We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxury, Scenery, and Seclusion (for better and worse)” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Belmond Hotel das Cataratas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Belmond Hotel das Cataratas
Ranked #1 of 78 Hotels in Foz do Iguacu
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Luxury, Scenery, and Seclusion (for better and worse)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2012

When one stays at a 5-star property, the measurement for satisfaction should be high. Hotel das Cataratas met and exceeded on nearly every measure. While we found few things wrong with the hotel, people should be aware of the advantages and disadvantages of the hotel's location.

We found hotel staff to be very friendly and efficient. Hotel desk staff speak fluent English though few others in the hotel do. When we got to our room, the bellman was able to give us a thorough talk about the room and amenities in perfect English. When we asked a question at the end of his presentation, we understood that his speech had been memorized. He did not speak English. Still, service was excellent even though we sometimes had to work through language barriers.

The hotel cares about the quality of your stay. For example, when we found that the hotel safe in our room wasn't operational, rather than swapping out safes, they swapped us to another room -- with a better view -- and did so in a way that was the most convenient for us.

The hotel pool is spectacular, the grounds are neatly manicured, but you still will see the local fauna in the area -- coati, lizards, etc. -- wandering the property. Standing at my room window the other morning, I watched a pair of toucans playing in the trees.

The hotel's restaurant offered a great breakfast buffet. I understand lunch was available though we were never on property at lunchtime. Dinners offered during our stay were either a rather uninspired a la carte menu or a rather good Brazilian barbecue and buffet. Note that the barbecue/buffet is priced slightly more than an entree, but less than the cost of two courses from the a la carte menu. That steered us to the buffet.

Given that we are a long way from town and that taxi's alone could add to dinner expense, we chose to eat at the hotel each night. The hotel did change the items on the buffet each night but we still were wishing for a bit more variety.

Hotel das Cataratas is located inside the Iguacu National Park. On the positive side, this gives you almost exclusive access to the views of the falls and the hiking trails around before and after park hours. On the negative side, you are secluded -- far away from other restaurants and attractions. It is really important that you weigh that in to your budget and your plans.

From the airport, a taxi - one way - will cost $R20 (US$10) to take you to the Park gate. From there, the hotel shuttle will take you the rest of the approx. 8km distance to the hotel. Once at the hotel, you are approximately 24km (15 miles) from the city of Foz do Iguacu and a R$50+ (US 25+) one-way taxi ride from town. Recognizing this, the convenience of the hotel restaurant becomes evident and even the price of the hotel restaurant is reasonable considering taxi cost of going elsewhere.

In all, I would highly recommend the Hotel das Cataratas. I would quickly stay there again. I would, however, recommend that you take into account the secluded location as you plan.

Room Tip: Superior rooms are a bit small, but fully adequate as you spend so little time in the room. Deluxe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CCarrnDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,692 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,114
    440
    90
    31
    17
See reviews for
713
2,048
197
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (564)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

Worth every penny! The views are spectacular. The location unique and one of a kind; within walking distance to the breathtaking waterfalls. No where else in the world will you see and experience this. The service was amazing. The rooms clean, comfortable in size and the food was fresh.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank W0RLD_trave1er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012

Truly exceptional - what a 5-star experience property should be!

Room is smaller, but beautiful and has everything you could need. Bed is very comfortable and air conditioning works very well. Bathroom is nice and spacious, well-stocked with nice toiletries.

Property is extremely well-maintained. Pool is gorgeous... Complete with flocks of butterflies and a gentlemen who regularly hands out cold hand towels and ice water.

I did not eat at the restaurants, but lunched poolside and ordered room service. Sandwiches were shockingly amazing!

On-site tour company is extremely helpful.

Well-worth the cost and will return. Look forward to staying at another orient-express property!

Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Feiny08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
183 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2012

We enjoyed two wonderful nights at Hotel das Cataratas. The location is unbeatable -- just moments from the Brazil side of the falls. The hotel has lovely facilities including its grounds, pool area, and rooms. The breakfast buffet was expansive. In the evening, their old-world appointed Bar Tarobá has live music and a 'lite' dining menu.

It is easy to visit the Brazil side of the falls on foot from the hotel by walking out the main lobby and heading left. There you'll find a trail that takes you right up to one of the falls - and you can also 'walk across' the water and see the falls up close!

Nice touch: after you visit the falls by boat and come back very wet. The hotel will collect your wet cloths and bring them back to your room dry and ready to wear again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kaylaartt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights, arriving in time to watch the sunset over the falls.

Had room in the Garden wing and the following morning watched some coatimundis scale the date palm tree and saw an Agouti too.

Lots of black, red rumped weaver birds make lots of noise all day long adding to the ambience

Argentine side of the falls is worth doing. You will get wet, but it dries very quickly in the heat. If you can, take a clear transparent bag to put your camera in - you can take photos with camera inside the bag. Also take lots of dry napkins/tissues so that you can keep lens area dry for your photos.

Tip: If you don't have a clear plastic bag, as the maid for one or take the one lining the bin in the bathroom!

Also worth doing is the helicopter flight.

Breakfast outside can be interesting. The coatimundis come and raid the tables if the staff aren't vigilant in chasing them away! My one was after the sugar sachets.

Dining in the two main restaurants is expensive. The bar is cheaper.

Location within the park is great as the park is all yours before the other visitors are allowed in each morning and after they all go.

Unexpected extras on the bill included National Park entry (R$ 41.10) and Room tax (R$ 5).
You get to keep the flip-flops they provide in the rooms.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Royv1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012

We couldn't fault this hotel.
The staff knew us by name after the first day and were all delightful and helpful.
The food is very good and the swimming pool area is a beautiful spot to relax after a day at the falls.
The location, right opposite the falls, is unique.
We were given an early check in and late check out with no fuss, which added to our feeling of wellbeing.
The das Cateratas is well worth the relatively high price. We will be back!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PSA88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowell, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2012

If you are going to visit the falls, this place is worth the splurge. Beautiful facility with an attentive staff. You have access to the park earlier and later than the buses that come in during the day. Breakfast buffet was wonderful.

Only drawback, and a slight one, is that you must get out of whatever transportation you arranged at the park's gate and transfer to one of the hotel's shuttles. Like I said, not a major issue. Concierge was very helpful arranging some fall related activities. Saves you time from having to wait in line with the busloads that arrive. If we go back to Iguacu, we will certainly stay there again.

If you need a good guide for the area at a reasonable rate, send me a message. Adroaldo was very helpful in making sure we made the most of our short time in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jrsykd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Foz do Iguacu hotels
City Center
Del Rey Hotel
Del Rey Hotel
#2 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,430 reviews
City Center
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
#17 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Foz Do Iguacu
#16 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
Mabu Thermas Grand Resort
#19 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Hotel das Cataratas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel das Cataratas

Property: Belmond Hotel das Cataratas
Address: Rodovia Br 469 Km 32 | Iguacu National Park, Foz do Iguacu, State of Parana 85855-750, Brazil
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Parana > Foz do Iguacu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Luxury Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Romantic Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Spa Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#5 Business Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel das Cataratas 5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the spectacular Iguacu Falls in Iguacu National Park, the 5-star Belmond Hotel das Cataratas provides free Wi-Fi internet access. Guests can enjoy a cocktail by the swimming pool or play a game of tennis on the provided court. The falls can be experienced by speed boat, rafting or by a helicopter flyover. For excitement and adventure, guests can enjoy abseiling, rock climbing and canopy walks. Walking tours allow for the surrounding lush rain forest to be explored. Belmond Hotel das Cataratas offers traditional Portuguese styled rooms with a flat screen TV, dark wood furniture and warm natural tones. Some rooms provide a balcony and seating area. The two restaurants on-site provide views of the falls and of the hotel's pool. They serve a selection of international and local Brazilian cuisine. In the evening live music can be enjoyed in the downstairs bar. The Iguacu Falls lie between the Brazilian state of Parana and Argentina. The Brazilian side offers postcard panoramic views, while the Argentinian side provides varied, up-close views. The hotel is located in a privileged position, alongside the Iguassu Falls. It is in fact the only hotel situated in the Iguassu National Park. Because of its prime location, the Belmond Hotel das Cataratas offers its guests a unique experience - taking walks along the trails by the falls which may be done at any time during the day, with the added advantage that from 7 a.M to 9 a.M, the trails are for guests of the hotel exclusively. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Belmond Hotel das Cataratas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Das Cataratas Hotel
Tropical Das Cataratas
Hotel Das Cataratas
Hotel Tropical Das Cataratas
Belmond Hotel Das Cataratas Foz Do Iguacu, Brazil - Parana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing