We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expensive? Certainly.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Belmond Hotel das Cataratas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Belmond Hotel das Cataratas
Ranked #1 of 78 Hotels in Foz do Iguacu
Certificate of Excellence
BATH
Level Contributor
108 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Expensive? Certainly.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2011

This hotel is very close to perfection. Immaculate rooms and first class service which is what you'd expect from the Orient Express group and its recent investment in a £35M refurbishment. The hotel is the only one in the national park and a short stroll from a good view of the Argentinian side. Eventually you will realise that the low hum at all times is not a generator but the noise of the waterfalls themselves. The food is very good although not quite as good as the prices would have you believe. The rooms and public areas are first class and if you need something then just ask. Do not spend extra money on rooms at the front, the view of the falls from them is not that good. Try a garden or forest room instead and enjoy the birdlife in the trees. For a really good view, climb to the top of the tower above reception. Very sorry to leave but maybe time for one more swim in the large pool?

Room Tip: Choose a room in the Forest or Garden wings to enjoy the birdlife.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Typhoons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataratasManagement, Rooms Division Manager at Belmond Hotel das Cataratas, responded to this review, 20 November 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review on the Hotel das Cataratas.

Your comments on our services and property have been forwarded to our entire team. We where all very pleased to see that you did enjoy your stay with us and that you enjoyed the beauty of nature at this unique location.

We all remain looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Stephan Hauser Ferreira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,687 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,109
    440
    90
    31
    17
See reviews for
711
2,048
196
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (564)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Larnaka City, Cyprus
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

Our first overall impression was great. The location is second to none, the architecture, colonial Portugese, was impressive and the service good. But, as they say, the difference is in the detail, and this is where this hotel fails. Our overpriced room was well appointed but the wall lights where off the vertical, the aluminuim window frame came off and the toilet got blocked. The food is above average but nowhere near what it should be for a hotel of this stature. The staff are not all smiling. One particular waiter seemed to be quite dsicontent with his job. We couldn´t but help feel that this hotel has tried to rise to the image but failed. Something is clearly missing and that thing is finess.

Room Tip: Don´t bother paying a premium for a waterfall facing room. You get to face the street too, which is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank al29252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataratasManagement, Rooms Division Manager at Belmond Hotel das Cataratas, responded to this review, 20 November 2011
Dear Guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for writing your review on the Hotel das Cataratas. Your feedback is of great importance to us, and all the points you mentioned have been forwarded to our Management Team, to prevent it to happen again in the future.

Of course our main goal at the Hotel das Cataratas is to provide the best customer service and to assure that all of our guest leave the hotel with a remarkable impression about our services and staff.

Let me express my sincere apologies for the fault during your stay. I would also like it very much to have the opportunity to discuss the points you mentioned personally with you.
I leave my personal e-mail address so you can reach me at any time.

We would like to welcome you back to the Hotel das Cataratas and have the opportunity to amend this impression you where left of our property.

Sincerely yours,

Stephan Hauser Ferreira
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

My partner and I stayed here over a year ago but felt as I had just written a really good review for another hotel, I couldn't neglect this one either ;)

We stayed here as part of a Brazilian tour for two nights and it really was paradise. The room was so luxurious and the toiletries made me smile :) it was quite rainy during our stay but didn't put us off from the beauty of the falls, we felt so lucky to be staying here and I'm glad that the hotel was elegant with the surroundings. Breakfast lovely and lots to choose from. Dinner great too. Beware though as we spent a fortune in the bar drinking cocktails. oooops - entirely our fault!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BeachcombBabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataratasManagement, Rooms Division Manager at Belmond Hotel das Cataratas, responded to this review, 20 November 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on our property.

I was very pleased to learn that you did enjoy your stay with us, and that even with rain you got to enjoy the Falls and Iguassu.

I imagine you have tried one of our Caipirinhas at the Bar Tarobá, made with Sugar Cane Rum, and a special technique. You will find Caipirinhas all over Brazil, but made as they are made here, and being able to drink them on the terrace overlooking the falls just at the Hotel das Cataratas.

We are looking forward to welcome you back as our guest, and, for your next trip, a tip: If you book during january to february, you are more likely to get beautiful sunny days.

On behalf of the entire Hotel das Cataratas team, thank you for staying with us.


Stephan Hauser Ferreira
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

We stayed here at the end of our month long holiday as a treat. We wish we had booked for longer!
The location was the first reason we chose the hotel. You literally walk out of the front door, cross the road and can see the falls. You fall asleep to the roar of the falls at night.
There are staff all over the place ready to help with whatever you may need.
After touring the falls it was lovely to laze around the pool on the very comfy lounges and drink one of their yummy cocktails.
Our kids loved the pool.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kellie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataratasManagement, Rooms Division Manager at Belmond Hotel das Cataratas, responded to this review, 20 November 2011
Dear Guest,

In name of our entire staff I would like to thank you for your kind review on the Hotel das Cataratas.

It is our main goal to secure guest satisfaction and to make your stay with us as remarkable as possible.

You stated your stay with us was too short, so be assured, that we are very much looking forward to having you with us again in the future.

Sincerely yours,

Stephan Hauser Ferreira
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

This is one of the best hotels I've stayed at. It is expensive, but well worth it. In a word the staff is phenomenal, really great. It is not often that when you check in the front desk person takes you to your room and makes sure you know where everything is and how it works.


The hotel is in a converted monastery and the rooms were amazing, real old world charm but not in a stuffy way. I had stayed at the Sheraton Hotel on the Argentinian side and the contrast in the quality of the rooms, the entire hotel was striking.

The food was great breakfast was included but dinner was at an extra charge. While the food was really good, it was expensive I thought, but there really was no alternative.

The other bonus is that the hotel sits across the street from the falls and you can walk to Devil's Throat in about 15-20 minutes. From that perspective its better than the Argentinian side.

Room Tip: I think every room in this hotel would be great
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jrsee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataratasManagement, Rooms Division Manager at Belmond Hotel das Cataratas, responded to this review, 20 November 2011
Dear Guest,

Let me thank you for taking your time to write a review on our property.

Your feedback is of great importance to us, and to see that you did enjoy our services and the property makes us believe that we are on the right track to make our guests feel at home at the Hotel das Cataratas.

In deed, Brazil has turned into a more expensive destination than it used to be a few year ago due to the strong value of the Real in face of the Dolar.

I am however very pleased to see that you felt that you had good value for money and that the experience was pleasant in the overall.

All of us at the Hotel das Cataratas are looking forward to welcoming you back in your next trip to Brazil.

Very best Regards,


Stephan Hauser Ferreira
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2011

Housekeeping will fold and put away your clothes if you leave them anywhere besides in your bag. Every staff person was very friendly and helpful. The hotel is very beautiful inside and rooms well decorated. Breakfast was a great spread of fresh fruits and juices, homemade yogurt, cereals, breads, eggs by request...all delicious. The toucans will make an appearance in the trees at poolside. You can sit on their front porches with a view and the sound of the falls while having a caiparinha. Most certainly would love to return one day.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashleno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataratasManagement, Rooms Division Manager at Belmond Hotel das Cataratas, responded to this review, 16 October 2011
Dear Guest,

I have personally forwarded your comments to all our team. We are all very pleased to see that you did enjoy your stay with us, and that the beauty of nature around the falls unveiled it special moments whilst you where with us.

We all remain at your disposal, and look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel das Cataratas.

Sincerely yours,

Stephan Hauser Ferreira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

The service from the staff was phenomenal. Very personal. Food was amazing, if a little pricey, but that is the way it appears to be in all of Brazil. The view of the falls is fantastic and the fact that you get to experience it without all of the visitors is even better! We are already booking our next trip there!

Room Tip: If you can afford it, choose a room that has a view of the falls!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lovestravelling162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataratasManagement, Rooms Division Manager at Belmond Hotel das Cataratas, responded to this review, 16 October 2011
Dear Guest,

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to thank you on your review. For us at the Hotel das Cataratas, guest satisfaction is our primary and main goal. To see that this was achieved makes us believe that we are on the right track with our customers.

To have to falls just for yourself, is truly an amazing experience, and I am very pleased to see that you did took advantage of this.

We all look forward to welcoming you again on your next trip to South America.

Sincerely yours,

Stephan Hauser Ferreira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Foz do Iguacu hotels
City Center
Del Rey Hotel
Del Rey Hotel
#2 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,426 reviews
City Center
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
#17 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Foz Do Iguacu
#16 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,336 reviews
Mabu Thermas Grand Resort
#19 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Hotel das Cataratas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel das Cataratas

Property: Belmond Hotel das Cataratas
Address: Rodovia Br 469 Km 32 | Iguacu National Park, Foz do Iguacu, State of Parana 85855-750, Brazil
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Parana > Foz do Iguacu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Romantic Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Spa Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Family Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Luxury Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#5 Business Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel das Cataratas 5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the spectacular Iguacu Falls in Iguacu National Park, the 5-star Belmond Hotel das Cataratas provides free Wi-Fi internet access. Guests can enjoy a cocktail by the swimming pool or play a game of tennis on the provided court. The falls can be experienced by speed boat, rafting or by a helicopter flyover. For excitement and adventure, guests can enjoy abseiling, rock climbing and canopy walks. Walking tours allow for the surrounding lush rain forest to be explored. Belmond Hotel das Cataratas offers traditional Portuguese styled rooms with a flat screen TV, dark wood furniture and warm natural tones. Some rooms provide a balcony and seating area. The two restaurants on-site provide views of the falls and of the hotel's pool. They serve a selection of international and local Brazilian cuisine. In the evening live music can be enjoyed in the downstairs bar. The Iguacu Falls lie between the Brazilian state of Parana and Argentina. The Brazilian side offers postcard panoramic views, while the Argentinian side provides varied, up-close views. The hotel is located in a privileged position, alongside the Iguassu Falls. It is in fact the only hotel situated in the Iguassu National Park. Because of its prime location, the Belmond Hotel das Cataratas offers its guests a unique experience - taking walks along the trails by the falls which may be done at any time during the day, with the added advantage that from 7 a.M to 9 a.M, the trails are for guests of the hotel exclusively. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Belmond Hotel das Cataratas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Das Cataratas Hotel
Tropical Das Cataratas
Hotel Das Cataratas
Hotel Tropical Das Cataratas
Belmond Hotel Das Cataratas Foz Do Iguacu, Brazil - Parana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing