We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning hotel with beautiful views of the Falls”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Belmond Hotel das Cataratas
Ranked #1 of 78 Hotels in Foz do Iguacu
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stunning hotel with beautiful views of the Falls”
Reviewed 29 March 2013

We loved our stay at the Hotel das Cataratas. The hotel is beautifully decorated, spacious and very luxurious. It was our honeymoon and the staff kindly upgraded us to a deluxe room. The food was delicious - breakfast was incredible (with a huge range of exotic fruits) and dinner at the restaurant was also excellent. Staff were very attentive and helpful, especially Fabio at reception and Marcel in the restaurant who were both just lovely.

It is expensive, but it's location is unrivaled. Guests are able to visit the park outside normal visiting hours. We were able to watch the sunset on the 2 evenings we were there and we did the trail early one morning before the park opened which was incredible - we were on our own with no crowds - plenty of excellent photo opportunities!

Thank you so much for making our stay so special! We hope to return one day...

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCKS99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,819 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,219
    458
    91
    33
    18
See reviews for
740
2,120
202
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (581)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013 via mobile

This is a lovely old time hotel. Very charming and a very nice stay. The Falls are literally across the street and you can go hiking across the street and then take an elevator back up to the hotel, There is also a free shuttle that takes you around -- classy.

My only complaint is that the food in Ipe Restaurant. $59 USD for a buffet -- yes, all you can eat for the BBQ meats, but not all the meats were of high quality ( some of it was quite chewy ). Another suggestion for the BBQ meat section -- it is manned by someone who actually slices meat for you. Problem is he does not tell you what the various meats available are, so if you say I would like chicken he gives you chicken only. It would be nice to display the various meats or at the very least, list what he has in the BBQ oven. Especially for $59, this should be part of the service!

Still, had a very nice stay. And, we had breakfast included -- the breakfast was absolutely wonderful -- with great, unique fruit and a smorgasbord of breakfast goodies.

Highly recommend that you stay here.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Geri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013

This hotel is worth staying at for the location alone, with after-hours access to the Falls. We ended up being the only two people at the Falls the evening we walked down to see them. Magical. But to top it off this hotel was flawless. Luxurious comfortable rooms. The food is great. Gorgeous grounds and pool area. Professional service. I wanted to move in to this hotel permanently. I am from NZ and live in NY and have traveled widely. I loved loved loved this place.

Room Tip: Not necessary to pay extra for a view of the falls as you only see a very small part of the fall fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiwiyankee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2013

This hotel has the best location in the Park - walk out of the main entrance and there you are: the falls in all their glory! The hotel itself is first class if expensive, but you get what you pay for: exemplary service, good (but not exceptional) food, very comfortable rooms and a superb pool and poolside complex.
Is a niggle possible? Yes - the pool staff are computerised as well as their ordering system. You cannot order a vodka, orange and campari because it's not on the computer. Vodka and orange -yes; campari and orange - yes but not the trio.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2013

If you can afford the price this is the place. On my first trip to Foz do Iguacu we splurged and stayed here and it was wonderful. The hotel is beautiful and the rooms are fabulous. We stayed there for 2 nights and really enjoyed it. You can walk along the trail to the falls before the park opens to the public and after it closes. The hotel will book any activity you want to do and they will take you there and pick you up. When we were there we never went out of the park. We ate at the restaurant, the breakfast is complementary and excellent. The food is expensive, but the bar has good, less expensive and lighter meals. One evening, we just ate at the bar, on the patio, where we could hear the falls in the background. Very peaceful.

Room Tip: No room has much of a view of the falls, so that is not really a big deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2013

Stayed for three nights in March 2013. On arrival we were booked in prompted and given a quick introduction to the hotel and taken to our rooms and given a "guided tour" of the room. (To be honest that "guided tour" simply was not necessary since most of us can work out how to turn on the lights, operate the TV etc!)

Services throughout our stay was excellent and always someone on hand to attend to your needs - but you do pay for that level of service as you'd expect.

Public areas very pleasant and clean; rooms likewise. Beautiful pool area and well maintained gardens. The view from in front of the hotel of the Iguassi Falls is wonderful.

Excellent food. Had breakfast and ate in both restaurants and all to a very good standard.

Old style colonial hotel with service to match.

(There is a spa but we did not use.)

Room Tip: Rooms at front of main hotel block only have the view of the Falls - but you have to pay more for th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank the-baldeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2013

The hotel is in a lovely situation within the National Park. We had a Junior Suite with a view of the Falls. It was spacious and comfortable, but quite a long walk from the swimming pool and dining area. We were met at the airport by our driver/guide, who was able to drive us to the door of the hotel. Normally people have to transfer their luggage to a hotel shuttle bus at the gates of the National Park. We visited the Argentian side of the Falls with our driver/guide. It was interesting but we preferred the Brazilian side. We visited the Bird Park one morning, and also enjoyed swimming in the hotel pool. The swimming pool area is very attractive and the water lovely and warm. We thought the food was quite good, but not outstanding. The hotel is attractive, and set in lovely grounds. We enjoyed our stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Passerby-TA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Foz do Iguacu
City Center
Del Rey Hotel
Del Rey Hotel
#2 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
2,533 reviews
City Center
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
#18 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
1,321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Taroba Hotel
Taroba Hotel
#14 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
5,188 reviews
Loi Suites Iguazu
#5 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
2,080 reviews
Mabu Thermas Grand Resort
#20 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
2,875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Hotel das Cataratas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel das Cataratas

Property: Belmond Hotel das Cataratas
Address: Rodovia Br 469 Km 32 | Iguacu National Park, Foz do Iguacu, State of Parana 85855-750, Brazil
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Parana > Foz do Iguacu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Romantic Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Spa Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Family Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#5 Business Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel das Cataratas 5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the spectacular Iguacu Falls in Iguacu National Park, the 5-star Belmond Hotel das Cataratas provides free Wi-Fi internet access. Guests can enjoy a cocktail by the swimming pool or play a game of tennis on the provided court. The falls can be experienced by speed boat, rafting or by a helicopter flyover. For excitement and adventure, guests can enjoy abseiling, rock climbing and canopy walks. Walking tours allow for the surrounding lush rain forest to be explored. Belmond Hotel das Cataratas offers traditional Portuguese styled rooms with a flat screen TV, dark wood furniture and warm natural tones. Some rooms provide a balcony and seating area. The two restaurants on-site provide views of the falls and of the hotel's pool. They serve a selection of international and local Brazilian cuisine. In the evening live music can be enjoyed in the downstairs bar. The Iguacu Falls lie between the Brazilian state of Parana and Argentina. The Brazilian side offers postcard panoramic views, while the Argentinian side provides varied, up-close views. The hotel is located in a privileged position, alongside the Iguassu Falls. It is in fact the only hotel situated in the Iguassu National Park. Because of its prime location, the Belmond Hotel das Cataratas offers its guests a unique experience - taking walks along the trails by the falls which may be done at any time during the day, with the added advantage that from 7 a.M to 9 a.M, the trails are for guests of the hotel exclusively. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Belmond Hotel das Cataratas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Das Cataratas Hotel
Tropical Das Cataratas
Hotel Das Cataratas
Hotel Tropical Das Cataratas
Belmond Hotel Das Cataratas Foz Do Iguacu, Brazil - Parana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing