We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Hotel in an amazing setting” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Belmond Hotel das Cataratas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Belmond Hotel das Cataratas
Ranked #1 of 78 Hotels in Foz do Iguacu
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia Beach, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Hotel in an amazing setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

This hotel was perfect after 4 days in Rio de Janeiro. The location in the national park was breathtaking. From check in to check out the staff was great. When we needed anything they had it to our room in a couple of minutes. Only issue we had was that we didn't have as many vegetarian options at the hotel restaurant, which is understandable when traveling to Brazil. The vegetarian food they did have was great. We got a spa service, that was also very good for the price. Overall, I would recommend this hotel to anyone that enjoys a luxurious hotel that gives you direct access to the falls.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nileshucf99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,692 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,114
    440
    90
    31
    17
See reviews for
713
2,048
197
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (564)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

I'm sure that this review already echos what others have said, but I feel that it's always good to have updated reviews. Great Food. Great Staff. Unbeatable Location. If you are visiting the Falls, suck it up and splurge the extra money to stay here. It is well worth it. As others have said, staying here allows you 24/7 access the the paths which lead to the waterfalls. That means that you can see it and take pictures BEFORE the crowds get there, and lets you stay to see the sunset AFTER the crowds leave. We saw numerous animals and birds along the paths during these hours that were not willing to come out during the heightened tourist hours. You can see the Falls from the bell tower of the hotel, and you can hear them from the swimming pool. My husband and I are not wealthy, so we usually don't spend money like this...but it was well worth it. On the day we went, the park was closed due to a protest by the taxi drivers. If we hadn't been staying inside the park already, it would have been extremely difficult or impossible to see the Falls. It was perfect. The only thing I'll mention is that the restaurants are extremely expensive at the hotel. (US$75 per person for a dinner buffet). Don't get me wrong - the food is great, and they were very pleasant about my food allergy....but that's a lot of money. If you're staying as a family with kids, I can see the cost of meals easily getting out of control. If you take the bus down to the gift shop and restaurant at the end of the Falls, their buffet is about half the price and still great. Make use of that whenever possible to save on cash during your stay. At least breakfast is included! A tour company within the hotel offers round-trip airport transfers that can be set up ahead of time which was also well worth it and makes things easier than trying to find taxis at odd hours of the day.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Melly385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

August 28-31, 2012 This hotel deserves 5 stars plus. The location by the falls is the perfect spot. The grounds and rooms are beautifully decorated. We visited during the full moon and were able to enjoy the night walk to see the Lunar Rainbow. What a treat. We had a garden view room. It was beautiful and comfortable. We enjoyed it so much we extended our stay from one day to three.
Unfortunately I had to use the nurse and the Doctor was in that evening. First I was impressed with the desk clerk, Ligia. She had someone walk me to the Dr and then came up to check on me and stayed until I left. Great Customer Service!! I was well cared for by the Dr and the nurse.
The dinner buffet was very good! Price wise it was in line with High end american Hotel dinners.
Treat yourself.....stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank askinney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

The Hotel das Cataratas is a magnificent facility overlooking Iguazu Falls, one of the true Wonders of the World. The hotel is immaculately appointed and maintained, with staff who are courteous, extremely helpful and full of abundant cheer. The grounds of the hotel provide amazing bird-watching as well as a spectacular array of butterflies. The view from our room was picture postcard-perfect, and the cupola in the front of the hotel also has great sightlines. It is an easy stroll down to the Falls, and you can go back again after the hotel has dried you clothes! The bar and restaurant are first rate, with a nice a la carte menu in addition to the pricey buffet, and a very good wine list. Because the hotel is the only one in the park it is expensive, but it is well worth the cost if you will only be at the Falls for a day or two, as is the case with most visitors. It is simply the best hotel we have ever stayed in.

Room Tip: The Falls-view rooms cost more but are worht it - why not splurge for one night? But all rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UncleDMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
239 reviews
226 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

As many before me have said, the best thing about this hotel is the location within the NP.It is a great experience to be able to walk on the trails early morning and late afternoon after the crowds have gone, and no one else is there. We saw monkeys and toucans when the paths were quiet.
The hotel is good, our room had a Falls view which we loved, but was somewhat on the small side.A large comfortable bed though, and nice amenities, including a pair of Haviainas each to keep, Housekeeping will get you the correct size if the ones provided are not right.
We ate one night in the restaurant in the main building, which was very good indeed, the next by the pool, not quite so good. Breakfast was good and plentiful, and staff were helpful and friendly. Laundry rates are very expensive indeed.The gardens are very well maintained, and full of beautiful birds.
Expensive, but worth it for the position and after hours access to the Falls.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank llewellynroger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataratasManagement, Rooms Division Manager at Belmond Hotel das Cataratas, responded to this review, 3 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us and other travelers.

We are very pleased to hear that you did enjoy your stay with us. In deed, having the possibility to do the path walks down to the falls it's really very special.

We remain forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Stephan Hauser Ferreira
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012

We chose to stay here as part of our honeymoon to South America as one of our stop points in Brazil. We stayed for two nights, late August, arriving midday on day one and leaving at the crack of dawn on day three.

The location of the hotel is fabulous, we can't think of a better located hotel. We appreciate we traveled in low season, but this made things even better for us. We experienced no crowds and felt that we had the falls literally to ourselves.

We went on a tour, via the hotel, through the rainforest on mountain bikes, followed by a canoe along the river. We loved it all, such a great experience, very idyllic. The weather must have been in the mid twenties, perfect temperature. We found the hotel very helpful and informative when booking our trips. The other trip we booked was the moonlight tour. It cost R$30 each, which was probably the cheapest thing we have come across during our trip to Brazil(!). The moonlight tour was good, but no doubt better enjoyed if you weren't with a group of others being herded to and from the falls. I assume we could have done this off our own backs if we had torches.

We enjoyed room service on our first evening, which was good. The second night we opted for the buffet style BBQ which was very nice. Prices all appeared in line with other Brazilian similar standard hotel prices.

Overall it was a delight to stay in the national park, the falls are magical and the hotel compliments it all very well. We would definitely recommend the hotel to others.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toby-lynz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataratasManagement, Rooms Division Manager at Belmond Hotel das Cataratas, responded to this review, 3 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time to write this kind review on the Hotel das Cataratas.

We are all very pleased to hear that you did enjoy our hotel, services, and the location. Our main aim at the Hotel das Cataratas is to achieve the highest level of guest satisfaction and quality service. Feedback like yours makes us feel we are on the right track to achieve that.

We are all looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Stephan Hauser Ferreira
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

This hotel is fantastic. I am so glad that I stayed here.
Having access to the falls after park hours is incredible. It is a really magical feeling having them all to yourself.
The weather was unusually cold during my stay, however, the hotel came to the rescue with a fantastic fire near the bar to relax around.
My only complaint is that it would be nice if they could provide an airport transfer. The airport is only 5 minutes from the park gate. There were many guests on the same flight that I was on, everyone getting separate cars/taxis. If you get a car from the hotel direct to the airport, they will charge you $90R, however, if you take the courtesy shuttle to the gate and then get a taxi from there, it is only around $20R.

Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Angebange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataratasManagement, Rooms Division Manager at Belmond Hotel das Cataratas, responded to this review, 3 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us and other travellers.

We are very pleased to hear that you did enjoy your stay with us and that you took advantage of the unique location of the Hotel das Cataratas.

Your remark on the shuttle to the Airport has been forwarded to our General Manager and will be taken in consideration.

We would be most pleased to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincrely yours,

Stephna Hauser Ferreira
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Foz do Iguacu hotels
City Center
Del Rey Hotel
Del Rey Hotel
#2 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,428 reviews
City Center
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
#17 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Foz Do Iguacu
#16 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
Mabu Thermas Grand Resort
#19 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Hotel das Cataratas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel das Cataratas

Property: Belmond Hotel das Cataratas
Address: Rodovia Br 469 Km 32 | Iguacu National Park, Foz do Iguacu, State of Parana 85855-750, Brazil
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Parana > Foz do Iguacu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Family Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Romantic Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Luxury Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#5 Business Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel das Cataratas 5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the spectacular Iguacu Falls in Iguacu National Park, the 5-star Belmond Hotel das Cataratas provides free Wi-Fi internet access. Guests can enjoy a cocktail by the swimming pool or play a game of tennis on the provided court. The falls can be experienced by speed boat, rafting or by a helicopter flyover. For excitement and adventure, guests can enjoy abseiling, rock climbing and canopy walks. Walking tours allow for the surrounding lush rain forest to be explored. Belmond Hotel das Cataratas offers traditional Portuguese styled rooms with a flat screen TV, dark wood furniture and warm natural tones. Some rooms provide a balcony and seating area. The two restaurants on-site provide views of the falls and of the hotel's pool. They serve a selection of international and local Brazilian cuisine. In the evening live music can be enjoyed in the downstairs bar. The Iguacu Falls lie between the Brazilian state of Parana and Argentina. The Brazilian side offers postcard panoramic views, while the Argentinian side provides varied, up-close views. The hotel is located in a privileged position, alongside the Iguassu Falls. It is in fact the only hotel situated in the Iguassu National Park. Because of its prime location, the Belmond Hotel das Cataratas offers its guests a unique experience - taking walks along the trails by the falls which may be done at any time during the day, with the added advantage that from 7 a.M to 9 a.M, the trails are for guests of the hotel exclusively. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Belmond Hotel das Cataratas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Das Cataratas Hotel
Tropical Das Cataratas
Hotel Das Cataratas
Hotel Tropical Das Cataratas
Belmond Hotel Das Cataratas Foz Do Iguacu, Brazil - Parana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing