides outstanding services and does not rely only on the location like so many other well situated hotels. The interiors are of an ancient Portuguese colonial mansion, yet everything is modern and impeccably clean. The staff is very courteous, knowledgeable and fast. The buffet at the hotel’s restaurant is also outstanding. And of course the location… just the fact that you can walk when all the crowds of tourists are gone worse every penny…

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ottawa815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataratasManagement, Rooms Division Manager at Belmond Hotel das Cataratas, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review on the Hotel das Cataratas. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed tha "brazilian way" of welcoming.

Your remarks have been forwarded to all of our staff, and we all are looking forward to welcoming you again in your next trip to Brazil.

Sincerely yours,

Stephan Hauser Ferreira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,916)
There are newer reviews for Belmond Hotel das Cataratas
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,250 - 2,256 of 3,916 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2011

Stayed there for 2 days for a business workshop. It's inside the national park where the iguacu falls is located. In other words, the falls are your garden when you stay there. Service, pool, gym, all in impecable conditions. The only remark is about the room size which i found to be small. I strongly recommend to anyone looking for dreamy experience.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fernando o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataratasManagement, Rooms Division Manager at Belmond Hotel das Cataratas, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2011

Dear Guest,

Your review on the Hotel das Cataratas is of great importance for all of us. We are very pleased to hear that you did enjoy the hotel and its services and that you got to take advantage of the proximity to the Falls.

We are looking forward to having you again with us.

Sincerely yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

Beautiful hotel. Lobby, room, pool, restaurant, bar ... perfect for a short vacation. No other hotel is more convenient as the base for exploring Iguacu. however, it only suits those who like to stay in the park as there is nothing else to do and it takes around 15mins to go outside with costly transportation.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MamSaranya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataratasManagement, Rooms Division Manager at Belmond Hotel das Cataratas, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2011

Dear Guest,

Let me thank you for your kind review on the Hotel das Cataratas. I am glad you did enjoy your time with us and our services.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Stephan Hauser Ferreira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2011

We stayed two nights in this hotel in May 2011 but had been too busy to write a review. I agree with others who gave reviews of excellent service and location of this hotel.

Since it was located within the National Park, guests could just take a stroll down to view the spectacular Falls from the Brazilian side any time of the day, though it was not recommended to do so when dark. There was also a free bus service during daytime for a ride to the end of the Park and return trip back to the hotel. There were a couple of cafes at the end of the park but they close early.

We took a half day tour to view the Argentina side of the Falls and it was really worth the trip to see the journey of the placid river till it spilled over as the spectacular "Devil's Throat" .

We had dinner at the Rafain Restaurant on the first night but on the second day, we had quite a heavy lunch at the cafe in the Park , so I decided to take a light dinner, without any meat. My husband opted for the full buffet, which was really substantial with many meat dishes but I asked the restaurant if I could have just have a vegetable soup for dinner. The captain was very nice and suggested that I take a half buffet meaning just appetizers and dessert. I was very glad to just eat salads, soup and some dessert that night.

I liked the free drying service provided by the hotel. My thick jacket and pants were splashed very wet by the waterfalls on the first day and after washing, I sent them to be dried and I got them back nicely pressed too.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaychan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataratasManagement, Director of Sales at Belmond Hotel das Cataratas, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2011

Dear Guest,

On behalf of our entire team at Hotel das Cataratas, let me thank you for your kind comment on our property.

We are all vey happy to see that you did enjoy our services and yout time around the Falls.

It would be a great pleasure to welcome you again in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Stephan Hauser Ferreira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2011

If you can afford it, then this is a great place to stay when visiting the Brazil side of the falls. Only one inside the Park on the Brazil side. From the front lobby of the hotel, you can see the falls. The start of the falls trail is about 50 meters across the road from the hotel lobby.

We arrived after 2 nights on the Argentina side of the falls. Arrived here by cab. Unfortunately, Argentine taxis are not allowed into this side of the National Park. So the hotel collected us from the entrance area. All very efficient.

We arrived in the morning, but the hotel kindly let us check in. First impressions are typical of a hotel of this standard. Everywhere immaculately clean. Teams of staff cleaning, brushing, polishing and mopping all day long. Cleanest hotel I've ever been to. Typical low rise colonial style building. Wide corridors. Lots of beautifully polished dark wood doors and floors. Very polite staff throughout. Previous guest list would read like a world Who's Who. Incredibly polite Reception staff.

Room - They kindly upgraded us to a junior suite. Good size lounge with nice size TV. Digital safe. Fridge.

Bathroom - Good size with high quality fitments and toiletries. Powerfull hairdryer. Nice tiles. Great shower.

Bedroom - good size again. Super comfy bed with high quality linen. Slept well. A second TV. Plenty of sockets -duel sockets for European round and US flat plugs - 220V. Turndown service during dinner - nice free chocolates and water.

Pool - Great heated pool after walking the falls. First class service. Free fruit kebabs. Very comfy loungers. No stained padding here!! Immaculate gardens.

Food - Had lunch by the pool. High quality snacks at reasonable prices. We had dinner at the buffet. Again a high standard. Huge choice of BBQ meats. Not cheap, but easier than a taxi trek into Foz town and back. Excellent breakfast with champagne. Very attentive service.

We could not fault this place in any way. They have thought of everything for your comfort and enjoyment. Allowed us to check out at 13.00, so we did the falls train again. We regretted only booking here for one night. Very sad to leave, could have done with a few nights more. Great value at the price we paid for a superb hotel with excellent service. If onyl all hotels were as good as this.

Taxi to Foz airport fixed price BR$45.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NeilandBarbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataratasManagement, Rooms Division Manager at Belmond Hotel das Cataratas, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. All of us at Hotel das Cataratas are very glad to read such nice lines about our hotel.

For us, as hoteliers, it's very pleasant to learn that our guests felt welcomed and embraced.


Next time you plan to come to Iguaçu, please let me know and I will be most pleased to arrange your booking personally.

Very best Regards,

Stephan Hauser Ferreira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2011

Stayed with my husband for several nights. What a magical place. The hotel itself is gorgeous. Everywhere your eyes fall is a different beautiful hardwood, a beautiful plant, a brightly plumed bird, or an interesting specimen of wildlife. Our room was on the small side but well furnished. Its window faced the Falls - amazing. Only complaint about the room: one night we left our light on when we left the room. When we returned rhere were so many bugs! That night we slept wearing DEET.
The pool area was beautiful and poolside service attentive. Hotel food was quite good, albeit expensive. (And since you are quite a ride from "civilization" you are somewhat limited in choices). We used room service once and it was fine (a good alternative to the buffet dinner or the somewhat limited menu in the main dining room). A small problem is that the hotel shopping area is very small with no decent sundries store. And, though there was a spa, there was (oddly) no fitness center.
But what overwhelms everything else, positive and negative: location. The hotel is within the National Park. As a guest you have access to the Falls 24x7. This means that you will be able to hike down to the Falls before and after the park opens - in relative solitude. The Falls themselves are magical. It is possible to have little cavils with the hotel, but overall - a beautiful hotel in a magical location - what could be better?

Room Tip: Ask for a room faving the Falls.
  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank knitsafghans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataratasManagement, Rooms Division Manager at Belmond Hotel das Cataratas, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2011

Dear Guest,

Let me take this opportunity to thank you for writing your reviw on the Hotel das Cataratas. I was very pleased to hear that the hotel, decoration and services meet your expectations.

There is just one thing I would like to add to one of your comments, the hotel does offer a fitness room. This should have been told to you at your check-in. I will be double checking with our front office why this information was not provided. I would like to apologise for this lack of information.

My team and I remain at your entire disposal and look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Stephan Hauser Ferreira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

Very nicely renovated 5 stars hotel, the hotel is in the Iguazu park, very convenient to see the falls from the Brazilian side.

The rooms are large and well equiped.

The pool is very large with good service.

Nice piano bar in the evening to relax after dinner

The buffet restaurant is excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank genious44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataratasManagement, Rooms Division Manager at Belmond Hotel das Cataratas, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2011

Dear Guest,

First of all let me thank you for taking the time to post a comment on our property. Your feedback is of great value, and we are all very happy to see that your stay with us was satisfactory.

All of us at the Hotel das Cataratas are loking forward for the opportunity to welcome you back.

Sincerely yours,

Stephan Hauser Ferreira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Foz do Iguacu hotels
City Center
Del Rey Hotel
Del Rey Hotel
#2 of 79 in Foz do Iguacu
2,627 reviews
City Center
Taroba Hotel
Taroba Hotel
#12 of 79 in Foz do Iguacu
5,582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
#18 of 79 in Foz do Iguacu
1,355 reviews
Hotel Colonial Iguacu
#42 of 79 in Foz do Iguacu
1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Hotel das Cataratas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel das Cataratas

Address: Rodovia Br 469 Km 32 | Iguacu National Park, Foz do Iguacu, State of Parana 85855-750, Brazil
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Parana > Foz do Iguacu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Family Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Luxury Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Romantic Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#5 Business Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
Price Range: £274 - £466 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel das Cataratas 5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the spectacular Iguacu Falls in Iguacu National Park, the 5-star Belmond Hotel das Cataratas provides free Wi-Fi internet access. Guests can enjoy a cocktail by the swimming pool or play a game of tennis on the provided court. The falls can be experienced by speed boat, rafting or by a helicopter flyover. For excitement and adventure, guests can enjoy abseiling, rock climbing and canopy walks. Walking tours allow for the surrounding lush rain forest to be explored. Belmond Hotel das Cataratas offers traditional Portuguese styled rooms with a flat screen TV, dark wood furniture and warm natural tones. Some rooms provide a balcony and seating area. The two restaurants on-site provide views of the falls and of the hotel's pool. They serve a selection of international and local Brazilian cuisine. In the evening live music can be enjoyed in the downstairs bar. The Iguacu Falls lie between the Brazilian state of Parana and Argentina. The Brazilian side offers postcard panoramic views, while the Argentinian side provides varied, up-close views. The hotel is located in a privileged position, alongside the Iguassu Falls. It is in fact the only hotel situated in the Iguassu National Park. Because of its prime location, the Belmond Hotel das Cataratas offers its guests a unique experience - taking walks along the trails by the falls which may be done at any time during the day, with the added advantage that from 7 a.M to 9 a.M, the trails are for guests of the hotel exclusively. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Belmond Hotel das Cataratas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Das Cataratas Hotel
Tropical Das Cataratas
Hotel Das Cataratas
Hotel Tropical Das Cataratas
Belmond Hotel Das Cataratas Foz Do Iguacu, Brazil - Parana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing