We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Belmond Hotel das Cataratas
Ranked #1 of 78 Hotels in Foz do Iguacu
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 13 October 2011

The service from the staff was phenomenal. Very personal. Food was amazing, if a little pricey, but that is the way it appears to be in all of Brazil. The view of the falls is fantastic and the fact that you get to experience it without all of the visitors is even better! We are already booking our next trip there!

Room Tip: If you can afford it, choose a room that has a view of the falls!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovestravelling162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataratasManagement, Rooms Division Manager at Belmond Hotel das Cataratas, responded to this review, 16 October 2011
Dear Guest,

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to thank you on your review. For us at the Hotel das Cataratas, guest satisfaction is our primary and main goal. To see that this was achieved makes us believe that we are on the right track with our customers.

To have to falls just for yourself, is truly an amazing experience, and I am very pleased to see that you did took advantage of this.

We all look forward to welcoming you again on your next trip to South America.

Sincerely yours,

Stephan Hauser Ferreira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,877 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,270
    463
    93
    33
    18
See reviews for
757
2,148
203
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (586)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

Just spent 5 nights with wife and kids (9, 12 and 14). The hotel clearly exceeded the expectation.

The installations are in good shape. The personnel will help you with everything. Housekeeping is superb!

We will always find something to complain: the price of food! As you have no options outside the hotel, be prepared to pay a lot for food.

Anyway, it his highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sweiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataratasManagement, Rooms Division Manager at Belmond Hotel das Cataratas, responded to this review, 16 October 2011
Dear Guest,

First of all, I would like for taking the time to write a review about the Hotel das Cataratas. We are very pleased to know that you and your family did enjoy your stay with us.

Due to the appreciation of Real in face of the Dolar / Euro, Brazil is really becoming a less cheaper destination than it used to be.

We all at the Hotel das Cataratas remain at your entire disposal, and are very much looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Stephan Hauser Ferreira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

First of all, fair dues, its a fabulous hotel, great rooms, great location and good pool. But let down seriously by 2 things. 1. Asked for an Iron before going to dinner. They do not do irons so offered to press 3 items for us.....The cost was more that $60 for 3 items. Also, the dinner was not good and terrible value. $50 is the cheapest bottle of wine and it was muck + the "buffet" was nothing to write home about and the whole meal with wine came to over $250, worst value meal I have ever had. Do stay at this hotel if you have limited time by the falls as it is right next door but these are my tips if you do:
1. No need to book a tour if you just want to see the Brazilian side of the falls or even if you want to do a boat trip as well as this is all within reach of the hotel
2. Forget about the restuarant, get room service which looked fine (but not wine)
3. Make sure you bring everythng ironed :-)

Room Tip: Not a big deal as although literally next to the falls, lots of trees hide the view so any room will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djspanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataratasManagement, Rooms Division Manager at Belmond Hotel das Cataratas, responded to this review, 16 October 2011
Dear Guest,

First of all, I would like to thank you for your review on the Hotel das Cataratas. We have taken all points mentioned by you under consideration and your review has been discussed with our entire management team.

We at the Hotel das Cataratas are committed to the guests satisfaction and your feedback is of great importance and value to us, and it will help us to keep improving our standards of service.

We are very sorry to hear that your experience with us was not completely satisfactory, and I would like to invite to stay with us again so we have the chance to rectify this image you left us with.

I remain at your entire disposal for anything you might need.

Sincerely yours,


Stephan Hauser Ferreira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

This hotel is so excellent you almost forget the magic falls at your doorstep. Getting back your laundry nicely folded in a beautiful cover with an orchid on top. A simple but touching detail. An example of the high level Das Cataratas has reached. Orient Express noblesse oblige.
Staff perfect. Restaurant-buffet very good. Breakfast what you might expect with these high standards, no surprises.
Staying here is very expensive indeed, but save a little more and make the trip to this special corner of Brazil. You won't regret it for a second.

Room Tip: You don't need a room with a view here. Just step outside to see the falls
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pluskat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataratasManagement, Rooms Division Manager at Belmond Hotel das Cataratas, responded to this review, 13 October 2011
Dear Guest,

Reviews like yours makes us feel that we are on the right track to keep our guests satisfied. Your comments have been forwarded to our entire team, and all of them where very happy to read your kind words.

All of us here at Hotel das Cataratas are looking forward for your next stay with us.

Sincerely yours,

Stephan Hauser Ferreira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
東京23区, 東京都
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

View, breakfast, room service, room, boutiques, everythings are terrific!
It must be worth to only stay at the hotel, rather than visiting Foz do Iguacu.

Check in and out were made smoothly.
Breakfast is served by the pool which allowed me to spend agreable moment in the beginning of the day.

As the area is quite safe this hotel is highly recommended for women.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank couchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level 6 Contributor
399 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2011

The hotel is lovely with views over the falls just over a lawn at the front. Because it's inside the park you can see sunset & sunrise over the falls before or after all the visitors arrive. My husband & I had the falls all to ourselves & watch the sunrise over the falls & it was magical. The hotel itself is lovely & the rooms are really nice. We got a taxi into town one night which is a bit pricey but fun. The hotel restaurant is a bit pricey but very good. Breakfast is quite magnificent. Very romantic.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poopyscoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataratasManagement, Rooms Division Manager at Belmond Hotel das Cataratas, responded to this review, 13 October 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review on our hotel. We are all very pleased to hear that you did enjoy your time around the falls and at the Hotel das Cataratas.

It's completely right when you say that sunrise and sunset are amazing. I am very happy that you got the opportunity to take advantage of that, and I am sure that it going to be a memory for life.

We are looking forward to having you again with us in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Stephan Hauser Ferreira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2011

The falls was our second stop on a 16-day trip to South America. We flew in to the airport from Rio and our hotel driver was ready and waiting for us when we arrived. We found the rooms to be very clean and the food to be excellent. The Brazilian-style barbecue is an excellent dinner option, but for something smaller, we found the cheese ravioli from the menu to be great as well. Each morning for breakfast, the staff was smiling and very eager to help us get situated with coffee before visiting the breakfast buffet.

Sitting by the pooldeck when not touring the falls is an excellent way to spend the day. Toucans were landing in the trees near the deck and an array of lizards and paca lingered nearby to keep us entertained. As for access to the falls, you simply walk across the street. We learned before 9am, the park paths are open to strictly guests of the hotel only. Kind of nice considering how busy the trails become later in the day.

Our only complaint was being misinformed about the bus from the park grounds back to the hotel. We grabbed the bus that comes every 10 minutes in front of the hotel to go to the aviary at the park entrance. We stayed for about two hours and had a great time. The hotel staff told us we simply needed to show our rooms keys when purchasing bus tickets for the ride back to the hotel to receive a discounted rate. At the bus ticket desk, the woman was resistant to give us two discounted tickets even though we showed her our room key; she only wanted to offer one ticket since we showed a shared key. Make sure to bring two keys to receive the proper discount for the bus back.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelAddiction101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataratasManagement, Rooms Division Manager at Belmond Hotel das Cataratas, responded to this review, 13 October 2011
Dear Guest,

First of all let me thank you for taking the time to write a review about the Hotel das Cataratas. I am very pleased to see that you did enjoy our services, food, and your stay with us in a general way.

Let me apologise for the lack of information regarding the entry to the park and the bus fare. In deed, in order to get the discounted rate you need to show both key cards. I have personally spoken to our Front Desk team to assure that this kind of situation do not happens again in the future.

All of us at the Hotel das Cataratas would love to have you back as our guest on your next trip to South America, and remain at your entire disposal for anything you might need.

Sincerely yours,

Stephan Hauser Ferreira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Foz do Iguacu hotels
City Center
Del Rey Hotel
Del Rey Hotel
#2 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
2,595 reviews
City Center
Taroba Hotel
Taroba Hotel
#13 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
5,478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
#17 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
1,350 reviews
Hotel Colonial Iguacu
#43 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
1,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Hotel das Cataratas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel das Cataratas

Property: Belmond Hotel das Cataratas
Address: Rodovia Br 469 Km 32 | Iguacu National Park, Foz do Iguacu, State of Parana 85855-750, Brazil
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Parana > Foz do Iguacu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Spa Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Romantic Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Family Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#5 Business Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel das Cataratas 5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the spectacular Iguacu Falls in Iguacu National Park, the 5-star Belmond Hotel das Cataratas provides free Wi-Fi internet access. Guests can enjoy a cocktail by the swimming pool or play a game of tennis on the provided court. The falls can be experienced by speed boat, rafting or by a helicopter flyover. For excitement and adventure, guests can enjoy abseiling, rock climbing and canopy walks. Walking tours allow for the surrounding lush rain forest to be explored. Belmond Hotel das Cataratas offers traditional Portuguese styled rooms with a flat screen TV, dark wood furniture and warm natural tones. Some rooms provide a balcony and seating area. The two restaurants on-site provide views of the falls and of the hotel's pool. They serve a selection of international and local Brazilian cuisine. In the evening live music can be enjoyed in the downstairs bar. The Iguacu Falls lie between the Brazilian state of Parana and Argentina. The Brazilian side offers postcard panoramic views, while the Argentinian side provides varied, up-close views. The hotel is located in a privileged position, alongside the Iguassu Falls. It is in fact the only hotel situated in the Iguassu National Park. Because of its prime location, the Belmond Hotel das Cataratas offers its guests a unique experience - taking walks along the trails by the falls which may be done at any time during the day, with the added advantage that from 7 a.M to 9 a.M, the trails are for guests of the hotel exclusively. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Belmond Hotel das Cataratas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Das Cataratas Hotel
Tropical Das Cataratas
Hotel Das Cataratas
Hotel Tropical Das Cataratas
Belmond Hotel Das Cataratas Foz Do Iguacu, Brazil - Parana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing