We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Belmond Hotel das Cataratas
Ranked #1 of 80 Hotels in Foz do Iguacu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 September 2012

We couldn't fault this hotel.
The staff knew us by name after the first day and were all delightful and helpful.
The food is very good and the swimming pool area is a beautiful spot to relax after a day at the falls.
The location, right opposite the falls, is unique.
We were given an early check in and late check out with no fuss, which added to our feeling of wellbeing.
The das Cateratas is well worth the relatively high price. We will be back!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PSA88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,153 - 2,159 of 4,152 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2012

If you are going to visit the falls, this place is worth the splurge. Beautiful facility with an attentive staff. You have access to the park earlier and later than the buses that come in during the day. Breakfast buffet was wonderful.

Only drawback, and a slight one, is that you must get out of whatever transportation you arranged at the park's gate and transfer to one of the hotel's shuttles. Like I said, not a major issue. Concierge was very helpful arranging some fall related activities. Saves you time from having to wait in line with the busloads that arrive. If we go back to Iguacu, we will certainly stay there again.

If you need a good guide for the area at a reasonable rate, send me a message. Adroaldo was very helpful in making sure we made the most of our short time in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jrsykd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

We stayed at Hotel das Cataratas over the weekend and we really enjoyed the location of the property. It was great arriving and having the falls pretty much to ourselves. The hotel was clean and the staff was very friendly. We stayed in the standard room which was cozy but for a couple we didn't need anymore space.
One downfall of this hotel is definitely the food. It was okay at best. The pillows were also very uncomfortable but maybe you can request different ones.

If given the opportunity, I would stay at this hotel again and possibly try to venture out via taxi for dinner.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelbug814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Our journey started with a private transfer from the main gate. Even though we arrived at midnight our check in was handled flawlessly. The hotel is breath taking in old Portuguese colonial style. Rooms are spacious, with a bath! Fantastic toiletries.

In true Orient express style it is luxury and service from the moment you arrive.

A stunning pool area, but this is somewhat dwarfed by the view out over the Iguassu falls.

A morning walk to the falls (before the park gates open to the tourist hordes) is magnificent, and feeling the cool mist from the gigantic falls on your skin is as good as any spa session for relieving stress.

A must.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BushFreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

What a wonderful hotel! From the moment we were met at the airport until we departed, we were pampered in exquisite surroundings. The views are spectacular. The rooms and bathrooms are well designed. The dining room is beautifully located, facing the pool, and the food is memorable. The staff is extremely well-prepared and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank larryderm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Recommendations for this hotel did not fail. We stayed for 2 nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. Expensive...yes, but we felt it was worth it, given the location and access to the falls. I won't repeat the previous comments, but here's a couple of additional observations:
- Quality of the dinner choices at the buffet was very good. The ambiance inside the buffet restaurant isn't great...so if weather allows, ask for a table outside.
- The a la carte restaurant was very good. Nice quiet atmosphere and excellent food.
- Both the bar and the pool serve food (snacks, salads, sandwiches) if you're interested in something less pricey.
- We got a room with a view to the falls, but I don't think I'd pay extra for that again. There wasn't a balcony, so the view wasn't used much.
- We arranged transportation (through the hotel) from and to the airport. The hotel is about 10km inside the Park, and there are not taxi's readily available...so be sure to have something arranged for when you depart.
- Pool is very nice, lots of lounges, with great service.
- We did the "Black Well Tour" from the tour company at the hotel. Really nice tour through the forest, and on the river. Not a "wet" tour.
- Lastly, we also found the service at the hotel to be excellent. Nice, friendly folks in each area. We had an early flight and left the hotel at 4:30am, and there was coffee, juice and bread in the lobby...a nice touch!

Room Tip: Unless you can get a room with a balcony (not many), I wouldn't pay additional for a room with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GraceM100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

This is the only hotel in the park, and the perfect location for seeing the falls. The great thing is that you can get up in the morning, and wander along the edge of the falls to view the scenery before the park opens and before the crowds arrive. This is a perfect location. A fabulous hotel. Attentive, helpful and friendly staff. Great Food - the breakfast buffet was included, and the selection was amazing. A lovely pool to lay out at, and the spa looked charming. We checked out late, and were able to use the spa facilities for a shower after an afternoon at the pool.

If you're coming to the hotel - make sure you go to the right Park entrance - so that you don't have to pay the entrance fee, and the hotel shuttle will deliver you to their door.

I was upgraded to a mini-suite, and had a corner room with 2 balconies, with a glimpse of the falls from one of them. It's a glamous colonial hotel, and I really enjoyed my one night stay there. You can arrange all of the adventures from the hotel too (Bird Park, Helicopter ride, boat trip, day trip to Argentina etc.) One of the best hotels I've stayed in.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jay A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Foz do Iguacu hotels
City Center
Del Rey Hotel
Del Rey Hotel
#2 of 80 in Foz do Iguacu
2,750 reviews
City Center
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
#15 of 80 in Foz do Iguacu
1,468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Taroba Hotel
Taroba Hotel
#12 of 80 in Foz do Iguacu
6,053 reviews
Wish Foz do Iguacu by GJP
#14 of 80 in Foz do Iguacu
2,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Hotel das Cataratas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel das Cataratas

Address: Rodovia Br 469 Km 32 | Iguacu National Park, Foz do Iguacu, State of Parana 85855-750, Brazil
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Parana > Foz do Iguacu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Romantic Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Spa Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Luxury Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#5 Business Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
Price Range: £228 - £460 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel das Cataratas 5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the spectacular Iguacu Falls in Iguacu National Park, the 5-star Belmond Hotel das Cataratas provides free Wi-Fi internet access. Guests can enjoy a cocktail by the swimming pool or play a game of tennis on the provided court. The falls can be experienced by speed boat, rafting or by a helicopter flyover. For excitement and adventure, guests can enjoy abseiling, rock climbing and canopy walks. Walking tours allow for the surrounding lush rain forest to be explored. Belmond Hotel das Cataratas offers traditional Portuguese styled rooms with a flat screen TV, dark wood furniture and warm natural tones. Some rooms provide a balcony and seating area. The two restaurants on-site provide views of the falls and of the hotel's pool. They serve a selection of international and local Brazilian cuisine. In the evening live music can be enjoyed in the downstairs bar. The Iguacu Falls lie between the Brazilian state of Parana and Argentina. The Brazilian side offers postcard panoramic views, while the Argentinian side provides varied, up-close views. The hotel is located in a privileged position, alongside the Iguassu Falls. It is in fact the only hotel situated in the Iguassu National Park. Because of its prime location, the Belmond Hotel das Cataratas offers its guests a unique experience - taking walks along the trails by the falls which may be done at any time during the day, with the added advantage that from 7 a.M to 9 a.M, the trails are for guests of the hotel exclusively. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Belmond Hotel das Cataratas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Das Cataratas Hotel
Tropical Das Cataratas
Hotel Das Cataratas
Hotel Tropical Das Cataratas
Belmond Hotel Das Cataratas Foz Do Iguacu, Brazil - Parana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing