We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service - a niggle or two” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Belmond Hotel das Cataratas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Belmond Hotel das Cataratas
Ranked #1 of 78 Hotels in Foz do Iguacu
Certificate of Excellence
Brasilia, Df
Level Contributor
151 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Excellent service - a niggle or two”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

Our second time here and the stay was really very good - nice rooms and just about the best service from all staff that you could wish for. The rooms are a nice size and very comfortable. They're certainly not cheap but you get quality and ... the best location to see the Falls, as so many have already said, it's just fabulous.
The niggles are to do with eating. There are two restaurants but on two of our three nights, one (Ipe) was closed for travel groups. Now, I don't want to sit amongst 100+ people in the same group, but if you stay at this hotel you don't have much of an option but to eat there, so closing a restaurant is a bit naff, frankly. Plus the one left open (Itaipu) is pretty expensive.
And we were told that the bar served food at lunchtime - only to discover on our last day that the bar was closed at lunchtime!
But they are just that - niggles. It's still a great hotel and the best place, surely, to experience the truly wonderful place that is Iguacu National Park. Bucket-list material.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeffStranks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataratasManagement, Rooms Division Manager at Belmond Hotel das Cataratas, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Dear guest,

We are very pleased to learn that you did enjoy your time with us.

Your remarks on the Restaurants have been forwarded to the Manager in charge and measures are being taken to prevent this to happen again in the future.

We would like to thank you for the feedback, which is of great importance to us to keep improving our services.

We would most pleased to welcome you back for third time at Hotel das Cataratas.

Sincerely yours,

Stephna Hauser Ferreira
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,683 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,106
    439
    90
    31
    17
See reviews for
710
2,046
196
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (562)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

I booked this hotel for a long weekend away with my partner as a birthday present. It seemed a little expensive at the time of booking, but once we arrived we realized we made a great choice! Being the only hotel inside the National Park on the Brailisian side and directly in front of the Iguaçu Falls, meant we were able to take scenic walks in the early morning or late afternoon without hoards of tourists. The service offered was impeccable! All staff were friendly and very helpful. Our room was spacious, comfortable and full of old world charm. From the moment we arrived we knew we were going to have a very special experience! I thoroughly recommend this hotel for special occasions... You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GregBrasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataratasManagement, Rooms Division Manager at Belmond Hotel das Cataratas, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us.

We are very pleased to learn that you did enjoy your time with us and that we contributed for a important "family" moment.

We would be delighted to welcome you back as our guest.

Sincerely yours,

Stephan Hauser Ferreira
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

Not sure what we can say about this hotel which has not already been said!

It's hard to find any faults as the service, location, rooms and breakfast are all spot on!

We recomend doing the following during your stay...

A trip to the Argentina side of the falls, the jungle walk and canoeing trip, walk up to the hotel tower at sunset for some great views / photos, walk to the falls before the park opens to the public, laze by the pool and have some exotic drinks, have a couple of cocktails in the bar before dinner, take a massage in the spa. We did all of these things and had the time of our lifes!

The only real downside is the cost of dinner, the BBQ buffet is very good but not worth £40 per person (without drinks!).

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordi1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataratasManagement, Rooms Division Manager at Belmond Hotel das Cataratas, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review and the compliment towards our hotel.

In fact the very strong moment of the Brazilian Real in face of foreign currencies, could make you feel that the prices in Brazil are a bit high.

Nevertheless, I am very pleased to learn that you did enjoy your stay wit us and would be most pleased to welcome you back.

Sincerely yours,

Stephan Hauser Ferreira
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

Anyone visiting Iguassu Falls on the Brazilian or Argentinean side (recommend to do both) simply have to stay here. This stately hotel is located within the Iguassu National Park. You truly get to enjoy the majesty and immensity of Iguassu Falls walking around its surrounds before the crowds arrive and after they have left, when you are pretty much by yourselves hearing nothing but the roar of the falls, especially at sunrise and at sunset. I found it strangely calming and humbling. I don’t think it’s optional if you really want to experience what must be one of the most spectacular natural sights in the world. But be prepared to get wet and enjoy the exhilarating feel of the power of multi-layered falls as they thunder down.

The hotel is in a pink and white sprawling country mansion situated right next to the Falls. As the building is only 2 storeys (except for a bell tower), it does not look imposing notwithstanding its size. The reception foyer is spacious and grand and check-in went smoothly. We were shown to our Deluxe Falls View room on the top (second) floor which you can get to using the lift or stairs is excellent as they check you in. The room was large, beautifully furnished again with wood detailing and best of all, with a view of the Falls (you can get better views going up the 4 story bell tower). They also had some really nice Brazilian toiletries from Granado Pharmacias and colourfully packaged Phebo soaps (so nice we brought some home with us).

The hotel has a small gym, which we used before heading off to breakfast in the morning. We also made use of the tennis court but not the outdoor pool. We also didn’t get to the spa. Breakfast was served at Ipe Grill situated near the swimming pool and tennis courts. The buffet selection was great and eggs were made to order. Great service as well. We stayed at the hotel for dinner one evening - Ipe Grill was closed so we tried the more formal Itaipu restaurant. It was probably a little too fussy for us and too ‘international’ (we wanted the simpler Brazilian fare) and was a bit too pricey. The food was good though.

It is worth spending at least 2 nights here to enjoy the hotel and the park. We organised our activities through the hotel, including a visit to the Argentinean side of the falls (a tax ride away) and the Macuco safari, which was a combination of a trek in the park and a ride in a speedboat through the rapids. Whilst the falls on the Argentinean side was also amazing, the Sheraton (which I think is the only hotel on the Argentinean side of the park) looked to me a poor cousin to this hotel.

Room Tip: Worth getting the rooms with views of the Falls but if you don't, go up to the tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SengWing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataratasManagement, Rooms Division Manager at Belmond Hotel das Cataratas, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Dear Guest,

On behalf of our entire team I would like to thank you for your kind review on out property.

I am pleased to see that you did enjoy your stay and all of our services. It is always great to receive such feedback as yours, and it makes as believe we are on the right track to deliver great service and experience to our guests.

We would be delighted to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Stephan Hauser Ferreira
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

This hotel far exceeded our expectations. The service was second to none, all the staff were completely professional and the rooms were very comfortable. The common pool was a wonderful area to unwind, icy cold washers are supplied regularly to cool you down and the pool menu was fantastic. The best thing was honestly the caipirinha's pool side, what a way to relax in between tours / day trips around this magical destination. An unforgettable experience!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataratasManagement, Rooms Division Manager at Belmond Hotel das Cataratas, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Dear guest,

On behalf of our entire team I would like to thank you for your kind review on the Hotel das Cataratas.

We are pleased to learn that you did enjoy your stay and that you felt well looked after. By the way, the Caipirinhas are really great!

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Stephan Hauser Ferreira
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012 via mobile

Beautiful hotel, extremely helpful staff. Right across the road from the falls. Be sure to walk the falls trail before the tour busses are able to enter the park. Check out the sunset from the bell tower. Amazing!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cadeperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataratasManagement, Rooms Division Manager at Belmond Hotel das Cataratas, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review.

We are very pleased to learn that you did enjoy your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back at the Hotel das Cataratas.

Sincerely yours,

Stephan Hauser Ferreira
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

We only stayed one night here – should be a minimum stay of two nights to get the best out of its ambience and location right next to the falls on the Brazilian side. It was absolutely brilliant!
The hotel oozed heritage yet was apparently built as late as the 1950’s but using a classic style.

Avoiding the crowds to see the falls is a real bonus at the start and end of the day. Evening meal in the main dining room was superb. Breakfast beside the pool was refreshing in the early morning as the sun rose before the heart of the day.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim255350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataratasManagement, Rooms Division Manager at Belmond Hotel das Cataratas, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review on our hotel.

We are pleased to hear that you did enjoy your stay and that you took advatage of the great location.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Stephan Hauser Ferreira
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Foz do Iguacu hotels
City Center
Del Rey Hotel
Del Rey Hotel
#2 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,425 reviews
City Center
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
#17 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Foz Do Iguacu
#16 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,335 reviews
Mabu Thermas Grand Resort
#19 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Hotel das Cataratas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel das Cataratas

Property: Belmond Hotel das Cataratas
Address: Rodovia Br 469 Km 32 | Iguacu National Park, Foz do Iguacu, State of Parana 85855-750, Brazil
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Parana > Foz do Iguacu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Luxury Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Family Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Spa Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#5 Business Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel das Cataratas 5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the spectacular Iguacu Falls in Iguacu National Park, the 5-star Belmond Hotel das Cataratas provides free Wi-Fi internet access. Guests can enjoy a cocktail by the swimming pool or play a game of tennis on the provided court. The falls can be experienced by speed boat, rafting or by a helicopter flyover. For excitement and adventure, guests can enjoy abseiling, rock climbing and canopy walks. Walking tours allow for the surrounding lush rain forest to be explored. Belmond Hotel das Cataratas offers traditional Portuguese styled rooms with a flat screen TV, dark wood furniture and warm natural tones. Some rooms provide a balcony and seating area. The two restaurants on-site provide views of the falls and of the hotel's pool. They serve a selection of international and local Brazilian cuisine. In the evening live music can be enjoyed in the downstairs bar. The Iguacu Falls lie between the Brazilian state of Parana and Argentina. The Brazilian side offers postcard panoramic views, while the Argentinian side provides varied, up-close views. The hotel is located in a privileged position, alongside the Iguassu Falls. It is in fact the only hotel situated in the Iguassu National Park. Because of its prime location, the Belmond Hotel das Cataratas offers its guests a unique experience - taking walks along the trails by the falls which may be done at any time during the day, with the added advantage that from 7 a.M to 9 a.M, the trails are for guests of the hotel exclusively. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Belmond Hotel das Cataratas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Das Cataratas Hotel
Tropical Das Cataratas
Hotel Das Cataratas
Hotel Tropical Das Cataratas
Belmond Hotel Das Cataratas Foz Do Iguacu, Brazil - Parana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing