We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive but a lovely experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Belmond Hotel das Cataratas
Ranked #1 of 80 Hotels in Foz do Iguacu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2012

We stayed at this hotel for one night only as it was expensive. However it was worth it. The accomodation was luxurious and they allowed us to use the pool after we checked out before going to the Argentine side of the Falls by taxi later in the day.
On the whole the service was outstanding as would be expected in a luxury hotel.
The one disappointment was the salad I ordered which was largely composed of green lettuce leaves and was served without a dressing. Eventually when it was almost eaten some olive oil and balsamic vinegar arrived. A small oversight , but as it was expensive this was disappointing.
Otherwise it was a luxurious stay which lived up to our expectations.It was wonderul to be able to walk to the falls in the early morning before the crowds arrived.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 652Lyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,214 - 2,220 of 4,152 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2012

After spending 3 nights on the Argentinian side of the Falls we decided to splurge out and spend our last night at the Falls in Brazil. We had been told of the Hotel from friends in Far North Queensland, as a MUST stay experience, and it lived upto that plus more. The room we booked overlooked the Bossetti Falls section of Iguassu Falls. The room was very spacious and the eye for detial on the fittings and furniture was wonderful. Our welcome on arrival from Fabio Arena Dias was faultless. A full but not over the top presentation was provided which made us feel very special. Having travelled for about 6 weeks staying in all types of Hostals, Hotels and Cabanas, Hotel das Cataratas was well worth the wait. Lunch around the pool, drinks, cool towels and cocktails set the mood for the day. A massage in the afternoon was very relaxing, followed later at dusk by a short walk after the tourist buses had left set the scene for a most enjoyable dinner.
The advantage of the Hotel is that it is located inside the National Park and if you can get out early or later after the tour buses have left you have the whole area to yourself. A walk upto the Devils Throat Falls at 6.30am should not be missed. We were the only visitors there. It was a great experience having been amongst the throng of tourists on the Argentian side the previous days.
Hotel das Cataratas is one of those "must do's" in life, even if it costs a bit more than the average Hostal accommodation.Do not misss the breakfast. Champagne at 8am sets the mood for the rest of the day.Carefree would be one way to sum it up.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and try for a room over looking the Falls. Room 3301 would be our pick.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saggem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

I spent one night at Hotel das Cataratas and I can safely assure, it´s one of the best Hotels I´ve ever been in.

The suites are way spacious, some have direct waterfall views and are finely decorated. The staff is very polite and ready to help you out in all yours needs. A special surprise I had when checking in was a great room upgrade.

Another exclusive feature this hotel offers is the fact the guests are allowed to visit the waterfalls before and after park opening hours (just like Disney Magic Hours), avoiding the crowds that flood in. I definitively recommend this hotel and I´ll return for sure.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank giancarlodomingues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

We stayed just the two nights but that was sufficient to see the falls from the Argentinian and Brazilian sides. If you have stayed in older grand hotels like the Metropole in Hanoi or Raffles in Singapore you will have an idea of what to expect. It is absolutely beautiful inside and out and although I have seen complaints about restaurant prices it is quite acceptable, especially in the poolside restaurant. Breakfasts and dinner were most enjoyable, wifi is very fast and free, but best of all you are in the National Park right beside the Falls.....it doesn't get much better.
The majority of staff were very hospitable but a few could be more welcoming.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
Thank moonflower59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

We stayed at the Hotel das Cataratas for 3 days in November 2011, and what a fantastic experience it was! Beautiful setting, nice rooms overlooking the falls, lovely pool area, great spa and helpful staff make this hotel the best accomodation choice in Foz do Iguaçu. The only downside is that at the time they didn't have entertainment for the kids, besides the pool. On the other hand, there are many family tour options around the park, the best in my opinion being the Macuco Safari, an adventurous boat ride that takes you close to the falls. Also, the hotel is located inside the National Park, so that means you have access to the falls before the park opens and after it closes. Sure it is not cheap, but worth every cent. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank claudiaspiandorim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

My wife and I stayed at Cataratas for two nights. The staff on entry were very accommodating although a little 'robotic'. The hotel itself is exquisite, beautifully designed and maintained in every way. We stayed in the Garden Wing on the lower floor with no problems. The restaurant buffet was excellent and reasonable. The pool area is outstanding and the grounds are beautifully maintained. Being directly across from a main viewing area of the falls was advantageous although we were defeated by early fog which didn't allow us to beat the huge crowds.
My only criticism is that some of the wait staff are somewhat unreceptive.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Schwampdonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

The Hotel das Cataratas is beautifully decorated in the Colonial Style, beautiful tiles from Minas Gerais. I loved this hotel in every detail. The room was really comfortable, inviting, cozy and classy. I didn’t want to go away. The staff couldn’t be nicer. We had breakfast at the restaurant looking into a piece of the Falls. Surrounded by birds, Toucans, toucanets. We saw monkeys, deer, armadillo, raccoons and other animals. The food is delicious. The piano bar is perfect for a drink by the end o the day.
The hotel is worth every penny because it is the only one located inside the Brazilian National Park. The Park opens to the public at 9am and closes at 5pm. We had the falls for us (literally) at 8 am. Priceless!!! And at the end of the day we went into the trail and saw many animals that come out after the crowds leave. It was a wonderful time. I strongly recommend this hotel. You have all the Majesty of the Iguassu Falls in style.
As a side tour, we have visited the Itaipu Dam and were marveled. What a great engineering work. Choose the guided visit that goes out and inside too. The guide speaks perfect English and is very knowledgeable. I want to go back, Iguassu Falls is wonderful.

Room Tip: all rooms are perfect, but if you can have one facing to the front , you will probably have a view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CampodeFiori2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Foz do Iguacu hotels
City Center
Del Rey Hotel
Del Rey Hotel
#2 of 80 in Foz do Iguacu
2,750 reviews
City Center
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
#15 of 80 in Foz do Iguacu
1,468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Taroba Hotel
Taroba Hotel
#12 of 80 in Foz do Iguacu
6,053 reviews
Wish Foz do Iguacu by GJP
#14 of 80 in Foz do Iguacu
2,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Hotel das Cataratas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel das Cataratas

Address: Rodovia Br 469 Km 32 | Iguacu National Park, Foz do Iguacu, State of Parana 85855-750, Brazil
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Parana > Foz do Iguacu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Luxury Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Romantic Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Spa Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#5 Business Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
Price Range: £228 - £460 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel das Cataratas 5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the spectacular Iguacu Falls in Iguacu National Park, the 5-star Belmond Hotel das Cataratas provides free Wi-Fi internet access. Guests can enjoy a cocktail by the swimming pool or play a game of tennis on the provided court. The falls can be experienced by speed boat, rafting or by a helicopter flyover. For excitement and adventure, guests can enjoy abseiling, rock climbing and canopy walks. Walking tours allow for the surrounding lush rain forest to be explored. Belmond Hotel das Cataratas offers traditional Portuguese styled rooms with a flat screen TV, dark wood furniture and warm natural tones. Some rooms provide a balcony and seating area. The two restaurants on-site provide views of the falls and of the hotel's pool. They serve a selection of international and local Brazilian cuisine. In the evening live music can be enjoyed in the downstairs bar. The Iguacu Falls lie between the Brazilian state of Parana and Argentina. The Brazilian side offers postcard panoramic views, while the Argentinian side provides varied, up-close views. The hotel is located in a privileged position, alongside the Iguassu Falls. It is in fact the only hotel situated in the Iguassu National Park. Because of its prime location, the Belmond Hotel das Cataratas offers its guests a unique experience - taking walks along the trails by the falls which may be done at any time during the day, with the added advantage that from 7 a.M to 9 a.M, the trails are for guests of the hotel exclusively. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Belmond Hotel das Cataratas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Das Cataratas Hotel
Tropical Das Cataratas
Hotel Das Cataratas
Hotel Tropical Das Cataratas
Belmond Hotel Das Cataratas Foz Do Iguacu, Brazil - Parana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing