We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Belmond Hotel das Cataratas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Belmond Hotel das Cataratas
Ranked #1 of 78 Hotels in Foz do Iguacu
Certificate of Excellence
sao paulo, brazil
Level Contributor
71 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

We stayed at the Hotel das Cataratas for 3 days in November 2011, and what a fantastic experience it was! Beautiful setting, nice rooms overlooking the falls, lovely pool area, great spa and helpful staff make this hotel the best accomodation choice in Foz do Iguaçu. The only downside is that at the time they didn't have entertainment for the kids, besides the pool. On the other hand, there are many family tour options around the park, the best in my opinion being the Macuco Safari, an adventurous boat ride that takes you close to the falls. Also, the hotel is located inside the National Park, so that means you have access to the falls before the park opens and after it closes. Sure it is not cheap, but worth every cent. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank claudiaspiandorim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,692 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,114
    440
    90
    31
    17
See reviews for
713
2,048
197
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (564)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at Cataratas for two nights. The staff on entry were very accommodating although a little 'robotic'. The hotel itself is exquisite, beautifully designed and maintained in every way. We stayed in the Garden Wing on the lower floor with no problems. The restaurant buffet was excellent and reasonable. The pool area is outstanding and the grounds are beautifully maintained. Being directly across from a main viewing area of the falls was advantageous although we were defeated by early fog which didn't allow us to beat the huge crowds.
My only criticism is that some of the wait staff are somewhat unreceptive.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Schwampdonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

The Hotel das Cataratas is beautifully decorated in the Colonial Style, beautiful tiles from Minas Gerais. I loved this hotel in every detail. The room was really comfortable, inviting, cozy and classy. I didn’t want to go away. The staff couldn’t be nicer. We had breakfast at the restaurant looking into a piece of the Falls. Surrounded by birds, Toucans, toucanets. We saw monkeys, deer, armadillo, raccoons and other animals. The food is delicious. The piano bar is perfect for a drink by the end o the day.
The hotel is worth every penny because it is the only one located inside the Brazilian National Park. The Park opens to the public at 9am and closes at 5pm. We had the falls for us (literally) at 8 am. Priceless!!! And at the end of the day we went into the trail and saw many animals that come out after the crowds leave. It was a wonderful time. I strongly recommend this hotel. You have all the Majesty of the Iguassu Falls in style.
As a side tour, we have visited the Itaipu Dam and were marveled. What a great engineering work. Choose the guided visit that goes out and inside too. The guide speaks perfect English and is very knowledgeable. I want to go back, Iguassu Falls is wonderful.

Room Tip: all rooms are perfect, but if you can have one facing to the front , you will probably have a view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CampodeFiori2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

We spend two nights in the hotel to ensure we could experience the Iguazu falls to the fullest. We arranged transportation from the airport (Puerto Iguazu, Arg.) via the hotel. On arrival we were impressed. Location is exceptional and hotel is a true 5 star gem. Service and facilities are great. Nice pool and good spa. Breakfast and diner (a la Carte and Buffet) were very good especially when taking the price into account. Very good value for money.
On afternoon/evening one we enjoyed the panoramic view of the Brazilian side. Crowds are slim cause the park closes for entry at 17.30hrs. Staying at the hotel takes the time pressure away. When arriving at the end of the park after ending of busservice just contact the hotel for transportation back. We were glad to have packed some water since the cafetaria's were closed at the time. On the way you might get worried when coming across people who are soaked to the bone when approaching the falls up close. However you can buy transparant raincoats just before the showering falls. On day two we went to the Argentinian side (booked via internal tour agency). Staying at Das Cataratas ensured we could ensure experience Iguazu falls fully. An exceptional experience.
In May the lowseason starts which in our opinion was a good period to visit since temperatures are still round 25 degrees celsius (beginning of May) but the parks (Brazilian and Argentinian) side are not overcrowded.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erik M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
49 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

We stayed at das Cataratas for two nights during our Brazil trip. The hotel has the most amazing location right next to the falls. Since you are inside the park, you can see the falls early in the morning before all the tourists arrive, which makes it a special experience. The hotel itself was flawless from check-in to check-out. The staff spoke all good English and were trained in their respective fields. The hotel was very well mentained and looked spotless.

The breakfast buffet in the morning had everything you can think of and was delicious. We also had dinner in the fine dining restaurant and enjoyed the Brazilien BBQ they offered one night, which again exceeded expectations.

The Wi-Fi was complimentary, which is unfortunately not always common in luxury hotels, so also thumbs up for that. We also enjoyed the pool service with complimentary fruits and little drinks every so often.

The only downside was the size of the room, which was tiny compared to the massive hallways the property had.

Overall this hotel has definitely a place in our top ten.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chris2401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
59 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

Having spent the night before in Sheraton on the Argentinean side, we continued our Iguazu adventure with a night in Hotel das Cataratas. The hotel is beautiful. The room is beautifully appointed although it is on the small side.

Spending the extra money to be close to the falls is worth it unless you're planning to actually spend a lot of time in Iguazu. But for us with only a couple of days in the area, it was worth every single penny.

First, you are free to walk the trail while the park isn't open to the public yet. This might not seem like much but trust me, we went there during a period where you wouldn't think there would be as many people but no, it was still chock full of tourists wanting to see the beauty of the falls. And so the extra time you could spend where you have the whole thing to yourself is magnificent.

Second, the staff is great. Communication was not a problem for us (except for some wait staff at the restaurant but that was easily remedied by other wait staff who approached us right away). Even though our flight was leaving at night they allowed us an extra hour in the room and then we were free to stay in the grounds and use the amenities until we left.

So yes, spend the extra dough. For a once in a lifetime experience, you won't regret it.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sleepyinsomniac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataratasManagement, Rooms Division Manager at Belmond Hotel das Cataratas, responded to this review, 5 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you vey much for sharing your experience with us.

We are pleased to hear that you did enjoy yout time at the Hotel das Cataratas and that you took advantage of having the Falls just for yourself, after opening hours of the Park, this is really something amazing.

We would be delighted to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Stephan Hauser Ferreira
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
83 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

Excellent hotel inside the Park. You can stroll to the Falls before it opens for the public. Service is excellent and the amenity is exceptional. I was lucky to have a view room that I can see part of the Falls. The hotel staff tried hard to accommodate their guess and the food was also excellent. I would highly recommend this hotel, yes, it is expensive but it is worthy.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tuitai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataratasManagement, Rooms Division Manager at Belmond Hotel das Cataratas, responded to this review, 5 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review on the Hotel das Cataratas.

We are delighted to hear that you did enjoy your time with us.

We are looking forward to your next stay at the Hotel das Cataratas.

Sincerely yours,

Stephan Hauser Ferreira
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Foz do Iguacu hotels
City Center
Del Rey Hotel
Del Rey Hotel
#2 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,428 reviews
City Center
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
#17 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Foz Do Iguacu
#16 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
Mabu Thermas Grand Resort
#19 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Hotel das Cataratas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel das Cataratas

Property: Belmond Hotel das Cataratas
Address: Rodovia Br 469 Km 32 | Iguacu National Park, Foz do Iguacu, State of Parana 85855-750, Brazil
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Parana > Foz do Iguacu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Luxury Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Romantic Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Family Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#5 Business Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel das Cataratas 5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the spectacular Iguacu Falls in Iguacu National Park, the 5-star Belmond Hotel das Cataratas provides free Wi-Fi internet access. Guests can enjoy a cocktail by the swimming pool or play a game of tennis on the provided court. The falls can be experienced by speed boat, rafting or by a helicopter flyover. For excitement and adventure, guests can enjoy abseiling, rock climbing and canopy walks. Walking tours allow for the surrounding lush rain forest to be explored. Belmond Hotel das Cataratas offers traditional Portuguese styled rooms with a flat screen TV, dark wood furniture and warm natural tones. Some rooms provide a balcony and seating area. The two restaurants on-site provide views of the falls and of the hotel's pool. They serve a selection of international and local Brazilian cuisine. In the evening live music can be enjoyed in the downstairs bar. The Iguacu Falls lie between the Brazilian state of Parana and Argentina. The Brazilian side offers postcard panoramic views, while the Argentinian side provides varied, up-close views. The hotel is located in a privileged position, alongside the Iguassu Falls. It is in fact the only hotel situated in the Iguassu National Park. Because of its prime location, the Belmond Hotel das Cataratas offers its guests a unique experience - taking walks along the trails by the falls which may be done at any time during the day, with the added advantage that from 7 a.M to 9 a.M, the trails are for guests of the hotel exclusively. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Belmond Hotel das Cataratas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Das Cataratas Hotel
Tropical Das Cataratas
Hotel Das Cataratas
Hotel Tropical Das Cataratas
Belmond Hotel Das Cataratas Foz Do Iguacu, Brazil - Parana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing